We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible mattress”
Review of Denali Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denali Cabins
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Horrible mattress”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Our stay was totally not what we expected. You could feel the coils in the mattress. The hot tub was not available. The cabin was not cleaned after our first night. When I asked for some more tissues, I was offered a role of toilet paper as they were "out" of tissues. I would recommend staying some place else!

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Marie,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We strive to provide our guests with the highest level of service, and we appreciate learning where there is opportunity for us to improve.

We are excited about the improvements to the property we are making for our upcoming summer season-- including new mattresses as part of the room refresh project.

If your travels bring you back to Denali National Park, we hope you you will consider giving us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    105
    95
    39
    20
See reviews for
129
149
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The good: nice restaurant and nice staff.
The bad: Needs better cleaning and management. We had cabin next to the bus maintenance area and a very loud pressure washer was used until after 10 PM every night. We complained to the staff and they felt bad but could not help. I had the impression the owner/manager was off-site and staff simply did what they were told. This could be a nice place but does not seem to have a caring management. Would never recommend.

Room Tip: Do not take a cabin in the rear of the property or you will have the bus depot to deal with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to write, Dan.


Feedback like yours allows us to celebrate successes and provides us an opportunity to improve where we have missed the mark.
We are pleased that you enjoyed dining at Prey Bard & Eatery during your stay at the Denali Cabins. The restaurant was a new addition to the property, and it's nice to hear that it is a success.

The Denali Cabins are receiving refresh on all of guest cabins before opening for Summer 2014. We're looking forward to the new look!

If your travels bring you back to Denali, we hope you'll consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

seattle
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The day after Labor Day weekend we were struggling to find accomodations near Denali. We stopped here and were pleased to find they had an open cabin. The setting is fantastic and so is the staff. Worked with Mai, Patrick and Tom. All i can say is after having a lot of negative experiences with customer service in Alaska the staff here were a breath of fresh air. They were extremely professional and beyond helpful. They took the time to answer all of our questions with a smile. The cabins were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The restaurant was fantastic! Excellent food and service as well. I would highly recommend this location and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeneMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here in mid-September and caught wonderful fall colors at Denali Park.

The cabins aren't too far from the park entrance itself, and their complimentary shuttle service is incredibly convenient. They automatically send their shuttle to the train station to pick up people from Fairbanks or Anchorage, and they make regular stops into the little town area, to the park entrance, and back to the cabins itself. It's also very easy to request shuttle service to other locations near/around the park at times not listed on their schedule, as long as it is done in advance. The staff was very patient and generous about accommodating our transportation needs.

The rooms themselves are comfortable and clean. They aren't fancy, but they don't have to be. They have their own rustic charm, with comfortable beds, central heating, and hot showers. Mark the shuttle driver is a sweetheart, as is Shad the executive chef at the on-site restaurant. Mark stopped not once, but twice, on a shuttle run to let us passengers get off the van and take pictures of moose grazing by the side of the road. As for "Prey," their restaurant: Get the salmon BLT—it's delicious.

Had a really great time here.

Other perks: Free wi-fi. Outdoor hot tubs (though we didn't try them). And again, that on-site restaurant. I never care for hotel restaurants, but this one impressed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The cabins are very old and really need to be renovated. The shower was not designed for vertically challenged people - the head was not adjustable at all - dirty shower curtain. The rooms were dirty and when the cleaning staff came in, they did not vacuum or clean at all. They simply made up the bed, and then turned the heat off, so when we got back at 10 PM, the room was really cold and took so long to heat up we had to keep our jackets on until mid-night. Our shuttle driver, Mark, was the best thing about this place -- very accommodating. We shipped 2 priority mail boxes at a cost of over $30, and had to pay again when the packages arrived because somehow, the stamps didn't get fixed to the packages. The Prey Bar was good one night, but closed up another night so the bar tender could go party. Breakfast was "continental" at $11 a person, which was rather expensive, considering no eggs, sour milk, which was due to a dirty milk pitcher. One could also see the orange juice pitcher was never washed between fillings. All in all this was a very expensive stay with mediocre accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Railfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The agents at Denali Ak.Travel had never been there and didn't honor my request for a quiet cabin. Ergo, my first 2 nites were Noisey, cramped & miserable. Fell asleep on the Park shuttle bus. The desk staff ignored my room change request on day 2.
I got a hold of the manager, Pat. He made things right. The next two nights, I stayed in the Deluxe Cabin for free and he brought my breakfast the next day. He even offered to buy me beer at the "Prey", but I had a terrible cold. The better cabin was very roomy, quiet and nice bed. Their hot tub was great. I'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the cheap cabins(A/B or C/D). Paper thin walls, you can hear every whisper on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We bought a package through Alaska Denali Travel - coach from Anchorage to the Park, day trip into the Park, and coach trip back to Anchorage. We enjoyed the whole experience. The Denali Cabins have an on-site restaurant and very attentive and friendly service people for all aspects of the trip. The cabin was rustic but completely adequate for our needs. For a trip that totaled just over $400 each for everything, including a day in the park, I think it was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
8.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,077 reviews
68.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
341 reviews
8.1 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
785 reviews
16.3 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
373 reviews
2.1 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Cabins

Property: Denali Cabins
Address: Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combine charm of Alaskan cabins with the comforts of a hotel room. You get all the amenities: private bath, wireless internet, TV, phone and comfortable beds. Plus, you get your own cedar cabin nestled conveniently by the highway in the arboreal forest next to Denali National Park. Convenient to package with a day trip into Denali National Park on Denali Backcountry Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Denali Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Denali Cabins Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing