We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Denali Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Denali Cabins
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

So... When I got out of the van to where I was going to stay for the next few days of my trip I was a unsure of what I had gotten myself into, the location is a 10 minute drive from everything the lobby was tiny and my cabin was in the back 40... And not ready. We decided to go to the restaurant and grab some food while we wait. The chef brought out our food and everything was really good, the other people we were in the restaurant with seemed to be mostly families and small groups and that was really nice. Tops.. ten minutes later the gal from the front desks comes in and let's me know our cabin is ready. We head down and the cabin is really cute, plenty of room for the four of us and a small fridge and microwave for the couple days we are there. We had reservations for dinner elsewhere and the shuttle made sure we were there on time and picked us up after without issue. We went back to the restaurant for a nightcap and met the great group of people that work there.. All in all had a nice time there and if your interested in being away from the "cruisers" this is a great option

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Heather,

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience at the Denali Cabins. We are glad to hear that you were enjoyed your visit! We enjoy being away from the crowds, but still close enough to participate in the fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    79
    75
    28
    15
See reviews for
89
111
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We came in on the train and out of hundreds of people who disembarked, we were left waiting for over 20 mins. I mean over 20 mins after all those hundreds of people boarded their buses and left. The Van that finally picked us up was broken and super hot. I should have know by these first 2 indicators that we were in trouble. Cabins ran out of water and people had shampoo in their hair. Awful. Showers had empty soap containers. Nobody picked up phone late night for a medical emergency we were having. Carpet in cabin was wet. The restaurant located on the property was decent. I would never ever recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cravencakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to hear your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Our staff works very hard to make sure we provide the highest level of customer service, and that our property is well-maintained. We take feedback like yours to heart when we fall short.
If you are in Denali again, we hope that you will consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Beautifully set in Denali Park among the forest with gorgeous mountain views, Denali Cabins offer a rare and enthralling experience. The cabins are very tidy, if a bit cramped, but you are in the wilderness. There is a very nice restaurant on site w/ a bar, and free shuttles are provided to town and the train station. Awesome views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Martin,

Thank you for joining us at the Denali Cabins, and for taking time to write a review of your stay. Cabins are an authentic Alaskan experience, and we love that our cozy cabins are nestled among wooded setting of our property. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Alaska!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We loved the charm and comfort of the cabins, access to a site hot tub, general lounge area for games and the site fire pit for s'mores in the evening. It rained for three of the days we were there, so having these extra spaces to go to were really nice. The downside to the cabins was that they did not have a coffee maker, microwave or refrigerator in the rooms. Prices for food and beverages are extremely expensive in the area so we had to be really creative to make family meals without these amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyerboegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your review of the Denali Cabins!

Unfortunately the area experienced a stretch of rainy weather, but we are glad you enjoyed several of the gathering spaces on property. (S'mores at the fire pit sound like fun to me!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Denali Cabins located at Mile 229 in Denali. We were more than pleased. We had the family suite Cabin 45. It was clean and very comfortable for our family of 5 adults. The beds were heaven with fluffy mattress toppers and comforters. The rooms were cleaned nicely every day. Don't miss eating at The Prey. -- the restaurant located on the property. And, bring a bathing suit to enjoy the hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewlyRetired49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Denali Cabins!
We are glad your family enjoyed your stay at the property during your visit to Denali National Park.

We hope you'll visit us again if your travels bring you back to the the Land of the Midnight Sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

- Checkin was easy
- Morning 5:30AM no power or water (hot or cold) in the entire hotel. No backup generator to pump water to use the toilets. Had to drive 10 miles to the nearest visitor center to use the rest rooms.
- Manager apologized but did nothing to ease the pain. No refund or concession for the inconvenience caused..
- Expedia was helpless as well in relocating us. Expedia Customer Service said we had to pay for the new hotel ourselves if we wanted to move out. They would of course help us find the new hotel (and take the commission)
- Bathroom shower soap dispenser was empty, Frontdesk would not pick-up the phone after 10pm, bathroom floor was wet and damp at night due to rain.
- Next day morning no issue as the previous day. Everything went well. Checkout was smooth. No questions as to how was our stay or apologies by the hotel staff..

Room Tip: -run the heater long before you plan to retire for the day.. takes a long time to heatup. -look fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience, Satish.

We are glad to hear that your experience with our front desk was positive. However we are disappointed to hear you were affected by the power-outage in the Denali area that caused our well pump to go down for a short period of time and until we could restore service. Although rare, situations like this are a gentle reminder that we are lucky to have modern conveniences available in a remote wilderness area. We are sorry to hear you were inconvenienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A youthful, enthusiastic and eager to please staff at Denali Cabins adds balance to the not-so-appealing aspects of the property. Thank goodness we were so tired after busy days exploring the Park, its abundant wildlife and heavenly scenery that we welcomed even the worst mattresses and pillows in our cabin. Phone booth sized showers with non-adjustable spray
direction were almost impossible to negotiate but felt good after a day on a bus. The on site
restaurant, Prey, was a welcome oasis for a nightcap and bite to eat. Yes, it was pricey, but
everything in Alaska is pricey. If you're looking for upscale lodgings, keep looking. If you want a rustic place to park your bags for a couple of nights Denali Cabins are adequate.

Room Tip: We were told the cabins were refurbished prior to the opening of the 2014 season. There is no way c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth B, Director of Sales at Denali Cabins, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay at the Denali Cabins.

Although we have done a significant improvements to the property prior to opening, we are disappointed to that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. We strive to provide a quality guest experience in all aspects. We value feedback like yours because it allows us to celebrate our successes, and provides us the opportunity focus on where we have fallen short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
8.1 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
484 reviews
68.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
298 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
973 reviews
16.3 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
336 reviews
4.8 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Cabins

Property: Denali Cabins
Address: Mile 229 George Parks High Way, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Denali Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We combine charm of Alaskan cabins with the comforts of a hotel room. You get all the amenities: private bath, wireless internet, TV, phone and comfortable beds. Plus, you get your own cedar cabin nestled conveniently by the highway in the arboreal forest next to Denali National Park. Convenient to package with a day trip into Denali National Park on Denali Backcountry Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Denali Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denali Cabins Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Denali Cabins Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing