We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice alternative.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had terrific service by genuinely interested staff. Stayed in the Iceworm cabin, both sides. Location of this cabin is terrific, right next to a rushing stream. Beds are comfortable. Cabin and other facilities were always very clean. Enjoyed interacting (or not) with other guests and found the location perfect since we wanted a quiter setting than what seems to be the story closer to the park entrance. Also, a real plus was the restaurant directly across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hi and thank you for the review! We're so happy that you enjoyed your time here, and to read that you had fun with both the guests as well as the staff. We look forward to seeing you on your next Denali adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

All the cabins were reserved so I rent a tent next to the river, but was good too. I enjoyed all the time, people from here are very kind. Also all the services were good, nice and clean restrooms. I met nice people at the octagon. I recommend this place. Best wishes.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi and thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your tent stay and we hope to see you again if you make it back to Denali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a great place to stay. This is not a motel or hotel, mostly are cabins and tents but with a Large cabin called the Octagon that houses the stoves, dorm style rooms a dinner table and all the cookware you'll need. We stayed in the Ice worm cabin and was very clean with a perfect view of the stream and just outside the cabin was a fire ring with plenty of wood to warm yourself in case of a chilly day. Grounds were very clean and service was 5 star. Also want to mention thanks to Rachel I for her awesome hospitality and always working hard, and helping us coordinate our trip to Denali. Rachel Rae did a awesome job too! If your looking for a clean place at a affordable price this is for you. I will also mention they have one of the most informative web sites I have ever visited when it comes to lodging. Plus tons of links and great response to what ever the question may be. A++++++ THANKS MOUNTAIN MORNING HOSTEL FOR MAKING OUR STAY IN DENALI A AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi and thanks for your review! We are happy to read that we were able to be such a positive part of your Denali experience! I have to give it up to our great staff for keeping the hostel clean, cozy, and friendly. They work hard- you have the photos to prove it! :) We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay! See you on the next adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in one of the tents. The welcome was excellent, the octogan was great fun! Showers superb and I just loved the location by the water! Used the kitchen one evening and eat at the pizza reaturant opposite the second which was brilliant! Thank you for an excellent stay. Liz Cobb

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EACOBBMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hi Liz! Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Wall Tents and that you had fun hanging out in our common area. We hope we'll see you again in Denali!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I rented a tent in early June because all of the more affordable cabins were taken. I was scared it would be too noisy, too buggy, and too uncomfortable, but I'm pleased to say it was none of these. The tents are next to the river, with one on each side of the community fire pit. Each night people congregated at the fire pit, not five feet from where I slept. I wear ear plugs and they must enforce a cerfew, so I had no trouble getting to sleep. The biggest noise came from the fast moving creek and the nearby highway. But weirdly, I felt that those cancelled each other out. As for bugs, there was very little. I suspect this was a matter of the time of year? And also the stream is fast moving, not a good breading ground for mosquitoes. The cot is a typical cot, but the sleeping bag was super heavy and warm. I was very comfortable. Inside the kitchen was clean and there was lots of space to store food in both a fridge (they had a few) and also on a shelf. The shower was just OK. It did not have great water pressure and a few of the shower rooms really smelled. But overall this was a really great hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your review! We are happy to read that you had a restful and enjoyable stay in your tent and that you were able to make good use of our kitchen and common area facilities. We do enforce an 11 PM - 7 AM quiet time to try to ensure that everyone has a peaceful stay while they are here. We also do our best to keep up a high standard of cleanliness and on that note, I am very sorry to read that our shower house was not up to par. We will be addressing these comments immediately so that hopefully they will not be an issue going forward. Many thanks again for your thoughtful and thorough review. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Last Frontier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the cozy Splatter Rock Cabin. We enjoyed relaxing by the adjacent stream to unwind after a full day of sightseeing at Denali. Shuttle service was efficient, friendly and on time. As a bonus, we didn't encounter many mosquitoes. Much more "authentic" than staying at the Lodge or other places monopolized by the cruise industry. Just a couple of suggestions:

1. Despite the detailed directions, it was difficult to locate exactly where the hostel shuttle and WAC shuttles depart from. There are three different departure areas at the WAC. Suggest including a map of the facilities and clearly designate where the exact departure points are. The "Riley Creek" loop stops at the very far left end of the bus stop at the Visitors Center, and often parks behind other buses and if you don't notice it it will pull around and depart while you are waiting.

2) The Park Connection shuttle passes right by the Hostel on the main road to/from Denali. Maybe the Hostel can work with the bus company (Run by Alaska tour and travel) to arrange a stop at the Hostel.

3) Maybe add a third Denali trip late morning (currently last one is at 820 AM) for those wanting to sleep in a bit and the catch the 930 return shuttle.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABQtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi and thanks for taking the time to give us a positive and thoughtful review, and we appreciate all of your suggestions and comments.

We will definitely consider adding a map to our website to make it easier for people to find their way around at the Wilderness Access Center, as we know it can be confusing and overwhelming for people to find their bearings in an unfamiliar place! We also always try to take a look around for people while we are at the WAC so that everyone is able to make it onto the shuttle, so we've got your back, too! We are always trying to find ways to add additional shuttle service from the hostel to the park entrance area, as well, but it is hard as we are a budget accommodation so we try to operate as efficiently as possible to keep our costs (and therefor our prices) the lowest in Denali! As for the motorcoach from Anchorage, they are contracted to stop at specific locations so we do our best to meet their buses on their schedule.

Again, we thank you for your comments and suggestions and appreciate your taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you on your next Denali adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Instead of camping with the bears or spending a few hundred dollars per night up near the park entrance, my wife and I (upper 20's) opted for Denali Mountain Morning Hostel. It's about a 15 minute drive up to the park entrance, so it's definitely doable if you're planning to head up for an early morning Shuttle Bus. They also can book some day trips/adventures at a slight discount, so we went with whitewater rafting (highly recommend), and they called up to arrange that we were able to book on the spot.

There are bunk rooms, cabins, and wall tents, and we stayed in the wall tents. They come furnished with 2 cots, sleeping bag (liner provided for cleanliness), pillows, and mosquito nets, so most everything we needed was already there (which was awesome from a packing standpoint!).

The community facilities in "The Octagon" were ample and warm, and was a nice space to meet fellow visitors or sit around while it rained. The shower house was clean and had 4-5 separate entranced shower/bath rooms, which was nice. Plus they provided the wood/kindling for the community fire pit.

There are two separate restaurants and bars across the highway which made it nice for multiple nights of food and fun. If you're okay with not staying in proper hotel, and want to get away from the crowds and tour buses of staying near the park entrance, I'd absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali F, General Manager at Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi there and thanks for another great (and thorough!) review! We're happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to provide a clean and cozy place to rest after a long day in the park, as well as an inviting common area to sit and visit and meet people from around the world, and it sounds like you were able to make the most of all of those things! We hope you'll keep us in mind and join us again on any future Alaskan adventures you may have. Happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
66.8 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
368 reviews
12.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
13.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
224 reviews
22.5 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Mountain Morning Hostel and Cabins

Address: 224 Mile, George Parks Highway, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: £24 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful setting on a creek. Private cabins, private rooms, hostel beds and wall-tents. 13 miles from the park entrance, but with a free shuttle service. The only way to see Denali on a budget. The hostel is clean, the staff is super-friendly and helpful and we offer discounted prices on local tours and transportation. We are the source for the lowest cost tickets for the Alaska Railroad and sell tickets for The Park Connection Motorcoach. And we offer the lowest prices on nearly all the local tours. We look forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Mountain Morning Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Denali Mountain Morning Hostel And Cabins Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing