We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We loved the place!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were quite lucky to find an available cabin that fit our schedule in this lone lodging facility on the North Rim and booked it immediately. The experience exceeded even our expectations.

We arrived just a bit early, but they had some cabins available and were willing to check us in. Unfortunately, we found our assigned cabin had not been cleaned. No problem - the manager checked his list and gave us a choice of several others, and I chose one that was no more than 20 paces from the rim trail.

No TV in these cabins, no internet, and we didn't even miss them. We had an excellent one night stay in the cabin, which was spacious and clean. The bathroom was small, but the water/shower worked better than in your average motel.

We enjoyed it so much, we stayed a bit later in the morning than we had planned just to sip coffee with the windows open and enjoy the quiet and cool along the rim. Terrific experience.

Room Tip: Reserve cabins as early as possible, your best choice may be on a weekday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeatherWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    809
    410
    146
    67
See reviews for
704
1,026
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The view from the lodge balcony is spectacular! And from the dining room as well. But I had a supposedly fancy cabin and it was a bit old and tired. Comfortable enough but tatty around the edges. The cabins are pretty much on top of each other as well. I aggree with the other comments as well that there can be a nice worn look and bad worn look and the lounges in the main lounge are definitely on the bad worn look side.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a frontier cabin at the canyon lodge.

The cabin was clean, had a queen bed, a twin bed, a small table and a even smaller bathroom. and that's is! no air condition, no TV, no internet. but we didn't missed those things...

The view at the north rim is just fantastic. and it's only a 2 min walk from your cabin to the rim. we saw a wonderful sunset at the terrace of the lodge. sunrise was at 5.14am which was a bit to early for us :-)

the lodge has one main restaurant with a great view and good food, but a bit pricy. also there is a deli and a grocer store.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank schaaner1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The North Rim is more remote and quiet, which is seen in it's losing options. You can camp, get a decent cabin or a bit fancier cabin (there are a few motel rooms too). I rented a Frontier cabin. It's basically a log cabin with a good bed, comfy blankets, a small but good tiled bathroom, and a great location, walking to anywhere. It was great! The ceiling fan kept it more than cool at night. I didn't need heat in June but there was a heater. It's not fancy, but it's great rustic fun and very clean. If you expect fancy, go to the south rim, this is the remote north rim. It's rustic and plain and if you are okay with that, you'll be totally happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Two nights in one of the motel rooms. They are small and very basic and the bed was hard. The main lodge building was no more than okay and we felt that there was a lack of care about the place as a whole with it seeming rather rundown. For example it was obvious that the restrooms were not regularly checked as the men's was dirty with paper all over the floor. We ate one night in the main restaurant and although my prime rib was fine my wife's fish dish was tough! Also a bit pricey. Second night we went on the 'Cook-out' which was a complete rip-off with a pathetic amount of third rate food which was very rushed, (eating finished in 15 minutes) and a pretty average pair of entertainers. The whole event took place in a tent behind a service station ten minutes from the lodge. Total of 75 minutes from start to finish. Avoid this at all costs.
The whole place could have been a really memorable experience when visiting such a natural wonder by the visit was marred by the fairly mediocre Grand Canyon Losge.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntersville, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights on our cross country national park road trip. We booked a rim side pioneer cabin a year in advance and were not disappointed. We checked in a little later than was expected, but the young ladies working the desk were very helpful and went above and beyond their duties to get us into our cabin. Contrary to other reviews that I read previously, our cabin did have a decent view of the canyon. It may not have been the most grand, but was more than I was expecting given what I had read. The north rim is much more secluded and tranquil in comparison to the south rim and offered a completely different experience than it's counterpart. I would definitely recommend booking a year in advance as well as a pizza from the Deli in the Pines and drink from the Roughrider Saloon.

Room Tip: Book a year in advance for anything rim view or rim side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Grand Canyon is amazing, and there are many opportunities to enjoy it, but it was so sad to see this amazing beautiful lodge with big 3 story picture windows with extraordinary views, so poorly attended to. Big leather chairs and sofas were strewn about where ever someone wanted to move them, table tops were dirty and left with last nights trash. This room could be so inviting if nicely appointed with rugs, stationery furnishings and kept clean. It was sad to see people milling about but not sitting down to enjoy this lovely place. Even the terraces were not well appointed, chairs all willy nilly as though no one cared about the guests. The opportunity for a magnificent view when walking in is obscured by stuff in the way (think how wonderful walking into the lodge at Grand Tetons). Our hotel room was minimal, but clean and comfortable, wanted to spend more time there than the lodge.

Room Tip: Most cabins are removed from the lodge and the rim, and although the hotel rooms are too, they are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
10.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,432 reviews
16.0 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,707 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
10.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim

Property: Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim
Address: End of Highway 67, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86052
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The more remote North Rim offers up its beauty and solitude to those willing to make a little longer trek to cooler temperatures and greener vegetation of the Grand Canyon's less visited rim. Time means little here in this Nirvana for nature lovers…abundant forest beauty and wrap-around scenic splendor as sheer walls hold in the Colorado River a mile below. The only developed lodging within the National Park’s North Rim boundaries this historic treasure has cabins and lodging tucked into the trees and dotting the canyon edge. The historic dining room with wall to ceiling windows gives diners the unique opportunity to take in the Canyon's views and tasteful regional and sustainable delights for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Reservations are recommended. For guests seeking a unique remembrance of their visit to this special place, there is a gift store and convenience store located at the North Rim. Authentic Native American handcrafts, jewelry and merchandise that is U.S.A. made by local and regional artists provide an array of gift items for guests to the Grand Canyon. Smell the pines, listen to the fluttering leaves of quaking aspen, and keep an eye out for a California condor, the largest bird in North America. The North Rim of the Grand Canyon is only open from mid May to mid October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Lodge - North Rim Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Canyon Grand Lodge North Rim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing