We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is where the locals go!”

Denali Park Salmon Bake
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our landmark bar and grill's Alaskan menu has something for everyone. While we get many compliments on our signature Cedar Plank Salmon, famous Halibut Tacos, full pound split Crab Legs and our Beer Battered Halibut; many consider our steaks, burgers and salads to be the best in the area. Offering nightly entertainment, The Bake is the biggest hub for nightlife in Denali. Open since 1984, The Bake has been celebrating life in Denali for 30 years.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This really is a must see in Denali! As you walk in the door you can't help but laugh at the crooked floors. Our meal was incredible and Chef Tom went out of his way to explain to us how our salmon got from the ocean to our plate. Our server Dan was as fantastic and knowledgeable. We stuck around for the live music and had an absolute blast! This really seemed to be the place where the locals hang out and you'll notice that from beginning to end.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Glad you had a fun visit to The Bake! Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. Dan is just great isn't he? We'll be sure to let him know you said so too.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 917 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We needed a quick lunch upon our arrival to the Denali Princess Wilderness Lodge before we headed out for the Nenana Gorge Whitewater Rafting excursion, and our waiter was great--he got us in and out very quickly, which we greatly appreciated.

The next day we went to pick up our boxed lunches for the Tundra Wilderness Tour in Denali National Park, and as soon as they realized a mistake had been made (one of the sandwiches was missing), they quickly rectified it. A member of our family needs to eat gluten-free, so they made a lettuce wrap instead and substituted a piece of fruit for the cookie. But I made a silly mistake--don't do the tuna salad as a lettuce wrap! Totally messy! But they provided these "boxed" lunches in incredibly sturdy plastic bags that are well sealed. A really great boxed lunch and we would definitely do this again before setting out in the park. But next time, the lettuce wrap will be turkey and cheese, not tuna salad!

Everyone we met at this place was super nice and helpful--two situations that could have been very difficult were handled very well. An extra star given for great attitudes and hospitality. Thank you!

Thank fireflymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We really love our work and hearing that we made someone's visit to Denali better really means alot. Safe travels on your next adventure! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

good food and great music. poker in monday. bands fri-sat . If you are in Denali area, stop here for great food great bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank krusejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Denali Park Salmon Bake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to write about your visit! We really appreciate feedback from our guests. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Salmon Bake was crowded and noisy when we visited, much of the noise emanating from an upstairs bar. It's not the most comfortable place nor is it for fine dining but it isn't trying to be, so we took it on its own terms and had a dinner of halibut and chips, and a pulled pork sandwich with its usual extras and this was OK. Good for a decent casual meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were staying here in the "tents" so we decided to eat here. It was a very warm day in June, so the mosquitos were eating us during dinner. The place was very busy so our waitress was not attending to us like we wanted. We had the halibut fish n chips which was pretty good. Fish n chips is greasy and there's nothing you can really do about that! But we did complain about my husbands fish being cold and they gave us free dessert, so the manager was very responsive to his customer satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MelaniePickus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denali Park Salmon Bake also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Park Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing