We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

When I called I got the last cabin so I had no idea what we were getting into. Turned out to be the best place we stayed durning our trip. It had. 1 single bed and 1 double bed I know odd. Smallish bathroom but nicely furnished. The night was cool and we left the windows open. Quiet and well maintained grounds, the tall pines are just so relaxing and breath taking.

The lodge has one restaurant mad you MUST hVe dinner reservations. The food was ok, but not the best. However, the restaurant is really trying to be something it isn't,and. Little off putting. Breakfast is both menu and a buffet and actually really very good.

The other facilities in the park also great: gift shop, visitor center and general store (only place for wi-if). All we're well stocked.

I want for go ack and spend a couple of nights and really enjoy the environment.

Room Tip: A must if you are doing the North Rim
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    761
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
660
973
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I realize the drive in to the North Rim is long...but it is so worth it to experience the North Rim - the quieter, less visited rim. While the lodge is the "only game in town" it is a great place to stay. We have never been fortunate enough to stay in the Western cabins (they book up a year in advance) but we have stayed in both the Pioneer and Frontier cabins and they are clean, compact and fun. Pioneer cabins are closer to the rim and the view, but if they are sold out and you end up with a Frontier cabin - you will still have a beautiful, awe-inspiring night at the canyon. One last note - MAKE YOUR DINNER RESERVATIONS WHEN YOU MAKE YOUR ROOM RESERVATIONS! There is really only one dining room (and one "pizza store") so it fills up every night with the bus trip people getting dinner with their room/stay. We saw a number of people getting "reservations" at 9:30 at night, since that was all that was available. Book early to eat at a reasonable time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
386 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This lodge has spectacular views of the Grand Canyon from the less-traveled side. The Pioneer Cabins were not particularly clean and were quite rugged - even before the power failure that drove us out a day early. There are no accommodations that equal even a chain motel. That's a pity because it's a gorgeous view and deserves a better overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Yes, it's still somewhat crowded, but you can experience the canyon without a Disneyland atmosphere and fewer tour buses. The larger cabins are rustic and not luxurious, but they are very clean, adequate, and just a few steps from the rim views - they give you a feel for awesome wilderness around you, and that's what you are there for.

Food in the dining room was below average, and the service was marginal; but again there are a zillion visitors in addition to hotel guests. We were hiking and trail riding, and we found the breakfast items in the coffee bar and the deli lunch (although pricey) to be quite adequate (try the scones). You can take your food to the rim-side patios and soak up the view while you munch. (much better view than the dining room) You are there to experience the canyon, and if you can be a little independent, you can really do it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked a rim side cabin expecting views of canyon. However, there are too many trees between the cabins and the rim for you to see anything. There are about 3 with views but, seemingly, these get booked well over a year in advance. Very old furnishings and in need of major overhaul. Expensive for what they offer but I guess they think you've no choice so get away with it. Fridge in room but no crockery or cutlery.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in cottage #30. The lower numbers are located closer to the main building. The #30 cottage are built as two separate parts for two separate families. You enter the cottage from either side to your private room and shower/toilet. The cottages are small but cozy. However, the walls are thin so you will hear much from your neighbour. Looking on what you get for the dollars spent, it is extremely expensive... but if you consider the location close to the rim it is almost worth it. During cold periods, the heating is insufficient. Also, there is no A/C so warm periods can be very warm. It is very hard to make a reservation. We made our 7 month in advance.

Room Tip: The lower nu,bersa are located close to the rim. If you got the money and the time, go for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buzztr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Of course, the cabins (we had a frontier cabin), are small and noisy and made of wood. And yes, you can hear your neighbors. We were lucky to have quiet neighbors. But hey, you're on the North Rim of the Grand Canyon! The cabin was perfect for 1 night, nice and cool, with a nice bathroom and shower and 2 beds. We slept like babies. And woke up to see the sun rise above the canyon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing