We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the South Rim...”

Grand Canyon North Rim
Book In Advance
More Info
US$338.99*
and up
Grand Canyon North Rim Air and Ground Tour with Optional ATV Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Word of mouth has that the more remote, harder to get to and therefore less crowded North Rim offers a more authentic Canyon experience and better views. However, there is no bus service on this rim and it is closed during the winter.
Oneonta, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skip the South Rim...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is paradise: Little to no crowds, easy parking, stunning views, easy or challenging hikes (depending upon your preference), and multiple pull offs breathtaking overlooks. The weather is much cooler on the north rim than on the south rim. It was a pleasant 75 to 85 degrees each day that we were there (except below the rim... please read about the Kaibab Trail before venturing off on it!).

The park's buffalo are a major attraction as well. They hang out very near the road on the way into the park from Jacob Lake. Be sure to plan for a little extra time to pull off and watch for a while. Keep your cameras and video recorders handy.

No complaints, no concerns about this destination. It's remote, it's a long way from anywhere, but is is oh, SO worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,318
    187
    36
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and better view than the South Rim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Grand Canyon North Rim is so amazing and beautiful. I love it more than the South Rim which is extremely crowded in some areas. There is no bad views in the Grand Canyon but the North Rim is definitely more beautiful than the South Rim. I absolutely love the peacefulness and cooler weather in the North Rim as well. Worth the drive and extra day spend in the Grand Canyon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The North Rim is the way to see the Grand Canyon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Seeing the Grand Canyon is a must regardless of which entrance you visit through - I will not argue with anyone there. But if you have the ability to be choosey, and the willingness to drive potentially 3-4 hours out of the way, you will NOT be disappointed. I went to the North Rim during the height of tourist season, and still was able to find the solitude I desired while looking out at possibly the greatest sight on the planet. There are several great trails if you're interested in some easy hiking - the rangers are very helpful and will suggest good hikes to try based on what you want. We asked for the longest hike and the least amount of people to cross paths with... and they chose well. I went to the South Rim a few days later... Got up early to go watch the sunrise - hundreds of people, even at 5 am. Still one of the best sunrises I've ever seen - but you hopefully got the point. The North Rim is an untapped wonder.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trovato44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Arguably better views with 10% of the foot traffic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

They say the North Rim has better views than the South Rim. I don't know if that's true...I don't know if any comparison is fair when you consider that the Grand Canyon is such a one-of-a-kind place. So put that aside and focus on the fact that only 10% of the visitors to Grand Canyon National Park go to the North Rim. The rest go to the South Rim. That makes the North Rim a smaller (and more manageable) place, a cozier environment and much less crowded in peak season. It's a little harder to get to the North Rim than the South Rim, but the positives make it worth the trip.

There's a trailhead to go under the rim (North Kaibab Trail) and all sorts of hiking above and right on the rim. The driving tour on the Walhalla Peninsula is a lot of fun with some incredible overlook views.

I loved my experience at the North Rim and bet you will too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank TheTravelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Of course, spectacular views. Also, the drive up and the wildlife and vegetation are beautiful. Take the time hike around a bit and eat at the Lodge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellyJ209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Canyon North Rim also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Grand Canyon North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing