We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience.”
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this lodge for two nights and it is about as far as you can go into Denali. This lodge was a highlight of our Alaskan vacation. When you book they let you know that there are shared bathrooms and the lodge is a bit on the rustic side but that seems just right when you realize how deep into Denali you are. The dinners were wonderful. Home cooking at its best and as it is communal dining you get to meet and talk with people who are also traveling Alaska and share experiences. Having the pilots from Kantisha Air Taxi staying in the lodge just adds to the experience. Everyone is so friendly and the staff all so accommodating. Schocke was the person who we made our reservation with and he greeted us when we arrived and was just so welcoming and helpful with any questions we had. The hiking is great and you truly feel you are in the great frontier of Alaska. What an incredible experience. Oh, and this lodge is not nearly as expensive as the two nearby. May not be as private but we enjoyed the time with other travelers.

Room Tip: You won't be disappointed if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JosieJo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear JosieJo02,

Great to hear from you, and thanks for all the useful information in your review. We especially liked the fact that Kantishna was "the highlight" of your Alaskan vacation :) We look forward to seeing you again at "the end of the road."

Blue skies,

The KAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Staying at the Skyline Lodge was a treat and fit our style perfectly. My wife and I celebrated our 25th Anniversary on a special Alaskan vacation for two weeks. The first place I booked was the Skyline Lodge and then worked the rest of our trip around the dates approved. We are self-sufficient and don't need guided hikes, the Skyline provides wonderful information and maps of area hikes and there are plenty. We borrowed the mountain bikes and drove the 8 miles back to Wonder Lake and hiked there and came "home" on the camper bus. Several great scenic ridge top hikes just outside your door. Close local walks to other resorts and "local" history. The accommodations were perfect. Beautiful room, views, deck, a focus on conservation and eco-lodging. The food was outstanding. We enjoyed the company of the pilots and chatting with others staying at the lodge. The experience is more intimate because only six rooms are rented out each evening. We took the camper bus into the lodge and then did a flyover of Mt. McKinley. Thank you Andy! That was the most awe inspring flight I have ever taken. In fact, if you go to the Skyline Lodge, you have to book a flyover trip with them as well. You would be missing out on one of the most fabulous opportunities of your life. Thanks to everyone at the Skyline for making our Alaskan trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear prink2,

It was awesome to host you for your 25th anniversary shenanigans in Kantishna! You definitely made the most of your time in Denali: a fantastic Mt. McKinley flightseeing tour with Andy, numerous scenic ridge hikes overlooking the Kantishna Valley and the camper bus ride along the Park Road. Solid work--we're proud of you :) Thanks for sharing your special Alaskan vacation with us!

The KAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We had a party of six ( ages 12-75) staying at the cabins for three nights in June 2012 and we had a great experience. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable. The food was served family style and was delicious. This is more of a "rustic" place to stay, but very comfortable, clean and a lot less than most of the other back country lodges. I highly recommend taking a flight to their lodge...we went over Denalis north side and several glaciers before landing at the lodge. Had the mountain been visible while we were there we would have taken another flight just to look at the mountain again. It was amazing and their pilots are top notch. Lots of great hiking and biking out the front door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear DCraven,

Thanks for bringing the family together from all over the country for your Denali flight and stay with us at Skyline Lodge! Your group was a blast, and we enjoyed having you in the Kantishna neighborhood. Come back and see us!

The KAT crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2012
We had a great flight in and out with KAT AIR and stayed at their lodge for a fraction of what the other kantishna lodges were charging.
Now as long as you read their website and know what to expect in terms of accommodation you will not be disappointed
The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, as well as being very knowledgable about the local area
The lodge is centrally located and the rooms are very comfortable
The dinners are all freshly cooked and served in a communal dining room. This was unexpectedly the best part of the stay for us as you got to chat and eat with fellow travelers as well as the staff and pilots
Book early as it looks like it is always full
P.s. one added bonus is there are far fewer Mosquitos then the lodges based by the river a HUGE plus!!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sunlovinaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Manager at Skyline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear sunlovinaussie,

Thanks for your review, and it was a pleasure to host the two of you from Australia during your Alaskan adventure! We're glad you had the chance to experience Denali from the air and the ground---especially without the mosquitos :)--as well as to share meals and comradeship with our crew and fellow travellers, alike. Good times. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Alaska!

The KAT Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed for 1 night at the beautiful Skyline Lodge inside Denali National Park. The view from my room was stunning and I wish my stay was a bit longer (the rooms were all booked forthe following nights). This is by far the cheapest option to stay inside the park and the cost of 3 meals is included in the rent. The dinner is served at around 6:30 or so in the evening and breakfast/lunch is self-served. There are couple of nice hiking trails around the lodge and one can also take the Denali shuttle to see various places inside the park, while staying at Skyline lodge. The support staff of the lodge are very courteous & helpful and it was a very enjoyable experience to interact with them. All the pilots of the Kantishna Air also stay in this lodge and there can be nice social interactions, movie watching, etc in the evening hours. Finally, this is a much cheaper option to stay in the park, especially when compared with Kantishna Roadhouse of Denali Backcountry Lodge, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PrasunChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Kantishna sits at the very end of the park road, an old mining town deep in the wilderness of Denali National Park. There are several places to stay in Kantishna; Skyline Lodge is much less costly than the others, and it's a great choice for independent-minded travelers.

There's plenty of day-hiking nearby with stunning views of the Alaska Range (weather-permitting).

The lodge itself has a main building and several separate cabins outside and down the steps. The only bathrooms are in the main lodge, so you'll need to walk a few steps outdoors to get there if nature calls at 3AM! In addition, there are relatively few bathrooms and showers, so you can expect a wait at peak times.

If that sounds unspeakably primitive to you, then this is not the place for you.

But if you're looking for something more civilized than camping, a hot shower and somebody else cooking (yummy) meals, with easy access to the remote wilderness without the constraints of a tour bus, all at a very good price (by in-season Alaska standards) then I highly recommend it.

Tip: the weather is unpredictable. Don't make your schedule depend on being able to fly in or out. You may need the bus as a backup plan; we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rwoodsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge for 2 nights. As many other reviewers have noted, the place exists mainly to provide a base of operations for the Kantishna Air Taxi service and the lodge is basically a sideline. However, they do a wonderful job of providing economical lodging at the end of the road in Denali.

There are no planned activities at the place and no organized tours. You have to do it yourself either on foot or on one of the bicycles that they have to loan. You also get to meet the pilots which is really neat and also the other guests. You also get to see how an air taxi service is run.

The staff is uniformly friendly who want you to enjoy yourself. If the enjoyment includes booking a tour on one of their flights, this will make both you and them happy. Unfortunately, we has low clouds and rain on the days that we were there so we could not fly.

The place is off the power grid so room amenities such as internet and lots of bright lights are limited but the rooms are clean and comfortable. None of the rooms have bathrooms - you have to go outside of the lodge house to the main house to use one of the 2 bathrooms. We did not find this a problem except for the one night when it rained. However, we knew about the bathroom situation when we booked so it was no surprise. After all, you are in Denali for the scenery, not to stay in your room or to surf the net.

As far as meals are concerned, breakfast and lunch is a do-it-yourself affair with lots of food available to make whatever you wish. Dinner is a one choice family style meal which everyone including the pilots share.

I would not have been able to afford to stay in any of the other fancy end-of-the-road lodges in Denali. The Skyline worked for us and I would recommend it to anyone.

The place has only a limited number of rooms and fills up quickly so book early on this one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donaldsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
368 reviews
32.9 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#6 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
212 reviews
34.9 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#9 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
Carlo Creek Lodge
Carlo Creek Lodge
#10 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
155 reviews
34.2 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#18 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
724 reviews
34.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0046
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Skyline Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing