We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My top recommendation for any going to Denali Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wonder Lake Campground
Reviewed 7 February 2010

I don't care if you have to check an extra bag to bring camping gear, or rent it in Anchorage, if you are into wildlife and/or hiking then camping in the park is the only way to go. We were spoiled at Wonder Lake with the potable water, flush toilets, and walk in bear lockers with covered picnic table area. Excellent location for views of Denali , and also for wildlife viewing, moose were near camp and we saw lots of bears and wolves from shuttle buses.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank wildfelinenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Wonder Lake Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2009

On our way to Wonder Lake Campground, when the camper bus stopped at Eielson Visitor Center it was sleeting sideways. The weather report at the visitor center said "Cold, wet and miserable .. No Really". We arrived at Wonder Lake in the cold with overcast skies. But after dinner, it felt great to settle into our warm sleeping bags. To our amazement, we awoke the next morning to completely clear skies and a sight that we will never forget. It is an understatement to say that the view of the mountain from Wonder Lake is spectacular!

Be advised that the mountain is hidden in the clouds much of the time. The NPS maintains a webcam of Wonder Lake. (See http://www.nature.nps.gov/air/webcams/parks/denacam/dena_arc.cfm) View the archives and you will soon realize that the odds are against seeing the mountain. But if you do, you will never forget the experience. We camped at Wonder Lake campground for only one night but it was by far the highlight of our entire Alaska vacation. If you stay longer, your odds of seeing the mountain improve.

The campground itself provides all the amenities needed for tent camping. There are nice level, well-drained tent sites with a picnic table. Nearby are covered picnic shelters with a walk-in locker to keep your food from attracting bears. Drinking water is provided. The restrooms have flush toilets. In late August, we had no problem with mosquitoes. A friendly campground host greeted us upon our arrival. She mentioned in passing that there are often empty sites from no-shows who do not cancel their reservation.

Once in the park, you can use the camper bus as often as you like. Wonder Lake Campground is a convenient base camp for day hikes elsewhere in the park.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Going_from_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The campground is a bit densified for proximity between campsites but if we want to leave no trace, this minimal footprint serves the national park goals very well. As long as the other campers don't bring television sets, etc, being 85 miles away from city comforts brings together a very considerate, international and friendly collection of campers. Kudos to the park service and to those who stay here for keeping it immaculately A+ clean. Hopefully, future campers here will keep it up and be 100% leave no trace. Though there are bathrooms with flushing toilets, there is no electricity so bring flashlights. Designated tent pad is excellent compacted gravel. It drains well. Find a rock to pound in the tent stakes. No cell phone reception. A picnic tables at each campsite, six picnic tables at each of two food locker shelters, drinkable potable water, flushing toilets and bathrooms are available. 730pm ranger talks are fun. Two walk-in food lockers are nice. Though Wonder Lake campground is obviously to the north of the Mt McKinley massif, note that photography will be a challenge without a neutral gradient filter to balance a bright sky and mountain against the shadowy side of any foreground.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DarthAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Stayed at Wonder Lake campground for three nights last summer. Excellent location to see Mt. McKinley (if visible and it was parts of all three days we were there). Also great place to start a hike or to get on the shuttle bus system to look for wildlife.

Basic campground but has flush toilets and potable water.

Only 30 or so campsites so they fill up for the summer fairly quickly. Planning on staying here again in July 2007 as well.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank fti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Arnaud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ninachat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Zarafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
570 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,575 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,866 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#26 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonder Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonder Lake Campground

Address: mile 85 of Denali National Park road, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99501
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Wonder Lake Campground Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Wonder Lake Campground Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing