We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff/owner dishonest”
Review of Carlo Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlo Creek Lodge
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Staff/owner dishonest”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This was the cheapest accommodation available in the Denali area. However, we knew that and were willing to take a break from luxury to save a few $$. This was a big Mistake.

The rooms are basic log cabins which seem to be well built. No problems with mice or bugs that we observed. There are no amenities (TV, Microwave, Coffee maker, fridge, place to put your bags, shampoos, etc) but we can live without those. Washrooms are in a seperate building shared with campers but they are new and OK. The location is 12 miles south of Denali which was OK for us as we had a rented car. There is only one restaurant within walking distance (tourist trap!) but with wheels we could go elsewhere. Our bed was comfortable but the sheets looked dirty - my wife didn't want to sleep on them. We got by by inserting a blanket we brought with us. Short of the dishonest staff I would have rated this place 3/5.

Our issue was that we booked for 2 nights and were charged a third to our Visa without our permission. We had pre-arranged an agreement with the owner that we go to Denali NP early in the morning leaving our luggage in the room. We would call the owner around 8:00AM (when he gets up) and let him know our decision. He assured us we could get a connection using my blackberry from the park even though we couldn't from his location.
As it turned out, we couldn't get a connection to leave him a message. He charged us for the additional night without our permission. The girl on duty in the evening said it was because we didn't remove our bags. We argued that this was a scam but the response was along the line of "You signed an agreement that all our belongings would be removed by 11:00 or be charged another day". They really didn't cae about their reputation - money was their only incentive. We stayed the third night against our wishes (we can't afford to pay twice for the same night).

I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cclowner, Owner at Carlo Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2010
As we have stated in the past we are very upfront with all our guests regarding policies. We are a family owned and operated business and not only staff and run the office but maintain and housekeep the facility. All cabins receive daily housekeeping services and are treated as if we were staying in them ourselves. It was never brought to our attention at any point during their 3 night stay they were unsatisfied with their linens.

This particular guest did come and ask if there room was available a 3rd night. We informed the guest we had a different cabin available and should they choose, we would be happy to move their bags to their next cabin the following day. The guest was informed to let us know as soon as possible as we could not hold the room for them. The next morning there were no notes left in either their room or in our key drop box regarding their wishes. The guests left all luggage in their room.

The guests report correctly that each guest signs a registration including a statement regarding our check out policy. If guests do not check out or leave belongings (indicating another stay) without prior arrangements they are charged for another night. This is exactly what happened in this case. We offered to refund 80% of the charge (deposits are nonrefundable) upon our ability to re-rent their cabin. It must be said these guests did not inform us until 430pm of their desire to no longer stay another night.

We ask each guest to read policies thoroughly upon reservation confirmation and again at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    57
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
42
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed for three nights and had a great time. The lodge was very clean and well kept. It was also very close to all the attractions.

I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigiBoy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed here in a cabin in June 2010. The cabins are okay. Give a rustic look to them. Bathrooms are also okay. However, the staff is extremely rude and has no manners. They'll nick-pick for the slightest reasons and behave as though they're doing you a huge favor by having you stay at this lodge.

I would strongly advise to stay with any other cabin in the area (there are many of them around Denali in the 75-80 $ range... esp in Healy). Keep AWAY from Carlo Creek Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisedog001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cclowner, Owner at Carlo Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 22 June 2010
We pride ourselves on providing a safe and friendly environment. This particular guest was caught speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit. We have both wildlife, guests, and small children walking all over the property and have a specified speed limit for their safety. We then caught the guest with an additional person in the cabin that had not paid to stay here. We did require them to pay for the 3rd cabin guest and were appalled at their inability to follow posted rules. We are very up front with our expectations of our guests but will not tolerate noncompliance. It is one of the reasons we can offer such a beautiful location, maintain the historic structures, and allow both guests and wildlife a relaxing safe atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Stayed in a "shared bath" cabin. The cabin was quiet, clean and comfortable and only a very short walk to the shower/bath. The price was less than half the cost of a room at one of the big, tacky hotels up the highway and was much more suited to the environment and to the spirit of a national park trip. No TV and no phone but wifi service is available.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasatiempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

We stayed in one of the cabins during our stay in Denali. The location was wonderful and the price was great. You do need to realize that this is a no frills place. We had two queen beds, two bunks and a table for four in one fairly small room. There is no tv or phone, but there is wireless internet access that worked very well. For the price you pay it is a good value especially compared to other places at Denali. We were exactly 15 minutes from the park. There are three good restaurants across the street.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firsttimetravelermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

These are really cute cabins ! We loved our 3 day stay here, the cabins are very comfortable and nice & cozy. They are very convenient to the Denali National Park if you have a car (about a 15 min drive). There a quite a few good places to eat right opposite the cabin like the Creekside Cafe (excellent breakfast !). We had a good time in Denali.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskaitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We were suppose to stay here 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip through Alaska, but on the way up to the cabins from Anchorage a tanker had flipped over and closed the highway for almost a day. Tucker, the owner, and Kristen were SO helpful in terms of giving us updates about the highway closure and with working with us on renting out our cabin so we wouldn't have to pay for that first night since we couldn't get through. When we finally arrived the next day, we were really pleased with the property and our cabin (Cabin C). The cabin was really cute and rustic. You could tell they had put some thought into how the cabin was decorated. The location of the cabins were convenient to Denali Nat'l Park. Just down the road. There were also plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. The shared bathhouses were always clean, however, you had to share them with the people who were camping and there happened to be big tour groups while we were there so it was tricky trying to find a free bathhouse at times. Otherwise, we had no other problems during our stay here. We would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Liked — the cabin and the owner
  • Disliked — sometimes you had to wait for a shared bathroom to become available
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
12.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
12.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
13.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
20.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlo Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlo Creek Lodge

Property: Carlo Creek Lodge
Address: Mile 224 Parks Hwy, Stoepler Family, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlo Creek Lodge offers a rich Alaskan history having been homesteaded by our family in 1959. We are known by many for our distinctive features including black spruce burls and handcrafted log cabins. We invite you to stay nestled in the Alaska Range in a private bath cabin on the creek, shared bath cabin nestled in the woods, or one of our new Lodge Rooms. Enjoy a restful evening on wooded acres bordered by Carlo Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carlo Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlo Creek Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Carlo Creek Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing