We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“without a doubt....add to your special occasion itinerary”
Review of Bucky O'Neil Suite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bucky O'Neil Suite
Southwest
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“without a doubt....add to your special occasion itinerary”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The oldest building/cabin on the rim, since absorbed into and accessed via inside hallway of Bright Angel lodge building. Various character traits fitting it's age including creaky wood floors, updated ski lodge wood interior and warm master bedroom with firm king bed with seperate bath. Gas fireplace on timer warmed the spirits for stuffing backpacks and helped warm the two room oasis, assisted by 3 fans we found in the closet, pre dozing. Refridgerator without freezer a plus for beverage and food storage. National Geographic Adventure website lists Bucky's at 15th of 15 top weird and wild "treasures" in the US National parks system ..."Coolest view from a lodge"...we couldn't agree more...enjoyed our early open door rim view, on a brisk morning, of a Creator's sunrise....perfect start to our backpack hike down to Bright Angel campground/Phantom Ranch for 25th wedding Anniversary celebration. ...down South Kaibab, up Bright Angel. We added a couple of photos....Cheers!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DesertCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herkimer
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at the Bucky O'Neil Cabin for a 40th Birthday celebration. An incredible, comfortable cabin with great history. Enjoyed the view from the cabin, the fireplace and spacious accomodations. We only give it a four for value, as its not cheap, but a once in a lifetime opportunity (for us at least). We saw 3 California Condor's flying out in front of the cabin. An incredible experience. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rte66roadtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2009

My husband and I stayed three nights in the Bucky O'Neil suite. We loved being 15 steps from the rim. We thought it was plenty private. It's funny, but as you walk along the rim of the canyon, the people are very quiet. I think everyone is in awe of the spot they are in. We were never disturbed by outside noise. The fireplace did work when we were there, but it has been a couple of years. The ambiance is so nice, you don't really need the fireplace.....just light a candle or two. We will book the same suite on our next visit. No sleep walkers allowed though!

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlmiraGulchVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Staying at the Bucky O'Neil cabin made our Grand Canyon trip one of the best trips ever. My whole family loved it. We were right on the rim, so getting up to watch the sunrise over the canyon was delightful. We were there for several days, so having the cabin so close was an excellent "base" for our excursions. The service was wonderful as well. We took the train in and the hotel picked up and delivered our bags for us. Staying at this cabin, you are also right in the middle of the central tourist area, so when you walk out the front door (there's a "back door" as well) you should know that there are people out front reading the historic placard nearby. (But mainly just in the middle of the day, around lunchtime.) Most people were impressed and wondered how we had managed to stay there - booking over six months in advance is the answer. It was worth it. There are also smaller cabins nearby that are not as public (if that would suit you) but are still very close to the rim and the view.

  • Liked — Location and history
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2004

The cabin was nice. It was much larger than the others and the mini fridge came in handy. The bedroom and living room were spacious for a cabin. The fireplace did not work and they gave us a discount because of it. It is not a private tucked-away bungalow. Due to its historic nature (the oldest structure on the South Rim), location (about 15 feet from the Rim and on the Rim Trail), and the layout (attached to other cabins in a dormirtory type setting) it is not a place to be for peace and quiet. Though I was there for my honeymoon, we didn't mind the noise outside, due to the excitement of being in the cabin and all of the hiking we did. The El Tovar was a nice restaurant, I recommend the Turtle Dessert. The food in the Bright Angel Lodge wasn't bad. It was more or less diner food but adequate. The Fridge in the cabin was perfect for our early start on hikes and being able to store food and cold drinks. The Restaurants around the canyon are very crowded and waits could last an hour or more, so any way to avoid them for a few meals is recommended. The staff was nice, especially giving us a discount when the fireplace was not working. California Condors perch outside the cabin in the canyon. A lot of people saw the condors. Unfortunately we were not around for any sightings.

Helpful?
24 Thank TravelinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
2.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,342 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
2.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,683 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
3.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucky O'Neil Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucky O'Neil Suite

Property: Bucky O'Neil Suite
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Next to Bright Angel Lodge, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Also Known As:
Bucky o`Neil Hotel Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing