We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusty and a hell of a climb back out”
Review of North Kaibab Trail

North Kaibab Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 14-mile, easy to follow path (the only maintained trail into the Canyon from the North Rim,) takes you by soaring cottonwoods, roaring springs and scenic overlooks until it ends at the Bright Angel Campground.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dusty and a hell of a climb back out”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Four friends and I recently spent one night at the North Rim and thought it would be fantastic to get down into the canyon the next day. This trail is the only one that has this route so we set off, deciding we would see how we felt at the Supaj Tunnel (the second way-point on your descent). The trail down to the Supai Tunnel was incredibly dusty (be sure to bring a bandana or something to cover your nose and mouth) and relentlessly downhill....every step of the way imagining having to climb back out! My group and I were generally unimpressed with this trail and would have preferred to spend the day hiking rim trails.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 12erin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    28
    5
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Strenuous Hike”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great views and vistas. Take plenty of water and be prepared for a strenuous hike out of the canyon. Most definitely our favorite hike, however our 12-year old son found it to be very strenuous hike to the bridge and back. (Around 4.5 hours).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FloridaFamilyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
333 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Tough hike - enjoyed the first half, including Ribbon Falls”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I recently hiked the North Kaibab Trail down to Phantom Ranch. We got an early start at 5:30 am and really enjoyed the first half of the hike. The day was cool to start out (in the mid 40's F), but quickly warmed up. The views were great and we made nice time to the Pumphouse area, where we learned that there was a water line break (we saw a crew working on a fix later in the day). After a side trip to Ribbon Falls (highly recommended), we proceeded south along the trail and spent the next several hours in a Grand Canyon version of the movie, Groundhog Day. "The Box" area starts to get pretty hot by late morning and it seemed like every time we went around a bend, there was the same stretch of trail up to another, and then we repeated that often. It was great to finally get into Phantom Ranch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Killer climb”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

breathtaking, defeating climb if going S to N. very slow going depending of course on your preparation training. never the less... carrying more than ample water, electrolytes, food for the constant up hill switchback climb. for most of our trip water was unavailable due to another pipeline break. the heat was really tough as well with over 100 degrees. beautiful and gratifying, but you have to prepare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank izymassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Built in 1929”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Built decades ago this is a serious ascent and descent of 4000 feet and 7 miles to Cottonwood Camp. Those with a high degree of fitness, knowledge of the Grand Canyon and planning should attempt this. I finished a rim to rim hike going up the North Kibab train and it was well designed and marked, gentle slope and switchbacks that seem never ending. For a short hike one can go down and back to the Supai Tunnel. Do not venture down for a long hike after 9. Getting back out is not optional!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingsinclairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Kaibab Trail also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to North Kaibab Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing