We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It’s true what most people say about the Grand Canyon Lodge – no frills. The cabins are sparse, not a TV to be found anywhere, and if you manage to get a 3G signal you better not move!! But hey, that’s part of the charm.

Check-in was fairly quick, which sort of surprised me considering they don’t have a whole lot of people at the front desk. But hey, I wasn’t going to look a gift horse in the mouth!! The woman who checked me in was super friendly and gave me a rundown of everything that was available to me. The part that is a drag is the location of the parking lot in relation to where the cabins are. You can’t park in front of the lodge when checking in, but there is a 20-min parking area near the cabins, which may or may not help you depending once again where your cabin is. Either way, plan on LOTS of walking!

I was in an ADA cabin which was a tad big larger than the other cabins. Once again, it’s rustic, but it did have a mini fridge which was awesome. I was expecting the cabins to be frigid, but once the heat was turned on it was hot! Kudos to the cleaning crew, I couldn’t get over how spotless the room was. I probably slept better there than any other hotel I stayed in during my trip.

If you want to grab a good spot to watch the sunset you’ll need to get there early…I mean real early. There aren’t a lot of seats and once they fill up you’ll have to either stand behind everyone or fan out along the numerous trails that surround the lodge which come to think of it isn’t such a bad thing.

There aren’t many choices when it comes to eating – there’s the snack bar which didn’t appear the greatest, the dining room in the lodge which serves good food, but isn’t very large and you may find yourself eating dinner at 9pm. There’s also the Village Saloon where you can grab a beer and some pizza, but both times I was there there was only one bartender and it could be a long wait for a beer if everyone in front of you wants a mixed drink. Remember, there isn’t much around so the bar can get rather crowded.

There’s no WiFi at the lodge, but you can get it at the Grand Canyon store two miles away. The connection is slow and at times you’ll want to pull your hair out, but if you need to check email or update your Facebook status, you can get a connection, albeit a slow one.

If you have the opportunity and your wallet is deep enough it’s well worth the stay, but remember, you literally are in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJdudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    759
    393
    135
    62
See reviews for
657
971
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Everything about our stay here was amazing. Room was just the right size with a nice bathroom. And views were up, down and any which direction! Night sky was nothing like I have seen before. Food was great. We will be back for this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed in a Western Rim View Cabin # 309 . Great views - right on rim and open park area. We had read that # 306 was best cabin - but the staff says 309 is - and we agree!! Really cozy feeling - clean - comfy - peacefull. Very rustic. Main Lodge & Dining room are something to see. Great food. Was a full moon when we were there - not so good for star gazing - but beautiful - like a giant spotlight in & on canyon.

Room Tip: All of the Western Rim View Cabins are nice - but wouldn't recommend #301. It's right besid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEI1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here in August in a frontier cabin which was directly on the rim. The view was magnificient.The cabin was clean (except for the moquette that I would take away). The bathroom was small but clean and with all that you need. There is no words to describe what you can see from the window directly on the rim. The dining on the restaurant is acceptable with a spectacular view.

Room Tip: room near the rim
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duk65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here just before the end of the tourist season at the Grand Canyon. And what a treat. This is a historic hotel, built right on the rim where you can look over the edge. Great trails start and end here, along with great stories and friends. Cowboy bar with a fitting tribute to President Roosevelt, with limited hours at the restaurant to give it that authentic, old fashioned tradition. You stay in the cabins that are rustic and gems on the rim. Expect and authentic, historical stay.

Room Tip: Get up at dawn to see the sunrise. It is worth the hike and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCutlazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in one of their Western standard view cabins and ate in both the Lodge Dining Room and the Deli in the Pines. The cabin accommodations and the lodge were rustic and very much in keeping with the surroundings. Everything was clean and in good repair. We found the north rim to be far preferable to the south...far fewer crowds and no traffic to speak of. But the trade-off is that there are far fewer creature comforts and amenities if that is what you are looking for. The dining was acceptable...pretty good actually.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed in a frontier cabin. The cabin is rustic, but charming. Beds are comfortable with soft linens and fluffy pillows. Bathroom is shower only (no tub) but clean and efficient. No tv which is not a problem for us as watching television was the last thing we wanted to do. Only minuses are that the walls are rather thin meaning that we heard our neighbor's conversations with remarkable clarity. Also, we were visited by a mouse, which is apparently not unusual. However, if you can overlook these two things, you will have a memorable stay. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
11.2 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing