We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Coffee & Food”

Black Bear Coffee House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We offer a full espresso bar, as well as a variety of other craft beverages, shakes and fresh fruit smoothies. In the mornings, you can always expect a home style breakfast, complete with scratch buttermilk biscuits, and fresh pastries from our in house bakery. Lunch and dinner reflect our fresh, scratch cooking, local flavors and seasonal Alaskan veggies. Our deli case is always full of grab and go items for your adventures. If you're coming off a busy day, just grab a local beer or glass of wine to enjoy while you linger on our deck, breathe deep and take in the mountains. We pride ourselves in offering fresh, simple food with integrity... And are THE healthy destination in Denali, offering a wide selection of vegan and gluten free items. Also we have fast, free wifi.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Coffee & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I always stop here for coffee and food. Breakfast and lunch options are limited but wonderful. They have plenty of gluten-free and dairy free options for food (and espresso - coconut, soy and almond milk available) and baked goods. Wonderful place to hang out with free wifi and outdoor seating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    134
    36
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was a great place to start the days with a good breakfast and coffee. The service was very good and fast. Seating is a little limited

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great vegan/veggie food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Loved this place for their coffees, vegan soups and sandwiches, home-made breads, friendly staff. Located right across Denali Princess hotel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Madhu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee..decent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the coffee in this place. Hands down one of the best. We went each of the 3 days to have it. In fact every morning we eagerly looked forward to our cappuccino and latte.

Our food experience was mixed. Excellent pastries - and deserving of that extra star along w the coffee. You can buy pre packed lunches for the trip to the park. The chicken sandwiches were okay ..a bit bland, as was their breakfast. Try other places out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lets_knot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healy, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A local favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Black Bear coffee house offers:
-amazing coffee / espresso / shakes / smoothies
-delicious baked goods
-a new, killer menu featuring tacos, burritos, chips/guac, etc! : breakfast, lunch, & dinner!
-a great atmosphere in which to work, chill, or hang out with friends
-friendly and accommodating staff
-best wifi around

A favorite of locals and travelers alike. Black bear never disappoints!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Coffee House also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Black Bear Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing