We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adequate base for Denali... you probably can do better.”
Review of Denali Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Denali Cabins
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“An adequate base for Denali... you probably can do better.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were in cabin 43 and it was fine with two exceptions: on our arrival, there was a used/dirty towel and pajama bottoms on the hook behind the bathroom door; the cabin door didn't close completely - meaning there was a visible gap between the sides and bottom of the door. The cabin had a great heater but the gaps let in a lot of street noise (you're right off the highway). The breakfast buffet was good at the attached restaurant, Prey- we didn't eat there except for breakfast. I was NOT impressed by the staff. On arrival and check-in, the young man behind the desk was neither interested nor friendly. On our check-out the young woman at the desk was clearly not interested. She asked for my key, said "that's all I need" and then went back to her computer. The exceptions were the breakfast servers at Prey - they were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    96
    90
    33
    19
See reviews for
119
134
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Read the reviews on TripAdvisor and you will know what to expect. I stayed last week and I thought the price of $189 was good considering nothing else was available near Denali. Do stay in the back if some light highway noise will wake you (it didn't bother me being near the front and knowing of the noise ahead of time, but I didn't have to share a deck like many of those in the back). The shuttles can accommodate anyone / anywhere if you are a good tipper from the start. ;-) It is very convenient to the park if you don't have a rental. The bathrooms not having a wall to the ceilings was a terrible design flaw and could be completed for $100/cabin I'm sure. Heating isn't an issue as long as the door stays open when not in u use. Couples that are bashful should consider this is the equivalent of having the bathroom door open at home. Everyone was really friendly except the heavy set, dirty blond girl on Sunday (9/1) morning in the front office who only had to take my key for check out since I was pre-paid (management take notice please I would have given 5 for service if not for her). The only other disappointment was that there was no wood for the fire pit. Prey was good for dinner, the $11 breakfast was basically coffee, juice, sausage, bacon, cereal and pastries. Please add eggs and charge $2 or $3 more. The box lunches ordered by 8:00 PM (a must for shuttles) was worth every penny of $14! We looked at the hot tubs and the seemed clean.

Room Tip: Choose a room off-road, but without an adjoining balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpmguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were unaware of the limited options we had, like going to Denali on the shuttle for the afternoon. Staff was not very helpful, ie: no ask, no tell. Nothing to do there. As we found out later, this facility could have been skipped all together. Room was okay. The only eating option, the Prey Restaurant, had good food- excellent Mac & Cheese!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

an OK place to base if going into Denali, the shuttle runs into town regularly but it makes you more of a clock watcher to make sure you aren't waiting to return to the cabins if you just miss one there isn't much to do while you wait for the next one.
The restaurant is OK, breakfast was just OK. No tea or coffee in our room but this seemed to be common practice in both Canada and Alaska.

Room Tip: while out of town if you are in a cabin at the front, you are near the road and you do get road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here two nights with a package deal. As described, the cabins were basic, but were warm, dry, and comfortable. I do agree the bathroom walls not reaching to the ceiling was a bit odd and offered little privacy. Maybe the idea is this method helps heat the cabin?

The staff were all very helpful and accommodating. The restaurant was good with a laid back and friendly staff.

Although I didn't find this to be an awful experience, I doubt I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anaheim, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

It was the first week of August and we planned this trip several years. But when we got there around 4 PM, they said they were overbooked and moved us to another cabin. Obviously we were singled out for this bumping out and from reading previous reviews, I found out later that this is a common practice of this cabin. Most serious, they did not notify our location for next mornings tour to the bus driver and the bus did not stop at this different cabin. We missed the bus and after calling them, they arranged another bus by holding the bus for 30 minutes. When we boarded the bus, everyone in the bus gave us a dirty look. It ruined our dream vacation from the start. This cabin is away from other facility and very inconvenient to do shopping or eating.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

These cabins are very very basic.
Not so much as a glass in your room.
If they were not linked to a Alaska - Denali I don't think they would get too many clients.
Beds not comfortable
No bathroom privacy as the walls don't even reach the roof.
The staff are lovely. Special mention to Brian the bartender who made our night there enjoyable.
Breakfast was ok.
I understand the seasonal nature of this place but this was not the best place to camp out - its a long way from town - the shuttle service is ok but last bus back is at 9.30 - so have a early dinner or you'll be hitch hiking back home.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
8.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,055 reviews
68.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
327 reviews
8.1 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
755 reviews
16.3 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
365 reviews
2.1 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Cabins

Property: Denali Cabins
Address: Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combine charm of Alaskan cabins with the comforts of a hotel room. You get all the amenities: private bath, wireless internet, TV, phone and comfortable beds. Plus, you get your own cedar cabin nestled conveniently by the highway in the arboreal forest next to Denali National Park. Convenient to package with a day trip into Denali National Park on Denali Backcountry Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Denali Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Denali Cabins Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing