We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moderate hike shaded throughout that rewards with heartwarming beauty at the end”
Review of Avalanche Lake

Avalanche Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular hiking area within Glacier National Park.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A moderate hike shaded throughout that rewards with heartwarming beauty at the end”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The elevation climb was slightly more difficult than anticipated but the trail is rated between easy and moderate.
A surprise to us was how shaded the trail was. He trees and other plants kept the sun at bay for most of the time. Although I kept my hat on it was unnecessary for this hike.
You will encounter several ooohhhh moments during the hike and then come upon the end when you will be rewarded with a grand view of a bowl shaped mountain with a small lake with cold cold water. We found a shaded spot and had lunch admiring the beauty of the mountain.
I think the round trip was about six miles but well worth the time and energy. Lots of people even decided to wade into the cold water. Me, I wanted to keep dry. :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank highlandertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    140
    20
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Private
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great first hike”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a good hike to start young children hiking and to get your legs moving before taking on the higher altitude hikes. My 11 yr old granddaughter loved it. There is enough variety on the trail to keep it interesting and is not too strenuous or long. Start early and take food for a nice break at the lake.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank raineyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike for photography”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The 2 mile hike seemed long but there were lots of fantastic views along the way. Waterfalls, forests and lakes. When we got to the top we were the only ones at the lake making the experience serene and peaceful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A brilliant walk through the forest”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Going To The Sun Road was closed with a barrier about 3 miles down the road from the lodge, snow clearing was still underway further along the road at higher altitudes.The trail started at the closed barrier and was well marked and followed a creek that ran from the lake. It was only about 2 miles out and 2 miles back and could be done as a loop incorporating the Cedar Trail which followed a boardwalk trail through huge cedar and hemlock trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sedgtrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“2 mile hike! Seems like 5!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome sights and beauty! It says 2 miles but the hills make it feel like twice that. But the lake is truly worth the trek!

Helpful?
Thank YearoftheRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avalanche Lake also viewed

Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 
Glacier National Park, MT
Glacier National Park, MT
 

Been to Avalanche Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing