We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pima Point for sunset -- a road less travelled”
Review of Hermit Road

Hermit Road
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 8-mile stretch of road boasts a number of stunning views of the Canyon. Do it by car, foot or during peak season, May to September, by bus: shuttles run by the Park Service that stop at key points and allow you to hop on and off at your leisure.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pima Point for sunset -- a road less travelled”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Several rangers suggested Pima Point -- over Hopi Point -- for sunset viewing and we were not disappointed. Fewer folks seemed to know about it, so we had plenty of room and a magnificent view of the sunset, the changing colors of the rocks, and the Colorado River (2 points including rapids). We took some sandwiches and jumped on the bus about 1.5 hours before sunset, hopping on and off the buses at a few of the stops until we got to Pima Point about 45 minutes before sunset. Gave us enough time to watch the canyon disappear into darkness. A bus was parked throughout the sunset and 15 minutes after sunset, we headed directly back to the Village. Don't miss the West Rim sunset!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GalsAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    3
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Because of the time of year, we had to take the shuttle rather than drive for this portion of the canyon. I would recommend parking at the Grand Canyon Visitor Center and picking up the shuttle. There is tons of parking over there. We stopped at every viewpoint along the west rim and hiked portions of the rim trail. The views are astounding. There is no such thing as a bad view here. Hermit's rest is the end and we wandered around for a bit and picked up an ice cream. On our way back down we stopped at Powell point for sunset which was spectacular. I also recommend Mohave point for good views. Mohave was my favorite spot on the whole rim. You can spend a good 4 hours on the road here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank shell9163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Give yourself a good half a day to see it all.”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Parking at the Visitors Center we took the blue route bus and then transferred to the Red Route shuttle. We then got off at every stop out to Hermit's Rest, took a walk around and photographs and by the time we had done that the next shuttle was coming along. They were running every 15 minutes in April 13 and for us between 10:30am and noon they were not packed and very comfortable. However, when the park gets busier I can imagine them to be crammed and probably very hot even though they have air con. On the way out there is a wonderful and knowledgeable commentary and the drivers announce the stops with plenty of notice. They also try to control the flow of people on and off the shuttle and are very safety conscious. On the way back the shuttle only collects from three points and these can get busy.
Knowing what I know now what would I do different? Instead of parking at the visitors center and having to travel the blue shuttle in both directions I would drive further myself and try to park as close to the red route terminal. For us the time of the blue route was crushed, hot and frustrating and if you can cut it out then I would highly recommend it.
The cost to get in the park is $25 per car or you can buy an annual pass that covers about six parks in the area. The trips on the shuttles are all included in this entrance fee and so no additional costs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Loved this scenic route”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Took this drive twice during my recent visit to Grand Canyon National Park. I decided to stay on the shuttle the entire way out to Hermit's Rest, as the driver was providing very pleasant and informative narration along the way. On the return trip I left the shuttle at Mohave Point and spent some time there, before catching a different shuttle back to the Village.

The second trip out was later in the week and later in the day. While there were more people on the shuttle the second time it was still a relaxing trip, and I enjoyed seeing the views one more time and also more wildlife along the return route.

If you stay on the shuttle the entire way, the round trip is 70 minutes. However, you can make a day out of it by stopping at any or all of the view points on the way out, and the three stops on the way back.

Whether you stay on the shuttle or leave, you will be treated to terrific views along the way.

Definitely recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Powell Point a great quiet viewing point”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hermit road is closed to cars during Spring and Summer, visitors need to use the shuttle bus. As there are 8 stops going forward but only 3 stops coming back, it is better to hop in/out heading out. Powell Point is a great viewing point for early morning and late evening light shinning on the ridges giving nice shadings that highlight the landscape. You can also catch picture of all the sunrise viewing crowd at the next viewing point just 500 yds away if you get there early. You can then admire the awesome scenery quietly and then walk over to the two most popular viewing points along the way, then take the shuttle bus onward.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaHCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermit Road also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Hermit Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing