We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Canyon Helicopters - Grand Canyon National Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$258.99*
and up
Grand Canyon Helicopter Flights with Optional Jeep Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand Canyon Helicopters was established in 1965 making it the most experienced helicopter tour company in the world. We operate a state-of-the-art fleet of Eurocopter EC130's, B2's and B3e's, specifically designed and configured for sightseeing. All helicopters feature 180 degree views, forward-facing stadium seating, climate controlled cabins, passenger to pilot communication and choreographed music. Our passengers enjoy the safest, quietest and most comfortable tourism based helicopter experience in the world with tour narrations in over ten languages to make sure our international visitors feel right at home.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Being of the view that I will quite probably only get the chance to visit the Canyon once, and making the most of each stop in my tour from the east to the west coast of the states, the helicopter ride over and in the canyon was never a question. Though I paid $275, for 45 minutes, I can definitely say it was worth every dollar. The close proximity to the canyon is priceless. Our pilot was great, and I was thrilled to be co-pilot, with probably the best views of the ride. He played music in the background of the ride, and as we flew over the forestry and dipped into the canyon listening to Coldplay Paradise, I really did feel like I was in Paradise. That feeling alone, is worth the money. As one of the wonders of the world, I feel like you have to take the helicopter ride to truly appreciate the size and beauty of the canyon. There's great views of the Colorado river, and our pilot chatted throughout, pointing out interesting elements of the canyon. Of course the ride doesn't last long enough, but it's unforgettable. Make the most of your trip to the canyon, don't be tight, and make a great memory! Highly, highly recommend. ( I didn't book through a company, just at the helicopter desk at the Canyon itself)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    15
    12
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“helicopter trip booked through viator”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

sadly our experience very different from most and not because of the helicopter experience but unfortunately the circumstances surrounding it.

We were left in temperatures of over 100 F for over an hour on the runway with little shade and with dozens of others. We had been told experience would take 45 minutes and that water was available on the Valley floor. Unfortunately it took with long waits before and after in burning sun over two hours and no water available on the Valley floor despite the dozens of small bottles apparently just for staff. Team of staff, by there own admission, in total chaous. Altogether really disappointing experience in an other trip of a lifetime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapillonHelicopters, Manager at Grand Canyon Helicopters - Grand Canyon National Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We would first like to apologize for your unfortunate experience and thank you for your review. We strongly value customer feedback, both positive and negative, in effort to maintain the highest standards in customer experience and service.

You mentioned a landing at the valley floor, which would indicate that you were at the West Rim of the Grand Canyon, while this review is on our Grand Canyon South Rim helicopter flight page. We would like to investigate why you and the other guests were waiting for some time in the heat rather than inside the airport terminal. Unfortunately, without your name or reservation number we are unable to research the exact specifics of your tour and ask that you contact our Guest Relations Department at (702) 638-3223 so we may further investigate this issue.

Again, our sincere apologies for your delay and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Respectfully,

Papillon Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If haven't done the helicopter tour of Grand Canyon, you haven't seen the real Grand Canyon”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was a great experience to view the Canyon from such close distance and to experience the dept and vastness. We were dropped down to the Colorado river and we took a boat ride, we even stepped into the Colorado river and clicked pictures.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eco Star Grand Canyon helicopter flight seeing”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I paid USD233 being the dearest option as we were told it guaranteed everyone a window seat. NOT SO. I was allocated a seat inside on back row of four and was totally unable to get any decent views. Other people had to take photos as impossible to get pictures without large amount of other people in it.a total waste of money as did not get what was promised. Complete disappointment. Also supposed to be 30 minutes-was only 25.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PapillonHelicopters, Manager at Grand Canyon Helicopters - Grand Canyon National Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are sorry to hear that there was a misunderstanding with the seating configuration, as we can never “guarantee” any particular seat on the aircraft. Seat assignments are completely dependent upon the weight of each passenger and balance calculations of the aircraft. Our helicopters are specifically designed for sightseeing and are equipped with large, oversized windows and stadium style seats that give our guests a comfortable experience with plenty of photo opportunities. We apologize if your seat assignment didn’t meet your expectations.

Respectfully,

Papillon Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wow and Double Wow!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Five of us were taken on the last flight of the day, due to increasing winds. Helicopter pilot very pleasant and knowledgeable.Flew first few minutes over forested area, until we reached the canyon rim, and the wow factor. Dropped into the canyon, and had fabulous views of the Colorado river flowing a mile below. Spent some 45 minutes flying and hovering over this magnificent chasm. Not cheap, but considering the unforgettable experience, money well spent!
Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymro32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Canyon Helicopters - Grand Canyon National Park also viewed

 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon Helicopters - Grand Canyon National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing