We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Denali trip”
Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlo Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
2 reviews
“Perfect for Denali trip”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed in a "shared bath" cabin. The cabin was quiet, clean and comfortable and only a very short walk to the shower/bath. The price was less than half the cost of a room at one of the big, tacky hotels up the highway and was much more suited to the environment and to the spirit of a national park trip. No TV and no phone but wifi service is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    59
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
46
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins during our stay in Denali. The location was wonderful and the price was great. You do need to realize that this is a no frills place. We had two queen beds, two bunks and a table for four in one fairly small room. There is no tv or phone, but there is wireless internet access that worked very well. For the price you pay it is a good value especially compared to other places at Denali. We were exactly 15 minutes from the park. There are three good restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firsttimetravelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

These are really cute cabins ! We loved our 3 day stay here, the cabins are very comfortable and nice & cozy. They are very convenient to the Denali National Park if you have a car (about a 15 min drive). There a quite a few good places to eat right opposite the cabin like the Creekside Cafe (excellent breakfast !). We had a good time in Denali.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We were suppose to stay here 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip through Alaska, but on the way up to the cabins from Anchorage a tanker had flipped over and closed the highway for almost a day. Tucker, the owner, and Kristen were SO helpful in terms of giving us updates about the highway closure and with working with us on renting out our cabin so we wouldn't have to pay for that first night since we couldn't get through. When we finally arrived the next day, we were really pleased with the property and our cabin (Cabin C). The cabin was really cute and rustic. You could tell they had put some thought into how the cabin was decorated. The location of the cabins were convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Just down the road. There were also plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The shared bathhouses were always clean, however, you had to share them with the people who were camping and there happened to be big tour groups while we were there so it was tricky trying to find a free bathhouse at times. Otherwise, we had no other problems during our stay here. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Liked — the cabin and the owner
  • Disliked — sometimes you had to wait for a shared bathroom to become available
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We loved staying at this place! It is south of Denali NP, about a 15 minute drive. We stayed in cabin #4, which was about 20-30 feet away from the nearest cabin. There was a very nice swift flowing creek about 20 feet from the back of our cabin and we could hear it at night as we were falling asleep. Our cabin had a double (maybe queen) bed and a twin bed. The bathroom and shower were small. The place was very quiet and the people in the office were very nice and helpful. Mom said that she would like to stay there for a week.

  • Liked — Creek, quietness, closeness to Denali NP
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank daughter-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2008

My family stayed at Carlo Creek in 1 shared and 1 private bath cabin. They are so cute. The shared bath was built within the last 7 years and are still in great shape with clean linens and towels. The showerhouse was cleaned everyday we stayed and was very nice. They were not "communal".

The private bath cabin was more rustic but still great. It was an older cabin with new clean linens and a very clean bathroom. None of the rooms had TV or phone but I can't imagine why you travel to alaska for that. My children did bring their portable DVD player but never used it because they were too busy walking the trails around the property. I even was able to send photos online in their internet lounge area. The gift shop is small but nice and they also had laundry soap which was great because I completely forgot to pack any.

I would recommend this place to anyone who loves camping or staying in cabins nestled in the mountains. The young lady in the office was very helpful with out park trip.

  • Liked — The beautiful location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank healthytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2007

We stayed in cabin #3 for two nights after our cruise. The cabin had very basic amenities that included 2 beds, one small side table, one wooden chair, and a small bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. It might be a bit rustic for some without a tv or phone but we really did enjoy the quietness of the area. Carlo Creek runs right behind cabin #3 so we could hear it with the window open. The cabin had a wooden swing right next to it where you could relax and enjoy the area. There are computers with internet service in the office building for guests to use.

The lodge is conveniently located near Denali National Park. It was about a 15-20 minute drive to the park from our cabin. There is no shuttle service from the lodge to the park so I would definitely recommend that you have a car if you stay at this lodge. There are some restaurants across the street from the lodge but the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge had better food.

The property is located in the trees with high mountains nearby. Campgrounds and cabins with shared bathrooms are also available at the lodge. Our cabin had a private bathroom. We took advantage of the clean laundry room which had working machines.

We stayed at a Princess hotel the following 2 nights and looking back we definitely would have stayed at Carlo Creek Lodge for another 2 nights had there been availability!

  • Liked — Location was within the trees with a nearby creek.
  • Disliked — No tv
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PlanoGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
66.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
306 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
715 reviews
13.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
508 reviews
20.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Property: Carlo Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlo Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Carlo Creek Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing