We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better for a National Park?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could have been better for a National Park?”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The air conditioning wasnt working and we nearly died in the night!! a couple of others in our tour party had the same problem! NOT GOOD. The whole experience (NOT including the room) was amazing and we cannot understand why in such a special place the accommodation was sub standard?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    776
    398
    138
    62
See reviews for
666
990
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I started looking into reserving a rim side Western cabin back in Feb 2012 for my trip this June. I contacted the reservations area and was told that the cabin with the best view of the canyon was #306. I called June 1, 2012 and got the reservation made. Upon checking in the clerk said "wow you have the best cabin". Went to check the cabin and indeed the view was awesome. One complaint I would have is getting your luggage to the cabins. There is no near by parking so you have to walk a good distance with your luggage and in my case, coolers. The parking lot is also used by hikers and visitors not staying at the lodge. Had called for a porter to meet us, take us to the car, get the luggage and then back to the cabin. We were told 10-15 minutes, then the porter called and said 1 hour. 1 1/2 hours later we called and were told he was having problems with a bus tour.....not to happy by that time. But back to the cabin, I will say the price was up there, but how often do you get to sit on your porch, in a rocking chair and nothing blocking you view of the majestic canyon???? The cabin also had a gas fireplace that had a simple timer you turned for the logs to light. It was sued the first night there since it was chilly. I have been to the South Rim, but the North Rim is breath-taking. There were less people, less congestion, and pure silence. I highly recomend this rim over the South as well as the Rim Cabins for their view.

Room Tip: You want to ask for Rim Cabin 306 as early as possible for the view and that there are no sidewalks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustangjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The accommodations were adequate,but a little more rustic than what we were expecting. The restaurant was scenic, the food was good, but the prices were moderately oh the high side. One tip, MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS BEFORE YOU ARRIVE. We checked in at 2pm, immediately went to the restaurant to make reservations and the earliest we could get was 9:30PM.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in cabin #306, which is one of the 4 "rim-view" Western Cabins that are closest to the lodge, and closest to the actual rim. I believe there are a handful of additional rim-view cabins that sit back slightly from the rim, and of course there are quite a few other Western Cabins that are near the rim, The views were amazing, we actually modified our sunset/sunrise plans and sat on our porch instead of driving to one of the viewpoints. When we checked in, the lady helping us commented that she "could live in that cabin"...now I agree with her - I think #306 is likely the best cabin on the north rim, and there aren't any rooms at El Tovar (south rim) this close to the rim, so this, in my opinion, is the best room at the entire Grand Canyon. I visited with the folks at cabin #301, which looked to me to be the next best cabin - their view was outstanding also, but I would give #306 a slight edge. The magazine "Arizona Highways" agrees with me - they listed #306 as the best in the park.

The lodge itself was great, we enjoyed seeing and reading about the history of the park. We had dinner at the the lodge, and thought the food was really good, a bit expensive maybe but the view out the window more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We recently stayed in a Frontier Cabin at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. What a disappointment! For $137 (including tax), we got half of a "historic" duplex log cabin with double bed plus a twin be. The cabin is truly the original log cabin dating from the early 1900's I assume with ceiling and walls of dark stained logs with mortared joint. The windows appeared to also be the original ones with hinged panels with interior hinged screens. While historic, it is truly uncomfortable and depressing to stay in. Only barely adequate lighting is provided so the dark walls and ceiling create a cave atmosphere. The windows, with broken hinges, desperately need to be replaced since the wooden frames are of questionable condition and appearance, and provide little ventilation unless you open them and the accompanying heavy (and ugly dark) curtains completely. Unfortunately, this provides a view of the cabin interior to the endless stream of tourists who seem to be walking by all hours of the day and night. Of course since the cabins are historic, there are no fans (much less a/c) to move the air so you just suffer or become exhibitionists.

The biggest problem however is the complete lack of soundproofing between the cabins. With the cabin we occupied, the adjoining half cabin had a similar arrangement only in reverse so the double bed in each cabin is butted against the same adjoining wall. Since this wall is again "historic", nothing has been done to limit the noise between the two cabins. Every fart, groan, laugh, uttered word, curse, etc. from one half of the cabin is heard in the other half. Accompanying this undesired neighbor noise is the chatter coming from outside the cabin by the wandering crowds of people, most of whom speak in foreign languages and seem to be desperately searching for their cabins and picked our location to have endless discussions on which direction to head.

Of course, being historic, the cabins don't have television which is probably a good thing with the poor soundproofing. Having tv's in cabins would probably result in each cabin having to turn their volume up to the maximum to drown out the sound from the adjacent 20 cabins. Or create arguments over which channel to watch so there would be no competing sound bites.

So if you are a hiker planning an early start in the morning for a rim to rim hike or maybe a family hoping to sleep in the next morning, be sure to plan your schedule with your adjacent cabin mates due to the closeness and intimacies of the twin historic cabin arrangement, your schedule will become their schedule and visa versa whether you want that or not.

Let's be honest. The North Rim Lodge area is not a wilderness area. Maintaining the original cabins does not enhance the North Rim experience. In my opinion, the historic cabins should be removed and replaced with a modern "lodge" of whatever design the NPS desires but at least make it comfortable with amenities such as a/c, TV, wifi and up to date construction so that you receive the privacy that you expect. Then the NPS can charge fees which represent the quality the customer receives. Of course, the NPS will object to TV's and WIFI since having these would provide another activity for their guests at night would greatly reduce their alcohol and restaurant
sales,

Another topic which should be discussed is why do food items and gasoline cost up to 100% more in a National Park than outside the park, but this can wait

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBoyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
1,196 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Beauty cannot begin to describe this old place that sits on the edge of the north rim, the buffalo burger was good and the servers alert. The photos I have do not do justice to it's splendor and charm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

What a great place but they really need to do something about there food areas of the hotel. The restaurant was badly run with substandard food for the price. Also the deli was unappealing to look . After saying that the accommodation was great and very clean. Also above all the views are STUNNING, sooooo in short.......please go here BUT take a picnic dinner

Room Tip: we had a frontier cabin which was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,259 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,891 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing