We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views Incomparable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wildland Trekking

The Wildland Trekking
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wildland Trekking Company provides exceptional Grand Canyon hiking tours and backpacking trips in Grand Canyon National Park and to the famous Havasupai Waterfalls in Grand Canyon West. Our Grand Canyon hiking tours range from day hikes to all-inclusive, multi-day Grand Canyon backpacking trips to the bottom of the Grand Canyon and the Colorado River. We also offer inn-based Grand Canyon hiking tours to Phantom Ranch as well as hiking packages (inn-based and basecamp) from both rims. When it comes to Grand Canyon hiking, we're the experts! We've earned recognition in Backpacker Magazine, Men's Health, Sunset, and Lonely Planet Traveler, as well as on the Discovery Channel. Come join us for a Grand Canyon hiking adventure you'll never forget!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Views Incomparable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Hard not to rate the Grand Canyon, but it truly is 5*. And Wildland Trekking was great too. We backpacked 3 days down to Indian Gardens to camp, then down to the river and back up. The booking was good. Even though the dates we wanted were not scheduled WT scheduled a trip for us. Our guide PJ was great, knowledgable and thoughtful. Food was good and we were happy to get a vegetarian option. Equipment was great - clean and in good shape. PJ made sure we experienced the best of the canyon, all well-paced with great advice to manage the July heat. His supply of duct tape and then surgical tape helped get boots up the canyon when the temperature melted the shoe glue! Much appreciated. We enjoyed every cold stream, bits of shade and amazing views. Thanks

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    24
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Havasu Falls Summer 3 day tour - Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I just returned home from the 3 day Summer Havasu Falls tour. I will just say that as a company, Wildland Trekking really has it together... The entire experience from our email and phone communications about the trip, booking, arriving at the lodge, meeting our guide, the drive to the trailhead, hiking and camping, and finally the return was seamless and a breeze. Every detail was taken care of which made the trip one of the most enjoyable outdoor vacations we have ever had. We were fortunate to have a small group - just 4- and Kenton was our guide. He was awesome... knowledgeable about the landscape and outdoors, he snagged us an awesome campsite while we enjoyed the falls on the first day, he set up camp and prepared delicious meals. Not only did he go out of his way to make us comfortable but he was really cool to hang out with as well.

We will definitely be using Wildland Trekking again for our next guided outdoor trip... the reviews are all true..they are Pros. We have been sad all week that we had to come home. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AP_Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What an easy trip to book! It was an easy e-mail to set-up the whole trip.

My wife and I had an awesome hike on the South Kaibab Trail. Elaine, our guide, was really full of knowledge regarding the Grand Canyon. She also made sure we were well prepared for the conditions by making sure we came with the right gear and of course tons of water (Her communication prior to the trip was outstanding). Elaine also brought frozen water and gatorade to make sure that we had cold beverages. My wife and I are afraid of heights but we still wanted to have this experience (a bucket list experience). Elaine was patient with us and let us go out the pace we felt most comfortable. She did an excellent job of pacing us back up the trail to make sure that we did not over exert. I have asthma and Elaine did an excellent job of monitoring my conditions.

The brunch was really great -- yummy food after a big hike. This was by far the highlight of our trip to Arizona. I would recommend anyone planning to hike the canyon to use this company; they will make sure that you have a great and safe time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mason91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Havasu Falls Summer Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We (41 year old husband and wife) did the Havasu Falls Summer Tour with guides Avi and Ben. This was an incredible experience that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Havasupai is a unique place on the globe and Wildland enabled us to experience it fully. The entire process was seamless. Our meeting at the Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs was helpful, the equipment was great, the food was plentiful, and our guides accommodated everyone's needs, interests and ability levels. We hiked the 10 miles each way, we jumped in waterfalls and met new friends.

Neither my wife or I had ever hiked before. We will hike with Wildland again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TDB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We hiked into the Grand Canyon with Greg OToole as our guide. Greg was awesome, knowledgable,energetic, and let us dictate the hiking pace. He served up a beautiful lunch with the canyon as our view. We highly recommend Greg and the Wildland Trekking Co.!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wildland Trekking also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to The Wildland Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing