We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay made us feel we were really in Alaska !”
Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlo Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Our stay made us feel we were really in Alaska !”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Hubby & I arrived around 5:00 pm after driving all the way from Seward. We were greeted by some very friendly hosts who gave us our keys and explained where our cabin was. When we pulled up to our cabin all I could say is ........OMG...our cabin was so adorable!!! We felt like we were really in Alaska.....an old fashioned ( newer ) cabin, that had a moose antler for a door handle! The cabin consisted of 2 beds, a small fridge & small microwave, a light, clock and heater....that's it! NO TV....NO PHONE..NO BATHROOM! The bath house was brand new and was only a few feet from our cabin. It was heated, and once you closed the door you had the whole bathroom to yourself! You had the wash basin, mirror, toilet, shower....it was all yours and no one else came in. There was a laundry room too if you wanted to wash clothes. We really didn't have much time to explore the property as we were only there two nights, but it looked pretty neat. If you wanted food, all you had to do was drive or walk across the hwy and there was a very nice café to eat at. We went and got our lunch to go there so we could take it on the Denali tour bus that we were going on in the morning. We had dinner and breakfast at the café across the street too and everything we ate was very very good.
Carlo Creek lodge was easy to find and was a short 15 - 20 min to the entrance of Denali NP.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JstLv2Crz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The cabin was adorable and very comfortable. My family had plenty of room to stretch out and the bathroom was a lot larger than I expected. It was very handy to have laundry facilities on site. The site itself is beautiful and right on a creek. Everywhere you look there is beauty.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

we stayed in July and for the price the place was great. obviously shared showers/bathrooms due to the location but the cabins were cool. Good places to eat across the road and only a short drive to Denali Park. Winner in my book. Watch out for the mozzies!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKNMEGHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Cabin with bathroom not worth the extra money, newly built larger on site bathroom and shower house were nicer. Would definately stay again, cannot wait to return to Alaska! Cabin near running stream, spent most of the time away from camp anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rdige,Ca USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent two nights in Aug 2013. Cabin was really cute, cozy and slept 3 of us just fine. We walked
out back to the beaver ponds as the manager had suggested, didn't see any beavers but nice stroll. The campgrounds here are really nice, but I think only rented out to large groups. They
have a really nice set up with bathrooms, showers and laundry room for campers or cabin renters.
There is a pizza pub, a cafe and a dinner house across the highway from here. Ate at the cafe and pizza pub, both were good. Went up to the dinner house and had cocktails one evening.
It is much more quiet and relaxed than some other places nearby. Easy drive to the park to
catch a shuttle bus into Denali. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin farther away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We chose Carlo Creek Cabins for one night on our recent Denali trip with out of state guests. The cabins are pretty new, comfortable, and nicely decorated in Alaskan decor. The only cabins they had available were "dry" cabins, so we had to use the nearby bath house. As it turned out the bath house is located very close to the cabins and are quite nice, with four private bathrooms, all with showers. It was not an inconvenience at all. It was very quiet there and everyone in our party was pleased with our choice to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A very pleasant surprise, this place delivers!!

Located by the Carlo Creek, the scenery is simply awesome!! You have here rooms and cabins built with logs but with all the commodities. At the very feet of the mountains of the Denali Park, you are really into the wild here. We heard the wolves at dusk, saw bear poop and prints in the nearby river, saw also tracks of moose and other deers... Never saw though the beaver they assured us were to be found in the same river.

And everything with all the comfort you yearn for after a rough day.

And at night, do yourself a favor and ask Caribou medallions for dinner in the excellent "Perch Restaurant" at the other side of the road!!

Room Tip: The rooms are excellent. Didn't try the cabins, but surely they are, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_C_Lovefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
66.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
306 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
715 reviews
13.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
507 reviews
20.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Property: Carlo Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlo Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Carlo Creek Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing