We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be seen to be believed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Must be seen to be believed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Had tried to get a cabin in July for more than a year, without luck. But suddenly one cabin was available for one night so of we went, and the reviews/stories/pictures doesn't lie: This place is one of the most fantastic and amazing places we have ever experienced. From the first look at the North Rim from the hotel lobby to the sunrise from the hotels sundeck - the experience was awesome. The lodge itself is like a scenery taken from Dirty Dancing: The lobby, the dining room etc.just waits to have Patrick Swayze strolling in and utter the line: "Nobody puts baby in a corner". The service at the lodge is great, very nice and helpful people all over. The restaurant serves lovely food in as said surroundings that are amazing.
The cabin is small but cozy and has what you need - noting more noting less, and best of of: No tv, internet and very lmited cellcoverag = nice and quiet.
This place must beenseen to be believed, and whenever we are back on the westcoast ( we're from scandinavia ) we'll certainly try to get out there again for more that one night. A true wonder

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    759
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
657
971
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I stayed one night in one of the 'deluxe' cabins which are very cute. They have fireplaces, propane heat, and felt like a little summer house in the woods. You have a front porch with chairs and only steps to the main lodge with incredible views of the Grand Canyon. It was a very nice comfy place to be and enjoy nature. The location couldn't be better and I enjoyed it very much. As a suggestion you may wish to pack a flashlight as finding your way back from dinner with unlit paths proved to be a bit of a challenge. I recommend these cabins over the basic ones as they offer more room and were good for a few people as they have more room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Loved it. Was worried about visiting the Grand Canyon in late July as height of the tourist season. Adored the North Rim the cabins are small but well done and clean and simple. Coming form the UK I thought they were a bargain. Arrived just before sundown short stroll around the canyon rim then sat on the Lodge patio and watched the sunset. What could be more perfect. Next day toko a Mule ride down to the tunnel. Again thought this would be tacky but a perfect way to see the area in high summer without having to walk at high altitude in blistering heat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johjoh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland,or
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stay right at the edge of the canyon was a wonderful experience I will never forget! We saw an amazing sunrise and sunset, enjoyed sitting on the patio overlooking the canyon with people from all over the world. Motel rooms appear to have been remodel and were comfortable and clean , although small but fine for two people.Do make dinner reservations far enough in advance --dinner was good but atmosphere and location was the draw for me.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woowoosister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed one night in a Frontier Cabin and thought it was much better than anticipated. Many reviews stated cabins were not all that great so maybe I lowered my expectations but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to cabin #93. Yes Frontier Cabins are set up “barrack” style but also set up in a way that you still had privacy. I would categorize these cabins as cute and rustic. Bathroom was recently updated and that was a plus. As everyone comments you are there for the scenery and don’t spend much time in your room which I agree 100%. I also agree it is true the cabins are worth the price so you don’t have to drive an hour away to the next closest town (Jacob Lake…..I stayed there the next night and you can read that review too – YIKES). Having seen the layout of all cabins I am not sure if I would upgrade to Pioneer or Western Cabins unless I had a guarantee of the type of “view” room I had. I am thinking some of the rooms set back off of the Rim with a “peak” of the Canyon may be priced as view rooms with very little to see. Pioneer and Western Cabins are also located closer to the Visitors Center/Lodge which made it more noisy and congested.

One excellent TA tip is to keep checking for cancellations. Although lodging books up well in advance check their on-line reservation system as it updates every 15 minutes with frequent openings. I snagged this cabin about one month before arrival and was very happy with the lodging. Would I stay here again if visiting the North Rim? Without a doubt!

NOTE: Took 2 week Grand Circle Tour. For other lodging reviews please see: Zion NP Lodge, Bryce Canyon Inn Tropic, Days Inn Capitol Reef Torrey, Kokopelli Lodge Moab, Rodeway Inn Page.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This side of the canyon is very quiet and has the same great views of the Grand Canyon. We stayed in one of their rim cabins and wow, we overlooked the canyon (4 cabins with rim views). The restaurant served very good food and the windows overlooked the canyon. They also have easy trails below the lodge that give great views of the canyon. This was a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Cabins 301 & 306 have the best views of the canyon. 305 & 309 are also on the canyon rim bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

The lodge is the best place you can probably stay in the north rim and the south rim.. it has the best view specially from the inside in case you are visiting in winters you don't need to step out of the resort the main lobby has a huge glass panel where you can sit and just admire the beauty of the canyons.

Room Tip: Book well in advance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayankInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing