We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skyline Lodge Was Perfect For Us”
Review of Skyline Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skyline Lodge
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Skyline Lodge Was Perfect For Us”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Skyline Lodge and it was perfect for us. Read their web site and other reviews and get a feel for the type of place it is. If this appeals to you then you will enjoy your stay.The information on their web site is accurate. There were no surprises during our stay.

The staff was extremely friendly and provided minimal service - which was what we expected and also what we wanted. There is no bell hop to carry your bags. You serve your own food and clean up when you are done. Just like home. We had no complaints on service. If you want or need a higher level of service then don't stay here.

Food was very good and plentiful. Dinner was served family style. Most guests and some staff ate together but you were not obligated to sit down to dinner when the dinner bell rang. The food was available for the rest of the evening if you chose to eat later. Nice selection of fresh fruits and vegetables along with the main course. We enjoyed the community dining as it gave us a chance to meet other guests. Breakfast and lunch were informal self serve. You could make a picnic lunch in the morning to bring with you if you were not planning to be at the lodge at lunch time. Snacks were available all day. You won't be hungry.

The rooms all appeared to be equivalent. Ours was small as expected, had a great mattress and was extremely quiet. Never heard a peep from the guests on the other side of the one common wall.

We never had an issue with the shared bathrooms. Never waited for a shower. Middle of the night bathroom visit to the main lodge was not ideal but it was June so no need for a flashlight.

We took the camper bus in and out of the park and took a flightseeing tour after dinner one night. We chose to bus in and out so that we could schedule the flightseeing based upon the weather. Didn't want to combine flightseeing with the flight in or out of the park just in case it was overcast. Our flightseeing was perfect, well worth it. I would recommend it. The bus ride in was more enjoyable than the ride out. We saw wildlife on both bus rides but most people on the ride in were excited and actively looking for wildlife. Not so much on the way out.

We have no regrets about our decision to stay at the Skyline Lodge and would definitely stay there on our next visit. Book early as they only have a few rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SuttonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear SuttonSteve,

It was a pleasure to host you and Kim during your visit to Kantishna, and we appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your time busing into the Park, hiking, eating (:)) and flightseeing on the Grand Ascent tour. Solid visit.

Cheers,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved our stay at Skyline! The folks were incredible. From Dan's introduction to the lodge and our accommodations to Bobby's knowledge of the trails and to Christina's cooking we were well fed and very happy and felt welcomed by everyone. The food was fantastic, healthy and abundant! The flightseeing trip to Mt. McKinley and the glaciers was a life experience that we will remember forever. Thank you Ryan for making it a great experience. The room was clean and plenty big for two people - besides, who wants to hang out in a room with so much to explore? We hiked up the nearby mountain and at the top had views of the old mining area, wonder lake and the amazing mountain range. We also hiked at the reflection pond/wonder lake area and it was also incredible with large moose sightings. The bathrooms/showers were clean and spacious and always available. And we enjoyed meeting the other visitors in the dining area If you love peace and quiet and hiking and beautiful scenery this is the place for you. We are big city dwellers so this was exactly what we needed. Thanks everyone at Skyline for such a memorable time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Gina A,

It sounds like you took full advantage of your time in Kantishna! We're proud of you, city dwellers :) And thanks for letting us share in such an awesome experience.

Your pals,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was lucky enough to visit Skyline Lodge via Kantishna Air yesterday and was SO impressed. Unfortunately, I was on a day trip and was unable to spend the night, but would make it a priority the next time I'm in Denali. The flight was beautiful and the pilot, Andy, was incredibly knowledgeable about the landscape below (he's even climbed Denali!) Upon arrival, I was greeted by the friendliest staff I have ever encountered. The lodge is intimate and cozy with great views of the valley. Kantishna is unique and so much more peaceful than the hustle of the park entrance. Even if you cannot spend a night, I would recommend a trip to Kantishna with KatAir, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Corinna K,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, and we're psyched that you were able to take a day excursion (http://katair.com/denali-sightseeing.html), including your beautiful flight with Andy. We'd definitely love to host you at Skyline Lodge during your next adventure in Denali!

See you then,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Skyline Lodge for two nights as part of our Denali adventure. There were many good and some not-so-good things about staying at the Lodge. Of course, having the right information and expectations going into it can really impact your experience, so here is a quick list for your consideration:

THE GOOD
1. The price: I had communicated with every facility in Kantishna when planning our trip, and the cost of staying at the other locations was outrageous. I was getting quotes of $900+ per night for accommodations which were nothing close to luxurious. Skyline was less than half the cost of its closest competitor.

2. The people: Everyone working and staying at Skyline was a delight. We met another couple during our stay who we have remained in touch with and have even discussed travelling together with next summer. The people who work at Skyline were very pleasant and responsive.

3. The location: Doing a day trip on the bus inside Denali is not the way to see the park. Sitting in a cramped converted school bus traversing a bumpy road with the hopes of seeing wildlife hour after hour is a fairly awful experience, and we heard many complaints from people who had elected this option. Staying in Kantishna is a unique experience. You can see Denali at your own pace -- really be a part of the stillness and vastness of the land. You are no longer a sight-seeing tourist -- you become a part of the park. Skyline provides an affordable option to accomplish this.

THE BAD
1. The rooms: The rooms are so tiny, there is barely enough space to move. Of course, the whole point of staying inside the park is to get out and see it, so you won't (or shouldn't) spend much time in the room outside of sleeping. However, after a long and exhausting day of biking and hiking, it would be nice to have a nice room to relax in...but this is not the case at Skyline.

2. The bathrooms: None of the rooms have bathrooms. There are two full and one half bathrooms inside of the Lodge, which is not a lot considering all of the guests, pilots, and staff at the Lodge. So, you can imagine the inconvenience of waiting for the bathroom when you need one. Also, having to leave the room and walk outside to get to the lodge to use the bathroom in the middle of the night was not fun. It was raining one night which made it even less fun.

3. Lack of services: At the time we were there, the Lodge did not have a liquor license nor a television, no Wi-Fi or cell reception, so there was a serious lack of entertainment after dinner. Again, spending the evening hours in your room is not a good option because there is literally nothing to do but lay on the bed. At the same time, the common areas inside of the Lodge are not very nice either, so lounging around the Lodge itself isn't a great option. The Kantishna Roadhouse does have a bar but the Lodge will not transport you back and forth, and it is a fairly far distance and the hill coming back is very steep, so walking or biking back and forth for a couple of drinks is not a good option (we biked there one night and were lucky enough to catch a ride back -- it was pouring out so we were delighted to get the ride!).

Overall, I would recommend staying at Skyline Lodge as opposed to not staying in Kantishna at all, but you just have to know and accept what you are getting into. It is really rustic and basic. We knew it was a one-time experience, so we accepted it for what it was. I am happy to answer any specific questions about our time at the lodge. Just let me know!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MisterJoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear MisterJoshua,

Thanks, so much, for your excellent review! You've offered travelers some very good insights to help them with their travel planning, and you nailed it when you said it's all about information and expectations.

We totally agree that the price, the people and the location can't be beat! And you're right, the rooms are cozy (queen bed, dresser, small writing desk, & sleeping loft (in some)), and we were sorry to hear that they were too small for you. We think the views are worth it, and we find it to be luxury compared to camping but not the Ritz :)

Other than that, and just fyi, we do have beer and wine available for purchase, we have 3 (not 2) full bathrooms, and we have a small library of Alaskana, a Ping-Pong room, and what we feel to be some nice community space.

Having said that, you're correct, it's all about expectations, and we are, indeed, a rustic B & B-style lodge at the end of the road in the middle of a 6 million acre nature preserve :) We think that we're a great value, and thanks, again, for sharing your experience. We really appreciate your effort in helping others to see if we would be a great value for them.

Kind regards,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at Skyline Lodge with a group of friends for our yearly adventure trip. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The accommodations were just rustic enough for us to know we were out in the wilderness. The food was great every night and the fresh picked blueberry compote was an especially nice touch. What I appreciated most was the flexibility the staff displayed in arranging a ride in their van to the park entrance when the camper bus was full on our day to leave. We got to stop and take some great pics of the big mountain on the way out!

Thanks!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are pretty much the same with a great view of the mountain across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Trey S,

We're thrilled to hear that we were able to host you and your friends during your annual adventure trip! While it's a given that we find Denali to be a special place, it's awesome to hear that you experienced that, as well. Thanks for sharing your trip with us.

Adventure on,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Awesome experience. Can't beat the location. We took the bus in and were glad to rest overnight here. The night sky is amazing, the food is good and the rooms are comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to be accommodating and friendly. Nothing but good things to say. Book early though

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear peter p,

Thanks, so much, for spending a little time with us in Kantishna! We appreciate your feedback and your advice about booking early :)

All the best,

The KAT Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Skyline Lodge was built to accomodate the fellows flying for Kantishna Air Taxi. Five additional rooms provide lodging for travelers. Considering the costs far below several close by Lodges do not expect more than what you pay for. Simple and delicious meals, straight forward furnished rooms and shared baths up a flight of stairs is what you're in store for. Staff was friendly and helpful but preoccupied with their flight responsibilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L, Owner at Skyline Lodge, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear singert,

Thanks for your review. It's nice to know that we're meeting our goal at Skyline Lodge: to provide comfortable, affordable accommodations for independent travelers who don't need all the amenities of the larger, more expensive, full service lodges in Kantishna.

We're particularly glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, especially since, as you noted, we're primarily staffed for the flightseeing operation and not for guided lodge activities. While this is, of course, the main reason for the great savings, I'm still pleased to hear that your needs were met by our staff, especially since we had several new crew members who were still learning the ropes this season.

Cheers,

The KAT crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
33.6 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
306 reviews
34.9 mi away
Denali Cabins
Denali Cabins
#12 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
271 reviews
112.3 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 mi away
Carlo Creek Lodge
Carlo Creek Lodge
#9 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
144 reviews
34.2 mi away
Denali Park Village
Denali Park Village
#19 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
628 reviews
34.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyline Lodge

Property: Skyline Lodge
Address: Kantishna Air Taxi, PO Box 46, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0046
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Skyline Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Skyline Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing