We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Forest Walk”
Review of Bartlett Cove

Bartlett Cove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Near the tiny village of Gustavus, this is the part of the bay where you will find the park headquarters.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Wonderful Forest Walk”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There's a half-hour prepared forest walk starting close to the jetty. In August, the forest was magnificent, tall trees, lush damp undergrowth, curtains of lichens, quiet pools and more fungi than I have ever seen anywhere else, in a great profusion of varieties. It's best to go in a small group as there may be moose or bear about - if seen, retreat quietly. But there were NO FLIES!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod MA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“It will take your breath away!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Perhaps it is because this is was the first day, first outing and first good glimpse of the area after our arrival in Alaska but this place took my breath away and should not be missed. You should experience it by foot, by sea and by a learning experience. A full day of kayaking was arranged for us by our wonderful inn keeper (Deb) at Blue Heron Inn in Gustavus and it was an amazing day. We chose a guided tour because, well, we were in Alaska and the waters are big and cold and although we are experienced kayakers, we were not at all familiar with the area or these waters.

We paddled out into Icy Straits and across the way. We could see (and hear!) whales breaching and blowing in the distance and seals and pigeon guillemots accompanied us along the way. I was amazed at the clarity of the water and just how BIG everything seemed! Lunch was served on a beach (after everyone made noise to announce our arrival to any bear who may be in earshot) and smoked salmon was just one of the tasty treats offered up. A couple of us waded through the long grass to the edge of the forest to gather strawberries for "desert". Very small but oh so sweet and a little exciting to do, too! Lunch tasted all the sweeter surrounded by all of the incredible wilderness and beauty. Our guide (Cody) was knowledgeable and informative and we were in very good hands with him. Thorough instructions offered and gear was great quality. Cody was kind and patient with a couple who did not have much kayaking experience (good for them for giving it a try in Alaska!). We were so fortunate to have great weather (for all of our two plus weeks actually) so I did manage to get a pretty good sunburn. Note to self: Wear sunblock when on the water ... even in Alaska! We spent a considerable amount of time here exploring the paths and taking in a seminar one evening given by a local woman who spoke on the resident and transient Orca population (one is a fish eater the other mammal eaters!). Incredible creatures. I will review the Glacier Bay Inn separately but will encourage anyone who is staying in Gustavus to ask their Inn Keeper to arrange something for you at Bartlett Cove. These are your first footsteps into Glacier Bay National Park. Savor it in every way you possibly can!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LifesAnAdventure216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Well made forest trail”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The forest trail is for the most part a boardwalk so is accessible in wet weather. Our group off a small ship took approx 2 hours to complete the loop trail walking at a leisurely pace. There are abundant photo opportunities from dripping mosses to fungi to pools boasting the most beautiful reflections. I went into the NP lodge building but only took interest in the wildlife presentation and video on whale call research and possible interference from marine vessel motors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YolkandWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“small visitor center and walking trail”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Walking trail was a mile or so long, lodge had food and a gift shop, and the walk clearly showed where the edge of the glacier had been 250+ years ago. Saw a porcupine up a tree, and it obliged us by coming down to the ground and then climbing up again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbrecken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiftwater, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slice of Civilization in Wilderness”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Bartlett Cove is the place to stop for necessities when visiting Glacier Park NP and Preserve. I was there after hours, but some services were still open.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LivetoTravelSwiftwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bartlett Cove also viewed

Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, AK
Glacier Bay National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Bartlett Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing