We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better experience than the south rim”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Ogdensburg, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A better experience than the south rim”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Yes, it's still somewhat crowded, but you can experience the canyon without a Disneyland atmosphere and fewer tour buses. The larger cabins are rustic and not luxurious, but they are very clean, adequate, and just a few steps from the rim views - they give you a feel for awesome wilderness around you, and that's what you are there for.

Food in the dining room was below average, and the service was marginal; but again there are a zillion visitors in addition to hotel guests. We were hiking and trail riding, and we found the breakfast items in the coffee bar and the deli lunch (although pricey) to be quite adequate (try the scones). You can take your food to the rim-side patios and soak up the view while you munch. (much better view than the dining room) You are there to experience the canyon, and if you can be a little independent, you can really do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    792
    404
    141
    66
See reviews for
682
1,010
65
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked a rim side cabin expecting views of canyon. However, there are too many trees between the cabins and the rim for you to see anything. There are about 3 with views but, seemingly, these get booked well over a year in advance. Very old furnishings and in need of major overhaul. Expensive for what they offer but I guess they think you've no choice so get away with it. Fridge in room but no crockery or cutlery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in cottage #30. The lower numbers are located closer to the main building. The #30 cottage are built as two separate parts for two separate families. You enter the cottage from either side to your private room and shower/toilet. The cottages are small but cozy. However, the walls are thin so you will hear much from your neighbour. Looking on what you get for the dollars spent, it is extremely expensive... but if you consider the location close to the rim it is almost worth it. During cold periods, the heating is insufficient. Also, there is no A/C so warm periods can be very warm. It is very hard to make a reservation. We made our 7 month in advance.

Room Tip: The lower nu,bersa are located close to the rim. If you got the money and the time, go for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Of course, the cabins (we had a frontier cabin), are small and noisy and made of wood. And yes, you can hear your neighbors. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors. But hey, you're on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon! The cabin was perfect for 1 night, nice and cool, with a nice bathroom and shower and 2 beds. We slept like babies. And woke up to see the sun rise above the canyon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my second and last trip to the Grand Canyon for an overnight stay. It's really sad. I love the scenery and the National Landmark it is. Unfortunately, they have priced themselves out of 99% of familes being able to afford to stay there. The government always gets on TV after a national disaster and say how they will not let anyone price gouge the public. Well heck, take a look at what you are doing at the National Parks. I rented a "Frontier Cabin." $135 a night. One double bed and a single. No room for luggage. Luckily I was traveling alone and used the single bed for my motorcycle back pack. No A/C! For $135 I would at least like a fan, NOPE! The shower was as small as I had ever seen. You almost had to step out to turn and get back in. If I had paid $40 maybe I could understand. This was the most expensive lodging I paid for on a five week bike trip.

Check in is done by pencil and paper. There was only two older ladies and they were in no hurry. I stood in line over 40 mins to check in.

There is no way an "average" family can ever afford to go there and spend the night. The US Govt is really limiting who can go. Make it affordable for all families.

I woke up early because of all the foot traffic from the helpers and you have to leave your windows open in 90 degee heat. I was greeted by a chipmunk and small green lizard on the floors. The chipmunk had gotten into my food. Big cracks around the cabin.

It's a darn shame the government allows these contractors to ripoff the public like this.

Room Tip: Stay outside the Grand Canyon and drive in for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HarleyJetDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Views are magnificent ,restaurant was very good.The day we arrived in September ( from hot Las Vegas) was really cold and windy, so advise to bring jacket & jeans. Accommodation, clean & comfortable. There is no TV not a an issue but there was no WiFi which was very inconvenient.

Room Tip: Book 12 months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely log cabin located right in the Park. Amenities were basic but certainly met the need. Very clean and quiet location. Restaurant staff seemed tired and worn out from summer season. Cabins Convenient to trails. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortysolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,348 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing