We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”

229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stopped by 229 Parks an hour prior to opening one evening after a day hiking in the area. The menu is posted outdoors so we were able to enjoy considering our options while we waited. It was well worth an hour wait for the restaurant to open! We did not have reservations but the staff graciously seated us immediately upon opening for the evening. The menu choices were varied and everything our party of four ordered was outstanding. From the buckwheat dinner rolls with the unusual butter, to the iced tea, to the vegetarian tofu spring roll appetizer (highly recommend and enough to share), to the salmon. One teenage member of our party has multiple food allergies and the chef was able to accomodate those issues with substitute dinner rolls and recommendations on which entrees to avoid. The service was terrific. The food was absolutely outstanding. There is no comparison to other any other restaurants where we dined in the state. Make it a point to go to 229 Parks!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasMamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    61
    22
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jubail, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good, don't be in a rush.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Found this place in a travel guide. Food was good, and locally grown. You pay for it, but it was very tasty. When we went it was a bit crowded, so make sure to get a reservation. I wouldn't be in a rush if you eat there, as it does take a little while to get your food. The salad I ordered had some over burnt bacon, and when I showed this to the waitress, she apologized and compt it on our bill. So overall a great restaurant, with good food. Quite worthy of the bill, especially being so close to Denali.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Halibut dinner is amazing.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The first night we went to 229 Parks they were full. So, we made reservations for the second night. We all had wonderful meals but the halibut dinner was the best dish, in my opinion. My dad and his wife had soup and an appetizer which they said were good. My husband had the Alaskan crab which was also good. The service was poor, we thought the girl waiting on us wasn't happy because we weren't drinking ... who knows. However, on the 3rd night three of us got the halibut dinner and my dad got the salmon dinner ... these dishes were amazing and while we didn't drink this night either, our server, John, was very attentive, warm and welcoming. We highly recommend the experience and would go back again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatlParkTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“make a reservation and go”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

A local fishing guide tipped us off to this hidden gem... we owe him! We were able to make a reservation for our party (10 people) and found the staff gracious and accommodating. The food was creative and delicious. Local, fresh, and very. When it came time for dessert, we seemed to be waiting a long time... but when it came, the beauty of the presentation and the yumminess overcame any impatience we had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Food in Denali”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Trying to find decent food in Denali, AK is a challenge but 229 Parks is a refreshing alternative to buffets and burgers. The food was very good, although the service left a bit to be desired; not enough wait staff to handle the crowd. This is a very busy place so make a reservation. We had a nice evening, a good meal, and enjoyed the break from the more mundane meals we'd been having throughout our two weeks in AK. Just be prepared to wait for your meal to come out. It's worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank pok1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 229 Parks Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing