We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Rim Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Less than a mile from the Lodge, and close to trailhead for hiking into the Canyon. Tall trees but no privacy due to lack of understory. Spacious sites but no hookups. Pull-through for RVs. The sites on the outside have much better views. Inside you see your neighbors. Tent sites are not ideal. Charging for showers is an insult given the fees for sites; but it was a generous six minutes for six quarters, and firehose pressure with warm water. Laundry and general store. One of the rangers chided my girlfriend for walking between sites to the toilets, which was ridiculous given the ample distances, obvious pathways, and vacant sites. Surely they have better things to do.

Room Tip: Find a site on the outside with a view of the Canyon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were so lucky to drive in on Labor Day weekend and find an RV space for two nights in the premier "canyon view" portion on the south side of the campground. Ranger Allen Olsen was very helpful in helping us with the reservation, and our time there was wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The campground itself is beautiful, one side of it is right next to the canyon. We stayed at the tent-only sites (T7) and the site was fine except that when we booked the site, it appeared that the parking was right next to the tent site. This is not the case, the parking was not right next the site, we actually had to walk through T8 to get to our site. This was a little annoying, so I would recommend booking one of the sites in the middle if you want a tent-only site. The bathrooms next to the campsites were clean, but the showers were pretty gross and they are coin operated, so make sure you bring quarters or singles for the coin machine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We booked T5, a great pitch on the edge of the rim.
The site was great, the usual picnic table, fire pit and raised sand filled tent pitch (Not a norm but given the sudden deluges of water invaluable).
We loved the site and the whole atmosphere created by being so close to a wee bit of The Grand Canyon. We had fantastic views at both sunrise and sunset, the thunderstorms were an incidental which come with the season.
The campground shop is great and the facilities fine .............

Room Tip: Book your site 6 months in advance .................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highlandcolliedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The campground's under taller trees and mostly shaded. The sites are mostly not strictly defined except in by the location of the fire pit and picnic table. The space between sites was fairly generous so even though the campground was full it did not seem crowded. Few sites seemed to have tent pads so for most there was no specified location for tents. If you look carefully you can see where twigs and debris have collected as a result of rain storm water flowing across the ground and try to find a place between flow paths. As far as I could tell there's no tent-specific sites and you could even end up sharing the same parking drive-out with a recreational vehicle, with one ending up pretty close to your tent. This didn't happen to us but it could have, so if you have choice in your site and it matters, review the sites first online. Fortunately there are strict times when RVs can run generators.

It's easy to get a tent stake in the ground.

You're never more than a few minute's walk from restrooms or water. The restrooms have a 3 stalls, 2 sinks with cold water, and a dual electric outlet which likely will be monopolized charging cellphones (not owning one I don't know if there's even any reception there). On that topic, there are charging outlets in a small covered area near the vending machines by the showers and laundry. This is nice to see as these days even if all you have is a humble camera as it is likely to be digital and need charging. There's a utility sink outside the restrooms. Small stone wall enclosures (I never did find out their full function) have a water tap, but should only be used to fetch water, not used as a washing station.

It's always hard to do TA's ratings with a campground:

Service - This isn't a "service" type of place.
Value - Cheap if you're 6 people per site, not so if you're the only person. Well, cheaper than the lodge, and cheaper than driving to the nearest alternative.
Sleep quality - depends upon the number of sleeping pads you bring. Clear the rocks and one will do.
Location - well, you're IN the national park!
Fitness center - try the treadmaster called the Kaibab Trail.
Swimming pool - a bit of a hike (Colorado River).

Overall rating based upon... well this is a campground and it's okay as such. I'm not here to spend all day sitting in this campground. I guess for me the main thing is it was a bit difficult to find a spot for the tent that didn't look like it might end up with water flowing through that spot, and when I did I was about 12 feet from a shared parking ramp which could have had a neighbor's RV on it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sesarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the Grand Canyon and decided to do the North Rim to avoid tourists. The campground said it was full but the sites are so large it felt like it was empty. Our camp host was extremely friendly and have us several suggestions on what to see. I would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoliSciGuy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This is a nice campground and cheaper alternative to the overpriced lodge. There were coin operated showers which were't very clean but there's also laundry and a little store for those forgotten items. I little overpriced but not too bad. Overall a nice stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonflyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
11.2 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,730 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
11.7 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,084 reviews
17 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Rim Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Rim Campground

Address: Arizona State Route 67, 1 mile north of Grand Canyon Lodge, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86022
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
North Rim Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
North Rim Grand Canyon
North Rim Hotel Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing