We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good food”

The Perch Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Perch offers you cozy, private cabins, hotel rooms and lodging near Denali National Park. Tucked into the woods and bordered by pristine Carlo Creek, our cabins offer you an Alaskan experience that is truly unique.Tree-top dining at the Perch Restaurant is a wonderful way to begin and end your day. The restaurant is “perched” atop a gravel moraine left by a glacier. Each of our 13 bay windows has a spectacular view of the Alaska range and it's many glaciers. Weather permitting, you can dine on our large deck, or just sit out in the sun and enjoy a cocktail while you wait for dinner.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simple but good food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very nice service, kind people and very willing to help with some small changes of the menu. The food is kind of home made, good and somewhat cheaper then 229. Due to the kind service and good food we got back the next day and the feeling was the same. Nothing fancy but good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anneliestrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    34
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The view from the perch was beautiful as it faced the mountains. The menu had a lot of variety and the food was really good. The wine list was not long, but we loved what we had. The owners were lovely people and shared some stories with us. We were hoping for a nice dinner out and was very pleased with the Perch. We'd definitely go back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic spot with lovely view”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The owner (second generation) warmly greeted us. We were not hungry and only shared a salad, but dressing was excellent and the salmon grilled to perfection.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quakertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As you drive up, the restaurant appears to be a converted house. What a nice surprise once you get inside. It had an elegant atmosphere and a feeling of being secluded, which would be great for foodies looking for a romantic dinner experience. The food and service were both great. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I and friends of ours stopped and had dinner one night at The Perch during our stay in the Denali area. The meal was excellent and the atmosphere was very cordial. I had the caribou medalions which were wonderful. Prices were about what you would find in the area. Josh and his wife were great hosts and we enjoyed talking with them about the restaurant and pizza place. It was also a joy to meet their dog, Barley who put on a show for us. Being dog lovers and all of us missing our dogs, it was great to have this informal floor show. Also the view from the table was breath taking. It's not called the Perch for nothing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Perch Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to The Perch Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing