We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fronteir cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fronteir cabin”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was going back and forth with myself on how I would write this review, but I decided it would be based solely on the accommodations because it affected my stay so much. Me and my husband had booked two nights at the Lodge - one night in a Frontier Cabin and one night in a Motel room. Luckily we were able to switch it when we got there and stay in the same room both nights.

The Frontier Cabin is tiny. There is a double bed, a twin bed, a small desk and that's it, aside from the bathroom. We checked in in the early afternoon and the first thing that struck me was how completely stuffy the cabin was. I can understand not having an air conditioner unit, but no fan?! Not even a ceiling fan! And no fans available from the front desk. We left the windows open while we were out, but we had to leave the curtains closed because of course all of our things were in the room, so it didn't help. We tried to sleep in the same bed together but it became unbearable after a few hours. It was too insanely hot. I don't know about other people, but I prefer to sleep in the same bed with my spouse. We also had to sleep with the windows open which is slightly odd because people are walking by all the time.

The bathroom was small, which is fine, but the lighting was very dark over top of the shower stall.

I am 100% of the camp that believes a room is only a place to stay, and therefore have no problem staying in basic rooms. However, this room was just plain uncomfortable and hindered my experience at the Grand Canyon as I was not rested.

Aside from the room, the Lodge is great. Every single one of the staff I encountered were great. Harry at the front desk is the best. Betty is awesome, too. The ranger talks are a cool way to learn more about the Canyon. The gift shop is fantastic. The outdoor patio areas are great day and night. Looking out at the stars in the evening is wonderful The food in the restaurants was just average, but what do you expect when they have to get it shipped in like that.

Of course the Grand Canyon is amazing, but that has nothing to do with the Lodge ;)

Perhaps some of the other rooms are more comfortable, but the Frontier Cabin was one of the cheapest options and was still $130 a night. I highly, highly recommend everyone see the North Rim. It was the most breathtaking natural wonder I've seen in my life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    772
    810
    411
    147
    67
See reviews for
709
1,027
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We were very pleased with our accommodations. Our cabin was well appointed and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Many were seasoned travelers themselves. I can't say enough about the quality of people that we encountered. The restaurant at the lodge was very good. And of course, you can't beat the view out the windows. We would highly recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The lodge is AMAZING. Views, views and more views. The restaurant food is terrific and fairly priced. At 5:30am, armed with a cup of coffee from the Saloon's am coffee bar (great cuppa joe!), I sat on one of the two large outdoor decks and watched the canyon colors shift as dawn broke; very special. The Frontier Cabins are as advertised - basic. Ours was small, clean and well tended with extra blankets and pillows; upscale camping providing, for us, the perfect canyon experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCBNYCNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've been to The North Rim numerous times but it's been over 10 years and it was time for a return. Our trip was just fabulous. My 16yo and I were over in the campground and my mother was staying in a Pioneer Cabin. I was impressed with how fresh and clean the cabin was. They are well taken care of. My 16yo and I used the shower in the cabin and also spent our last night in the bunkbeds because our tent flooded in a rainstorm.

My mother is 80 and struggled with the elevation and some leg problems - The Lodge provided a porter service that picked her up at her cabin in a golf cart and took her back and forth between the lodge/veranda. This was a HUGE benefit to her. She also had a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and plenty enough room.

I gave her one of our camp chairs for her room (probably the only things missing from the room are a chair and a microwave) and she was VERY happy. It's small but if you're spending enough time in there to be bothered by it then it's time to get out and enjoy The Grand Canyon!! Or at least the veranda and lodge living room.

We can't wait to get back next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieScarlettO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

staryed at the north rim one night only thank goodness, The place in my opinion is the pits.
Only one rocky walk, no way to walk down to the canyon. The cabin was primative to say the least - no air conditioning was the worse point as was crawling with insects all night, The lodge restaurant had 80% of its customers go down with bad food poisoning. I've been to the south rim twice which I love, you can go for lots of walks, walk down the mule trail catch shuttle buses to different walks, and you can see the colorado river at the bottom. This place was a great disappointment as I had my Daughter and Grand Daughter with me and they did not see the full magnitude that the south canyon shows. Booked with Archers never will again, 40% of the 26 day trip was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerseysideKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in a rimside frontier cabin. It has 2 rooms seperated by a bathroom. One room has a double bed and one room has a bunkbed. the rooms were very clean , had a coffeemaker and even had a fridge!
Because the cabin is at the rim you have to walk a bit to get to the cabin. It was about a 5 minute walk from the parkinglot.
From our window we clould really see the rim, so it was worth the few extra dollars.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Janneke24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in a pioneer rimside cabin. It was described as having more than enough space for 6; but our family , two adults and three children found it rather cramped. The rimside bit was a a disappointment; sure we were the cabin nearest the rim, but we couldn't see the rim as there were to many trees in the way! Partial view would be the better description.

Having said all that, The North Rim Lodge is a great place to stay. Nothing beats the view of the Canyon, which must be the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Staff are very helpful and everything works. Its clean, functional and geared up to short term visitors

Room Tip: Next time I wouldnt bother with the Rimside part. !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,439 reviews
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,710 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing