We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
North Rim Campground
Nearby Hotels
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$462
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yavapai Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maswik Lodge(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
El Tovar Hotel(Grand Canyon National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
97
52
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
52
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storegeneral storecoin operated showersshort walkdump stationmile tripfaced the roadpull through sitesgreat campsiteshower facilitypine treesflush toiletsgrand canyonjacob lakedrinking waterin advancefew steps
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked T5, a great pitch on the edge of the rim.
The site was great, the usual picnic table, fire pit and raised sand filled tent pitch (Not a norm but given the sudden deluges of water invaluable).
We loved the site and the whole atmosphere created by being so close to a wee bit of The Grand Canyon. We had fantastic views at both sunrise and sunset, the thunderstorms were an incidental which come with the season.
The campground shop is great and the facilities fine .............

Room Tip: Book your site 6 months in advance .................
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highlandcolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The campground's under taller trees and mostly shaded. The sites are mostly not strictly defined except in by the location of the fire pit and picnic table. The space between sites was fairly generous so even though the campground was full it did not seem crowded. Few sites seemed to have tent pads so for most there was no specified location for tents. If you look carefully you can see where twigs and debris have collected as a result of rain storm water flowing across the ground and try to find a place between flow paths. As far as I could tell there's no tent-specific sites and you could even end up sharing the same parking drive-out with a recreational vehicle, with one ending up pretty close to your tent. This didn't happen to us but it could have, so if you have choice in your site and it matters, review the sites first online. Fortunately there are strict times when RVs can run generators.

It's easy to get a tent stake in the ground.

You're never more than a few minute's walk from restrooms or water. The restrooms have a 3 stalls, 2 sinks with cold water, and a dual electric outlet which likely will be monopolized charging cellphones (not owning one I don't know if there's even any reception there). On that topic, there are charging outlets in a small covered area near the vending machines by the showers and laundry. This is nice to see as these days even if all you have is a humble camera as it is likely to be digital and need charging. There's a utility sink outside the restrooms. Small stone wall enclosures (I never did find out their full function) have a water tap, but should only be used to fetch water, not used as a washing station.

It's always hard to do TA's ratings with a campground:

Service - This isn't a "service" type of place.
Value - Cheap if you're 6 people per site, not so if you're the only person. Well, cheaper than the lodge, and cheaper than driving to the nearest alternative.
Sleep quality - depends upon the number of sleeping pads you bring. Clear the rocks and one will do.
Location - well, you're IN the national park!
Fitness center - try the treadmaster called the Kaibab Trail.
Swimming pool - a bit of a hike (Colorado River).

Overall rating based upon... well this is a campground and it's okay as such. I'm not here to spend all day sitting in this campground. I guess for me the main thing is it was a bit difficult to find a spot for the tent that didn't look like it might end up with water flowing through that spot, and when I did I was about 12 feet from a shared parking ramp which could have had a neighbor's RV on it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sesarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the Grand Canyon and decided to do the North Rim to avoid tourists. The campground said it was full but the sites are so large it felt like it was empty. Our camp host was extremely friendly and have us several suggestions on what to see. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoliSciGuy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This is a nice campground and cheaper alternative to the overpriced lodge. There were coin operated showers which were't very clean but there's also laundry and a little store for those forgotten items. I little overpriced but not too bad. Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonflyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this campground and it was our family's favorite place (we stayed in 15 others in 4 states!) of all!! Even though it doesn't have hookups, we were perfectly comfortable and happy there. The sites are all very spacious and there are tons of trees and grass around. From any site you can walk to the Transept Trail - it starts between sites 15 and 16 - which goes to the lodge, about a mile away and down to the very edge of the canyon - what an amazing experience/view! The campground also has the best store we saw in our travels - it's very nice and well stocked with groceries, supplies and gifts. And while there is no wifi at the sites, there is at the store and you can hang out on the store's front porch any time of day (even after it closes at 8pm) to use the wifi. And the evening ranger programs were awesome for families too! The campground doesn't have a restaurant but the lodge has several places to eat and is walking distance on the transept trail. We highly recommend this campsite to anyone going to the NR!!

Room Tip: sites 13-17 have a view (15/16 are the best) but we were in 25 and 22 and could easily walk to the edge and trail from there. All sites have a nice amount of space but the edge ones (like 25) have woods on one side so you wake up feeling like you're the only people there! If wifi is more important to you, you may want to choose a site that's very close to the store (3, 4, 45, 46, 52, 53) so you can walk over quickly/often
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews