We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Rim Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We loved it here. We had campsite #15 that was right next to the Transept trail but it wasn't a problem for us. The trail isn't that busy and it was nice to wave to people as they started or completed their hikes. The sites near the rim go very quickly, my husband was on the computer ready to register as soon as reservations opened for the days we wanted. Check with the website and see when you can register for your dates-the sites near the canyon rim go quickly. The site was large and had nice shade and a beautiful view of the Transept canyon. The campstore has a good selection of grocery basics, beer, and camping supplies as well as t-shirts, mugs, toys etc. they also have coffee, drinks, pre-made sandwiches (which were pretty good) soft serve icecream etc. The prices were not bad considering that they are the only place nearby you can buy anything. The hike over to the lodge is about 1 1/2 miles from the campground (3 miles roundtrip) via the Transept trail and is a beautiful hike. I thought the restrooms were clean and well maintained and the people working at the campground were very nice. We loved it and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelprof57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights over the 4th of July in a small RV. Unfortunately we were under fire restrictions so there was no wood fire and no grilling. We had no camp stove so we had to do our cooking inside the motorhome. The 4th of July entertainment was a parade from the lodge through the campground provided by the employees, including water canons and Smokey the Bear.

We didn't want to move the motorhome so we walked to the lodge and back several time during our stay. It always was extremely busy around the lodge area and we were always very happy to get back to the campground.

There is a small, but well stocked store in the campground. They also have soft ice cream and nice coffee. There is also free Wi-Fi available. I know some people find this offensive, but we were on the road for 4 weeks and we had to find Wi-Fi every now and then to stay in contact. All the employees we came in contact with were extremely friendly

Room Tip: this campground fills up quickly so make your reservation early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The campground is well situated and my camp site was nice, but the bathroom is so dirty that it dashes all the good aspects. And it is all the more unacceptable that you have to pay for showers... Have a look on the pictures I took. I complained to the staff but they didn't care about it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adamas75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We camped here for 3 nights in June. We had a tent-only sight (T10) and we were happy there. The sites on the other side of the road are a little more private as we were sort of sandwiched between two parking areas but the areas weren't close enough for us to feel uncomfortable. There is a small shallow ravine behind the site and our son enjoyed playing there with some other kids. The tent pad is a sand box with very fine sand. At first we were afraid that the sand would be tracked everywhere but there was very little in our tent at the end of the three days. This site is not too far from the bathrooms (flush toilet and sink with soap) and near the general store. The general store had a good selection and we especially enjoyed the soft-serve ice cream as it was unusually hot! We didn't really even need our sleeping bags at night it was so warm. We were under fire-restrictions so we weren't able to have a campfire and that was kind of a bummer. We had to do our part to keep the park safe though!

The lodge was about a mile and a half walk from the campground (or a short drive) and we liked having that nearby especially since we couldn't cook over a fire and didn't have a camp stove. We had dinner there one night and breakfast one morning.

Our son took part in the Junior Ranger program while we were there and he was so proud to be sworn in at the end of the trip! It's great that they offer that type of program to keep the kids interested and involved.

We had a great time and will definitely return here again! If you are a tent camper I highly recommend the tent-only sites!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
1  Thank stevesgirl1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We opted for the North Rim rather than South and were so glad that we did! The campsites around the rim of the campground are spacious and either in the forest of pine and aspen or on the canyon rim. They are private and lovely. The path around the campground is great for biking and it is just a short distance to the lodge. In our travels through eight National Parks in California, Arizona, Utah and Wy, we thought this lodge had the most amazing view, good food, and yet still had a rustic feel. It is right on the rim. Try to get there early in the afternoon to snag a leather couch in the sun, looking out over the canyon. Have a drink.....and enjoy! Just a caution that after thinking I had come down with a virus, the camp director/manager informed me that I quite possibly had altitude sickness. He was right....and he had many suggestions that really helped. If, by chance, this happens to you, look for dehydration, headaches and flu like symptoms. Take it easy for a few days and perhaps even plan to go up a few days early to get acclimated and plan sight seeing for the third day instead of the first! This was one of our favorite campgrounds on the trip. They also have really cute cabins! Go early if you can....before June!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TahoeinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Make sure you get your online reservations in early (January) for this place. The tent only sites are great--quiet and right on the rim of the canyon. Evening ranger programs are terrific for families with children. Avoid the crowds and the mess of the South Rim for the starry skies and cool evenings of the North Rim!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Hadrian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

It's awful. The campsite is basically just a huge parking lot. There's coin op showers, laundry, free wi-fi, bathrooms, the whole nine yards. It's also so bright at night you can barely see the stars, there's people coming and going in their cars at all hours, and boatloads of tourists wandering around with headphones on and snapping the occasional off-hand cellphone pic.
Totally packed and crowded with most of the best trails closed down.
You might as well just stay in the nice hotels right on the Rim or a ways back up at the Ranger station.
Nothing like it used to be, and honestly, the crowding in the site and on the trails prevented me from getting even a moment of peace at night or during the day

Room Tip: Get a hotel on the Rim instead - this isn't a campground for people who like to camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
11.2 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,611 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
11.3 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,958 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
16.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Rim Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Rim Campground

Address: Arizona State Route 67, 1 mile north of Grand Canyon Lodge, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86022
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
North Rim Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
North Rim Grand Canyon
North Rim Hotel Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing