We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Western cabin on the north rim of the grand canyon.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Elgin Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Western cabin on the north rim of the grand canyon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The grand canyon lodge was built in 1928 and designed by stanley underwood. (the same architect at yosemite) Do to a fire much of the original structure was burned . What you see today was re-built in 1936. Today The lodge serves as the central gathering place for all north rim visitors. Unlike its more popular cousin the south rim, this is the only lodging available (with the campground exception).
Accomodations here at the lodge very from basic motel rooms to a family cabin. Cabins are mostly located on the left side of the lodge spread around ponderosa pines with paved walkways throughout the complex. All cabins have a duplex design Where you share a common wall with one other cabin. The difference in class of cabin is its size and location. The best cabins are the western cabins with a full canyon view. (note only a few have a view) They come with 2 queen beds,electric fireplace,full bath,changing/desk area,small fridge,table and two chairs. There was a small clothes hanging rack with iron/board. As part of its laid back charm no ac or tv are in any of the rooms. the front porch with its two rocking chairs is a good place to people and nature watch.
The cabin has an electric heater (fireplace is on a timer 3hrs max) that works just fine. We had plenty of hot water and the presure was enough. soaps here are in dispensers mounted on the wall (instead of the small disposabe ones) The only setback is the walls are paper thin and if you have noisy neighbors.you can here every last thing.
The lodge- At its center contains the check in desk,dinning hall, lecture hall, and the wonderful patio/observation deck. To its sides you will find a fine deli,gift store, and saloon. This lodge is the only one built right on the rim of the canyon. This makes it special for viewing on its porch area. Even better at night they make a fire in the outdoor fireplace.
The parking- This can be a slight turnoff. You can drive your car to the front of the hotel but must park in the parking lot. This can be a little bit of a walk to your cabin for some folks.good news is the walkway is paved so you can roll your suitcases. There is also a drop off and loading area here where you will find the vending and ice machines.
The restaurant. This large dinning hall is impressive to see and eat in. The food was suprisingly good and tasteful. Pricing is what i would expect for its location. The downfall here is wait you will most likely encounter to get a table (even with a reservation) The problem is there are much more people than tables or staff to wait on them. Prime times between 5 and 7 just after sunset, the lobby is overrun with people coming in to eat. This is the only place to get a sit down dinner . Long wait times can happen quickly. We had a reservation for 6.30 pm and showed up on time only to be tolled there were 8 tables ahead of us. should be an hour. Ahhhhh Hungry we decided to eat at the deli and get pizza instead.
One way to avoid this , is to pre-order a pizza from the phone in your room (they will deliver it to you). Or you can try to eat early or late.
the area here is just simply amazing. I enjoyed the trails just outside the lodge doors. The viewpoints here are fantastic. they have gardrails so no worries. The best part is you can see everything without having to wait your turn like that on the south rim. Sometimes you got the trail almost to yourself.
In conclusion i would most definetly stay here again. Peaceful relaxing and of course the view. enjoy....................

Room Tip: Western cabins with full canyon view are hard to come by and only a few of them #306 shares the lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mountiamsandcanyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    759
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
657
971
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in one room cabin with bath which was small but adequate since we were only there for one night and wanted to be out hiking and enjoying the canyon. The bed was adequate and close to the main lodge where we had dinner. It's not the Ritz but that's not what we went looking for anyway. These cabins and motels at the north rim book early but we were lucky enough to get in on a cancellation. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep checking back if they say they have no vacancy. We did and lucked out on a cancellation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JN1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
266 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

While I have visited the North Rim several times, and used to work on the South Rim, I have not stayed in these cabins since 1976. In the last week of the season, most nights were sold out, and I decided to book what was available for one night, on Sunday, driving up from my home in Flagstaff. The hotel staff were most cordial and welcoming and I was assigned Pioneer Cabin #221, on eof the less elaborate ones. It was a pleasant surprise. Be aware that this is not some cutesy B& B or boutique hotel - it is a log cabin. One double bed and a single, desk and chair and a 3/4 bath. Basic, yes, but for the type of place it is, I loved it, with the rough hewn logs and ceiling beams. The electric heater worked fine. See my title above? Exactly why I liked it so much - old fashioned with character. I was quite pleased with my dinner in the main dining room, another throwback to the past and it was doing a roaring business after 8:30pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Views out over the Grand Canyon from the rear patio at rearof restaurant. Good for sunrise viewing. We stayed only one night in a wooden log cabin after crossing the canyon rim to rim.
Good restaurant, roomy cabin - family sized.We stayed in cabin 152/154. I have put average for value as we were in a Ramblers Party all in holiday so not sur eof the cost/ value aspect. A wonderful spot though with north rim walks on hand.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were there at the end of the season, but it was full all the time. Our cabins were attached and were quite pleasant. The lobby, with its view of the canyon is spectacular and the main restaurant is an great room with surprisingly wonderful food and top-tier service. My satay chicken was the best I've ever had. The hikes around and into the canyon are beyond description, but my feeling is that this is one of the top three wonders of the world. I also much prefer the north rim to the south rim; more trees, fewer people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed in a Wst Cabin, 349. Closed to ice machine, car park, rim and Lodge. Room cosy and quite acceptable for the price. The atmosphere at the North Rim is different to the South - less frenetic and more lay backed. The children liked this place better as it felt more isolated - it is! Views from the terrace at sunset spectacular. Food was mediocre, although breakfast in the dining room was nice, despite the pushy-types wanting a window table. I pity the staff putting up with these type of people, the first we struck in the USA.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We arrived at the end of the road at around 1 pm on a Tuesday after a 5 hour drive from Las Vegas (Be aware that State Troopers are everywhere along the route). Check in was easy. Parking is first come, first served so once we had a space we didn't move the car.

Our first view of the cabins was exciting as we had never stayed anywhere like this. They are real log cabins that have been broken into two rooms each with a connecting door between. I think they have been there quite a while but a modern bathroom has been added to each room, shower only. NO AIR CONDITIONING. In fact, the weather in August was quite mild and although it didn't rain while we were there, there was rain on the drive. There were both a double and a single bed in our room, coffee maker, desk and chair and that's about it. There were very few electric outlets so if you have a lot of chargeable items, the one essential accessory I would recommend bringing is a power strip.

The canyon is beautiful and there are many trails for walking along the rim. We saw a doe and her fawn on one hike. Remember that the lodge is at 8,300 ft. (2,530 m.)and so hiking is literally a breathtaking endeavor of it's own. The lodge offers a special chuck wagon dinner and show for about $30. It was fun and allowed us to see more of the area without walking.

They also have several lectures per day about the canyon, wildlife and conservation efforts. The talks are conducted by park rangers at the canyon overlook and are very good. Children are encouraged to get their Junior Ranger badges. Each night we were there, a telescope was available and we saw Jupiter and Mars. There's no WiFi at the lodge but my "smart" phone worked fine. We used "Google Sky" to identify various constellations. Unfortunately, a full moon kept us from seeing the milky way.

The lodge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and there is also a deli where you can get food during the day. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the lodge, and had lunch from the deli but were happy that we brought some snacks with us. There is a bar (mornings it serves coffee) next to the lodge and prices were reasonable considering the venue. There are also two souvenir shops where you can get almost anything canyon related.

In all, we enjoyed our stay. The rooms, as you can imagine were small but they were warm and we didn't spend much time in them except to sleep. I would recommend this place for anyone who wants a front row seat to one of the wonders of the natural world. We will go back.

Room Tip: Book early. We booked 3 months in advance and got some of the last available (and smaller) rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amsr o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,798 reviews
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing