We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for this”
Review of North Face Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Face Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Get ready for this”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We booked a room a the Denali North Face Lodge thinking that for $3400.00 for a basically 2 1/2 day stay we would be getting a nice place to stay out in the wilderness. First, the ride to the lodge is 90 miles, some of which is over a dirt road cut into the mountains called Polycrome Pass with no guard rails, lots of road equipment, hairpin turns looking straight down-very scary. They don't tell you up front but the ride in is considered day 1. The picnic food on the way there was good for being hauled around but the next day my husband a diaria so bad that he had to stay in bed the entire stay. The hotel itself looks like an outdated Motel 8 with notes on the wall not to get toothpaste or contact solution on their towels as they will have to replace them. Well for that kind of money-they should be able to afford a few towels! The room is hot with no AC in the summer. The beds are small unless you're lucky enough to get one with a double. Wish we had only did the bus ride in and back out again. On the bright side the food in the dining room was good but the staff decide whom you will be sitting with each night.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try to get the double bed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank chickenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
73
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

There really is nothing that I can add that other reviewers have not already mentioned. North Face Lodge should be on everyone's bucket list.

We were glad that we went for a special emphasis weekend. The only down side to it was that we did not have enough time to do everything that we wanted to do. (Ex. we didn't get to canoe on Wonder Lake.)

It isn't like anyone forced us to stay in for the evening program- in fact, if we had gone canoeing we would have missed an amazing presentation. Life is all about trade offs.

If we were to do it over again, we would have stayed for 4 nights. We definitely could have used one more day. We fell in love with the park and with lodge.

It made me feel sorry for those who only see Denali from a seat in a bus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChloesMomBetsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We always like staying in the National Parks and were drawn to Camp Denali/North Face Lodge because of the great reviews and we were not disappointed – in fact, it exceeded our expectations.

We ultimately chose the Lodge over Camp Denali because of the in-room bath/showers and were very glad we did. We visited the Camp while we were there and it is very very nice -- just that the long walk to the bathroom and even longer walk to the showers was more than we wanted to deal with. The staff, guides, food, amenities are all the same at the Lodge & Camp. If you plan on going to the Lodge, try to get room 15 – it is the only room for more than 2 people (holds 3-4) and by far has the most space and best view of Mt. McKinley…not to mention it’s the coolest on hot days because of the larger room and many windows.
What makes the Lodge truly unique is the camaraderie between the guests in such a short period of time. Whether it’s the long bus ride together or dinning rotation or hiking together – you really fell like you know the other guests very well almost immediately – quite something and have experienced nothing else like it.

Now…the price – one of our dilemmas was the cost and whether we could justify it. Having stayed there – I actually think it was a very good value. Expensive, but everything is included and if you did separately, not sure it would be that much less. You need to remember, everything is top notch and some of the activities provided are only available by the Lodge/Camp in the Park. For example, the hikes are all led by an expert guide/naturalist and they are the only ones that are allowed to lead hiking in the Park - the NPS doesn’t even conduct guided hikes…they are the only ones that have canoes available on Wonder Lake – what an experience! In addition, the food is 5 star and the guest speakers at night are very interesting.

Denali is beautiful and staying at either the Camp or Lodge will make your experience even that much more memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This lodge provides for comfortable access to wilderness hiking and other outdoor activities near the boundary between old and new park areas. The staff at the lodge are friendly, courteous, intelligent and knowledgeable. By locating in a remote area, there are necessary restrictions on alcohol, communications, and trash handling. The rooms are clean, well maintained, functional, and small. The lodge provides all inclusive food, baggage handling, transportation and guided hiking services for its guests.

Outdoor benefits include access to staff naturalists, and use of hiking equipment, rain coats, rain pants, mosquito nets, canoes, fishing gear, and mountain bikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a wonderful 3 day stay here. The bus trip in was very educational as the driver had a microphone and could explain what we were seeing. Stops were made whenever wildlife was spotted. We had a nice picnic lunch on route to the lodge. We were met with dessert and beverages at the lodge and met John, our host. John was the perfect host, always friendly and helpful. He made you feel like you were family. The food was excellent as were the daily hikes. The rooms are on the small side, but the views are fantastic (especially the sunny day with Mt. Mckinley soaring nearby) and the living room is very inviting. There was always fruit available (but alas no cookies except at lunch). They have a great baker.

Room Tip: The room on the far end has the best view and the best outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staying at North Face Lodge was a unique experience. Located deep in the park past Wonder Lake, there are more animals than people. Looks out at the north face of Mt. McKinley, the limited number of comfortable rooms (15) are spartan. What makes the experience unique is the outstanding service of the staff and guides. They are committed to the pristine wilderness of Denali and to assuring that you have a rich and rewarding stay. The guides are very knowledgeable and adjust their talks and their walking pace to your needs. The stay is also unique because the staff builds a sense of camaraderie among the guests; we eat together family style and share our adventures. Anyone who loves the wilderness but doesn't want to backpack/camp will love their stay at North Face Lodge because it puts you in the wild without the danger, hard work, and difficulty. It is the gold standard for a stay in Denali.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I traveled to North face Lodge with very high expectations. They were exceeded. The things that make North Face Lodge special are the location, the staff, the food and the activities that are offered. After an exciting and eventful ride into the park, I was struck by the beauty and remoteness of the lodge. The meals were excellent. This is not your typical hotel food. It is far superior. Once the activities started we were kept as busy as we wanted to be. The group visiting the lodge during our stay was a very active group and everyone kept pretty busy doing either the planned activities or the independent ones. The staff was excellent. Always upbeat and helpful. Very knowledgeable about animals and flora.
I only gave the rooms an average because they were small with few amenities. I spent little time in the room and most of that was sleeping. I slept very well on the comfortable beds.
If you have the opportunity, do not miss North Face Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,078 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
567 reviews
0.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Face Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Face Lodge

Property: North Face Lodge
Address: Post Office Box 67, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the end of the unpaved, mountainous 90-mile road into Denali National Park, North Face Lodge is one of only two in-park lodgings in view of Mt. McKinley. It specializes in learning adventures for active travelers, featuring naturalist-led hikes and field trips for visitors who wish to explore Denali in-depth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Face Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
North Face Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing