We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is Amazing”
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place is Amazing”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Awesome experience. Can't beat the location. We took the bus in and were glad to rest overnight here. The night sky is amazing, the food is good and the rooms are comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to be accommodating and friendly. Nothing but good things to say. Book early though

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear peter p,

Thanks, so much, for spending a little time with us in Kantishna! We appreciate your feedback and your advice about booking early :)

All the best,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Skyline Lodge was built to accomodate the fellows flying for Kantishna Air Taxi. Five additional rooms provide lodging for travelers. Considering the costs far below several close by Lodges do not expect more than what you pay for. Simple and delicious meals, straight forward furnished rooms and shared baths up a flight of stairs is what you're in store for. Staff was friendly and helpful but preoccupied with their flight responsibilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear singert,

Thanks for your review. It's nice to know that we're meeting our goal at Skyline Lodge: to provide comfortable, affordable accommodations for independent travelers who don't need all the amenities of the larger, more expensive, full service lodges in Kantishna.

We're particularly glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, especially since, as you noted, we're primarily staffed for the flightseeing operation and not for guided lodge activities. While this is, of course, the main reason for the great savings, I'm still pleased to hear that your needs were met by our staff, especially since we had several new crew members who were still learning the ropes this season.

Cheers,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We (2 couples) flew in by Kantishna Air Taxi - spectacular ride through Adams Pass - left via the Denali bus and scenic train back to Anchorage. This is the best way to do it in our opinion. We learned of the Skyline from a Frommer's book, and it was perfect for us, at a much lower cost than nearby places. It is run by the Air Taxi people and their pilots stay here. So the hotel is a side-line, but very well done indeed. Shared bath, but fine. Also family style group meals that were quite good. We hiked nearby and were mostly alone on the old mining camp trails. We were lucky in being able to see Denali for 3 straight days. Would recommend to anyone who wants to spend time in the Park and not just in Glitter Gulch outside the gates.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitz339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Fitz339,

It was great to have you all in the Kantishna Valley, and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We're also glad that you were able to see the Mountain three days in a row, which was quite the bonus! Thanks for posting, and we hope to host you and your pals in Alaska again some day.

Fondly,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, Nj
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our friend and travel agent said we had to stay in the park to get the real Denali experience but the "deluxe" lodges didn't appeal to us,and neither did the high prices. Then we found this place (not in our new guidebooks but online) and so glad we did. The other reviews here said it all: a real gem for the independent travelers like us, who don't mind sharing bathrooms, like trading travel stories over breakfast and dinner, and gazing at sunrise and sunset from each rooms' balcony. Matt, Greg, Katie, Janet and the rest of the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. Healthy home cooked meals, clean bathrooms and cabinlike rooms with good beds. Mosquitoes not nearly so bad up here along the mountainside. Book months in advance because there are only 5 rooms. You can bring your own wine or buy it or beer there. And theres a sauna too. We stayed three nights so we had 2 full days to hike and take it all in. We recommend the walk up Friday Ridge across the road to Wickersham Dome, for a nice view of McKinley summit on a clear day. And catch the camper bus back to Eilson Visitor Center for breathtaking views of the Alaska Range and the summit and a hike up Alpine Trail. We took the 6-hour camper bus to the lodge, and then flew out, both to save time and for the fantastic views of Denali in all its majesty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Car0l12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Car0l12,

We're glad that your travel agent found us, too, and we appreciate your suggestions for future visitors to the Kantishna Valley! Come back anytime!

Cheers,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If I didn't like the people running Skyline so much, I wouldn't rave about it - it would be better for me if I could always get a room there without having to worry about booking months in advance. But it's really a treasure for independent travelers. Fabulous food (Marge gave me her recipe for ginger snaps) and delightful people - customers and staff. Yes you have to share 4 communal bathrooms but they are meticulously clean. I hope to return soon and I wouldn't consider staying anyplace else in Denali.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Francie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Francie K,

You and the boys were great! We had a feeling that you'd fit right in when we spoke to you in between runs on the ski slope last winter. Thanks for raving about us, and enjoy the ginger snaps.

Your pals,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Skyline Lodge 3 nights in early July, after flying in on their Kat Air Taxi (if at all possible, fly at least one direction- it's amazing!). Cozy, comfortable rooms, a little on the small side, and the bathrooms are shared in the main lodge (steps away). However, none of that matters when you realize that you are at the end of the park road in Denali. Biking to Wonder Lake, hiking trails in total solitude, or just admiring the landscape, it's a great location. Dinner is served family style and dining with the other guests (there are only about 8 rooms) was a ton of fun, as we all got to know each other over a great meal each evening. Breakfast and lunch items are put out in the kitchen to help yourself (BTW the coffee was fantastic!!). I highly recommend it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Joseph Z,

Thanks, so much, for taking the time to post a review for our future guests, and we're super pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the high quality coffee--we like it too! We'll see you and the NY gang on your next trip to Alaska.

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We flew in with Kat Air from the park entrance on a slightly cloudy day. The flight was amazing and the pilot was very professional. Arrived at the lodge to find a great facility with some of the nicest lodging staff I've ever met. We rode the lodge bikes to wonder lake after a nice dinner. The next morning we went on a hike and were fortunate to spend a few hours seeing denali with no clouds. The only negative is directed toward our trip planning by not staying longer!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Manager at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear RLb266,

Thanks for your review, and we were psyched to share Denali with you! You definitely took advantage of your brief stay, and we hope that we'll be able to host you for a longer stay during your next Alaskan adventure.

Kind regards,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
342 reviews
112.3 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
196 reviews
34.9 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#9 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,078 reviews
33.4 mi away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
221 reviews
33.7 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Property: Skyline Lodge
Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0046
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Skyline Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing