We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife & I stayed at the Grand Canyon North Rim Lodge Hotel for two nights during June and our cabin was located right on the edge of the canyon. Although very basic it had the necessities for a comfortable stay.
The bathroom wash basin taps only gave a trickle of water and so took an age to fill, other than that the shower worked, the lighting throughout the cabin was very poor.
On our arrival the hotel car park , it was nearly full as you get the day visitors using it as well as guests, this then involved a hundred yard hike with luggage to the hotel entrance.
Your not allowed to drive right up to the entrance doors.
If you intend to stay here I strongly recommend you make a dinner reservation as soon as you arrrive at reception as it's the only place you can get a decent meal and it closes at nine pm. We arrived at two pm and we told there was no need to book a table only to find when we went to the dining room reception at seven thirty that a table was not available untill eight forty five.
Whilst sitting in the reception area one evening I heard the resaturant manager tell a couple who arrived ten minutes late for their eight forty five booking that he coul not accommadate them.
The deli serves hot dogs, pizza, salads and such like, while at the Roughrider Saloon awful chili, crisps etc but not what you woud discribe as appetizing.
If you don't want a forty mile drive from the nearest town I suppose it's worth putting up with thes inconveniences.

Room Tip: Book months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambo2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    761
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
660
973
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

It was like camping in a log cabin but you didn't have to bring anything. They shuttle you to the door and you are off for your adventure. Wonderful woods, views, rooms and nothing is too far. Food is a bit pricey but you have the option of bringing your own or shopping at the store there. The gas was the lowest price anywhere! Highly recommend it as there were no crowds yet the lodge was fully booked. Great get away!

Room Tip: I used priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jettay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

When visiting the Grand canyon North Rim, you have little choice but to stay within the park as other options are kind of far away. We got a "frontier cabin" which had a double and a twin bed. It has a table and one chair and 6 hangers (so not too much room to store anything). It is fine, albeit cozy. BUT the wall to the adjoining cabin has no sound barrier. You can hear every word, every suitcase zipper, every bottle being opened. Bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StPete-Rhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sinai, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Western Cabins over the Memorial Day weekend.
Lovely cabin with very comfortable beds and a cozy electric fireplace.
Very romantic, No Wyfi or TV. Nicely appointed with rustic furniture and exposed beams.
Delious food, great steaks and professional service.
Relaxing views of the Grand Canyon from the comfortable sun room and terrace.
Unforgettable!
Definately worth the upgrad, if you can get one.
.

Room Tip: Saloon is open for early morning coffee not deli
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineNJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our "room" was a two-room log cabin that slept 6 people. The queen bed was adequate and there were also bunk beds and a couch that made into a bed. The bathroom was small but the shower was wonderful. If you really want to experience the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Keep going back to the website if already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
319 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

After reading the reviews, I opted for a lodge motel room rather than a cabin. There were pros and cons about the rooms (see below) but overall it was fine. And after all, what's most important is the location at the rim.

Pros
- Location at the rim
- Clean and comfortable
- Fridge and coffer maker

Cons
- Rooms are situated furrther from the Lodge than the cabins. Fortunately I was in the closer of the 2 motel room buildings.
- Parking is across the road from all cabins and motel rooms. It's a nuisance to get your luggage from where you park in the main parking lot to where your room is. The paths to the buildings are not paved, not conducive to wheeled luggage.
- Room are small
- No bathtub, just a small stand up shower
- No A/C but a ceiling fan. This was fine for the night in June when I was there.

About the Lodge overall:
North Rim feel much more like visiting a National Park than the South Rim does. Not overrun with tourists. Ate reasonaby priced breakfast and lunch at the Lodge,. Both were good adn the dining rooms overlooks hte canyon.. Front desk and wait staff were pleasant and helpful. Sun room and balconies both offer terrific views of the canyon. There's a saloon too, but it doesn't have any windows or views so passed on having a drink there. It's a short walk to awesome overlooks of the canyon (sunrise was spectacular).

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank NewMexBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed in a Western Cabin, which was fine for one night. For the price $$ of this cabin, I
expected it to be very, very clean. The bathroom was clean, the bed was fine and the bed
linens, but, the carpet was stained, and so was the chairs by the small table.
I really liked the Grand Canyon Lodge, the view was spectacular. If you go don't miss sitting
on the Sun Porch at sunset. We ate in the Dining Room, waitress was very nice, and the
food we found to be good for dinner. Breakfast different story, got the buffet and everything
was cold, and this was at 7 AM, they open at 6:30 AM. We made reservations for dinner,
I wanted to wait for a table by the window, and the girl seating us was not very accomodating,
saying that would take too long. We did get a table next to the tables by the windows, so
not so bad. Our waitress was so sweet, cannot say the same for the girl seating us.
Less crowd at the North Rim, but, of course a much longer drive. All in all, happy that
we experienced this once.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie121333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing