We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, nice resort but service could be better !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Awesome location, nice resort but service could be better !”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The lodge is very easy to find - the lobby is located right at the end of Highway 67. The location is just awesome - right on the edge of the Grand Canyon. The lobby is breathtaking and so is the view from there (adjacent to both sides of the lobby are two huge patios where you can sit and enjoy the view and there is also a nice view from the dining room).
The staff at the front desk was very friendly and check-in was smooth.
The parking lot is located directly across the motel section of the resort (where we had our room).
The room was pretty nice and clean (but keep in mind: no tv, no wifi in the room). We had a small refrigerator although - came in very handy. Our room was very quiet.
But during our first night, we had a small visitor: a very small grey mouse (we called the front-desk but they said that this species is no health risk - they offered to send somebody up to set a trap, but we refused and said they should do that the next morning). We also told the front desk the next morning where the mouse hole wos located (cause we found it in the meantime). But the whole day nobody showed up to set a trap. And also nobody made up the room (but we did get new towls - pretty weird).
The second night the mouse didn't show up, because we put all the food inside our suitcases.
The price for this room was reasonable but service could be much better - the location although can't be beat - away from all the crowds down at the south rim.
We will return for sure !

Room Tip: You have to stay in a "rim side cabin" to be near the rim. Please keep in mind that the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    792
    404
    141
    66
See reviews for
682
1,010
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had the opportunity to stay in a Rim Side cabin on the North Rim. What a delightful three days we spent there! While the cabins were rustic, with no TV, no airconditioning, no microwave, the fireplace made up for it. In fact In spite of it being June 24, the high temperature did not get out of the 60s. We lit our gas fireplace, made a few cocktails, and sat in front of the fire and just enjoyed. The beds were comfortable, the cabin was worn, but clean. The rocking chairs on the porch gave us a view that couldn't be beat. If you are hoteler, then this is probably not the place for you. Being lovers of nature and the great outdoors, we thought it was wonderful. We did have to make our reservations a year in advance, but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: When you are booking ask for Rim side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhicks1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

It's well worth the drive to get to the North Rim...We only had one night on our way to Utah. We chose a frontier cabin. A real log cabin just a short walk from the lodge.

Cabins with views of the Canyon book years in advance and some have porches with chairs. Ours did not but it had rustic charm that was worth the money..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was a cabin in the woods, on the edge of the grand canyon, built almost 100 years ago. It is rustic, charming, and our porch was a mere 10 steps from the edge of the rim. OMG! It is a chance to spend a few hours with the majesty and wonder of mother nature and appreciate the craftsmanship of times past. Expect to be awed, but don't expect modern construction. We can't speak highly enough of the staff, either. Everyone was so helpful, friendly, and kind.

Room Tip: How could there be a bad room at the freaking Grand Canyon??!! Be grateful if you get a reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westrafters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed in grand Canyon lodge. Since there were two of us we got a half of a cabin. The first night was great but the second night a couple was placed in the adjoining half. You could hear everything they said... The door did not block any sound. I could hear the man snoring all night. The shower tile had mildew growing on the walls. The food was fair. You could not cook in room so all meals had to e bought at the lodge. The lodge accommodations were a disappointment. The lodge itself had amazing views and was Great to hang out in after hiking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having read the TA reviews months ago, I opted to book one of the Pioneer (partial)Rim view cabins and got #73. It had two bedrooms, one a queen and one a twin bunkbed separated by a 3/4 bath. Also had a desk, mini-fridge, and coffee pot. It was as rustic as I expected it would be, but the screens were all tight so no canyon critters got in. (Sorta reminded me of some Northern Canada fishcamp cabins I've stayed in, but alot cleaner) Being a rimside cabin, there was only a single path that dead-ended at our frontdoor so we did not have the hoards of tourists constantly walking by our cabin like the several rows of non-rim cabins farther up the hill; which is closer to the parking lot and main lodge traffic. The west side of our cabin backended along the canyon with only a hiking trail several yards down the hillside, so made for quiet evenings. Since our cabin was not a duplex; we did not have the adjacent connecting room voices, noises, flushes, etc to contend with, so our stay was quite peaceful.

The North Rim main lodge is where you check-in (but what immediately grabs your eyeballs is the jaw-dropping view of the grand canyon thru the floor-to-ceiling tall windows in the lounge area below. The two huge side patios also offer spectacular views.) Luckily there were no 40-person tour buses trying to all check-in the same time as us, so the check-in staff were efficient and friendly. We requested a porter who drove us to the parking lot, loaded us and our luggage, cooler, etc on a golf cart and drove down the long hillside to our cabin. Gave him a well-earned tip for saving us several trips on our own.

The North rim had everything we needed foodwise. The Lodge dining room (another review). The Deli in the Pines for really good pizza & also salads, sandwiches(opens 7AM). The Roughrider Saloon which was a full-service bar on one side (open til 11 PM) with local microbrew drafts and a espresso coffee shop on the other side (opens 5:30AM) with giant breakfast burritos for sale. Theres also a large souvenir shop and postoffice. I was told the nearby campground has a laundry. You can book canyon mulerides at a desk in the main Lodge, something I highly recommend. Also some evenings park rangers/volunteers setup telescopes on the Lodge's patios to view stars, Saturn, etc.

I have been to the South Rim, which is breath-taking, but so is the North rim. The North's plus is it's less accessable, so there's fewer tourbuses, less congestion and alot more silence. The biggest negative was due to the remoteness, all the facilities seemed to be understaffed. Housekeeping, foodservice workers, waiters, bartenders, cleanliness of the deli dining area, public restrooms, etc. Example - there was only one poor bartender when 12 hikers came into the Saloon one afternoon all wanting Bloody Mary's; talk about a backlog in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTR_Again_IM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The North Rim is just beautiful & you really need to stay there to get the full appreciation of it. We stayed in the Frontier cabins for 2 nights. The cabin was really nice, clean & well maintained. The cabins adjoin & you can hear everything even at a whisper so if your neighbor is getting up at 5AM so are you. That being said we really loved the cabins & the bed was very comfortable. The front desk is great Nancy was especially nice & assisted us with hikes & information about the hotel. There is a guest book in each of the rooms although it is hidden in the desk drawer - i accidentally found it on our last day there & wish i had been able to read it upon arrival. It had great information about the property as well as the history. Nancy was nice enough to make me copies of the information as she did not even know that this book existed in the room. The dining experience leaves a lot to be desired. I did know this before we went as i read other reviews. I guess that they do not care as you are a captive audience. There is too little help, & no leadership or if there is it is very poor. It is prices but the food is good & i really do not mind paying if the service would be there. Breakfast should be done very different. The tour groups should be made to get there at 6AM so by 6:30 the regular people have a fair shot. We wanted to get an early start so we got there at 6:30 & it was a mob scene with little direction. The line for the buffet was enormous (it is a much better value than the menu but you should not go til 7 or 7:15 when the dining room clears out. Maybe if they are not going to change the times that the groups eat then the front desk may want to clue people in to that fact. The saloon wait was ridiculous - one bartender/coffee maker to serve a lot of people - we just left. We did have a lot of fun at the cookout & it is all you can eat so it is a good value considering. Not a lot of options unless you want to drive out of the park. We would stay as the North Rim is spectacular, lodging is very nice, hiking is great. Maybe some day they will improve the dining experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ROTNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,348 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing