We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only accommodations here aside from camping!”
Review of Phantom Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phantom Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“only accommodations here aside from camping!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed here one night as part of the mule ride package. The steak meal was also included. The cabins are small and rustic. The toilet is in a small closet but since I was staying solo, I left the door open, it could be quite claustrophobic if closed. The bed was small and the area is sparsely furnished however they do have electricity (I didn't bring my battery recharger) and a heater! I spoke with a family at breakfast who stayed in the dorms (gender separated) which was cool because they could not adjust their heater. I was glad I had my own cabin. The showers are in a separate area and accessed by your cabin key. They are dorm like shower so nothing to recommend but still a hot shower at the end of a long day! I would recommend getting a cabin instead of camping (and packing a tent!) when staying in the Canyon however the cabins get rented out fast. I heard people were reserving them about a year in advance.

Room Tip: private cabin instead of the dorm cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    92
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
109
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Phantom Ranch is the only lodging at the bottom of the Grand Canyon (besides the Bright Angel Campground next to it). Spent two nights at the Ranch (a must) to fully enjoy the scenery and to rest. Stayed in a bunk house (sleeps 10) with a decent shower and toilet. There are only four bunk houses at the Ranch (2 male and 2 female ones) plus a few private cabins.

Meals were provided at the communal dining table - you get to know other hikers really well. The canteen service was literally prompt (everyone is seated at the same time - you don't want to be late).

The great evening ranger programs which you should really go to. Our ranger showed us the International Space Station in its orbit in the night sky followed by Space X cargo ship in front of it. We also searched for scorpions with the ranger (they are really harmless).

Other things to do:
1. Go for a 12 mile round-trip hike to the little-known Ribbon Falls with an incredible waterfall cavern (the trail is flat).
2. Spend some time on the beach by Colorado River.

Room Tip: 1. Due to limited availability, make reservations up to 13 months ahead (call the office on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FromWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed in one of the bunk houses -- 10 guys to a small bunk house but it has a good shower and toilet/wash basin. After a long hike down on the South Kaibab, the bed was superior to the backpack campground because my friend and I were able to take a day pack instead of a heavy backpack with tent, sleeping bag, etc. The meals -- dinner and breakfast -- were very good. Staff is friendly and the ranch has a good vibe. It's a combo of hikers and those who came down by mules. If you want a cabin, you need to book one 13 months in advance! We got the bunk house a month out after a cancellation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cgbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

If anyone gives this any less than 5 stars they are just not thinking. This place is ALL about the location, and the great, campy feel.
Phantom Ranch is the only lodging at the bottom of the grand canyon, and after hiking 7-10 miles to reach it, it's a true oasis. The creek runs through the side canyon, and the sycamore and cottonwood trees provide lots of shade. Meals are served family-style in the canteen, which also serves as the front desk, concierge and valet :)
When we arrived in April 2014, we were instantly notified that unfortunately the water main had broken, so there were no working showers or flush toilets [we flushed via the "bucket" system]. No matter, it hardly had any impact on our 2 night stay, nor did it seem to affect any of the other guests.

Great spot, if you can get there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderingbrooksnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hard to overstate how wonderful Phantom Ranch is. The hike, the scenery, the river...its all fantastic, and then once you get there the staff and other hikers are top-notch. The food is decent, but because you're eating it at the bottom of the Grand Canyon, it will be one of your favorite meals ever.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Gomez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My friend and I spent two nights in a cabin for ten people. After two days, we became friends with several other individuals and have kept in touch. There's no TV, phone or internet. So for entertainment, we conversed with other folks. We made our reservations 13 months in advance. And, yes, they do have showers!

Watch out for people that snore. I took ear plugs and that did help. Also, watch out for mice. Keep your food locked. A mouse got into my friend's backpack twice.

Do listen to the Ranger talks. There's one at 4:30 pm and the other at 7 pm. Ranger Toy (yes, her family name is Toy) conducted our talks. She was fun and informative. Walk around the Ranch and the Camp. Some of the rocks are about two billion years old. Mule deer abound in the afternoon. A brave fox sat about ten feet from me. The water from the creek allows a variety of plant life to thrive. Then's there's the river and the beach and the stream and fishing.

While there, we also hiked the river trail which runs between the South Kaibab and Bright Angel trails. It's has some great river views and very colorful canyons.

Enjoyed the food. For dinner, I liked the vegetable chilli the best out of the three choices which included steak and beef stew. It's served with salad, corn bread, dessert (chocolate cake one night) and drinks. Breakfast is wonderful with pancakes, eggs, bacon, etc. The lunch bag is okay with a white bagel (almost tasteless), apple, nuts, etc. If you bring your own snacks, just forget the lunch bag! Of course, there's also wine and beer. The meals have to be ordered in advance.

When food is not being served in the cantaina, you can read books in their library or play games. Hope to go there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoverJungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were able to stay in a 4 bunk cabin at Phantom Ranch. The cabin was rustic, but clean. The cabin had a toilet and sink. There is a separate building for showers. The shower was very nice and hot after a long hike in. For dinner, the beef stew was just okay. It came with a very nice salad, bread and chocolate cake. The pancake/eggs/bacon breakfast was a perfect start to the next day. There two ranger programs that we attended. Both were educational and entertaining. The staff at Phantom were very nice and helpful. The rangers are awesome. My friend had trouble on the way down and there was a ranger on the trail to help us figure out what do to. They cannot carry you out so make sure you are in good shape.

For the trip down, we took South Kaibab. It is shorter, but steeper. It is very hard on the knees so bring 2 trekking poles. The views are spectacular. We took Bright Angel back up. The views are not as spectacular as Kaibab, but the trail is less strenuous. If you have doubts on completing South Kaibab, take Bright Angel. You don't want to have to turn back. Overall, It was a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kde1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
5.5 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,346 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,853 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
10.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phantom Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phantom Ranch

Property: Phantom Ranch
Address: North Kaibab Trail, South Rim, bottom of Grand Canyon, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phantom Ranch 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phantom Ranch is a historic oasis nestled at the bottom of Grand Canyon. It is on the north side of the Colorado River tucked in beside Bright Angel Creek. Phantom is the only lodging below the canyon rim. The Ranch can only be reached by mule, by foot or by rafting the Colorado River. Overnight accommodations at Phantom Ranch consist of dormitory spaces and cabins. Cabins and dormitories are heated in winter and cooled during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phantom Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phantom Ranch Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Phantom Ranch Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Phantom Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing