We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can strongly recommend the North Rim lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Rim Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We spent 4 nights at the North Rim lodge in August. We were in a Western Cabin, which is definitely worth the small extra cost over other cabins - more space and in a better part of the site. Cabins are simple but comfortable. From our cabin we had views of the Canyon in two directions - spectacular, this has to be one of the world's great hotel rooms. The hotel amenities are limited but good quality - meals in the main restaurant are fine and not overly expensive, service can be rather amateurish but always friendly and relaxed. You pretty much have to have dinner in the hotel, the nearest reasonable alternative is Jacob Lake which is an hour's drive, so make sure you reserve as soon as you can or you'll be eating at some odd times.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SussexVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2007

Though I tried to get a rim site, I was unable to. When we arrived and set up camp my feeling was that it really didn't matter. The canyon is so close anyway that a short walk took me to the rim trail and I was able to enjoy it anyway. Our site was quiet and peaceful. There is no feeling of overcrowding here and the trees, the smell of campfires, and the general quiet was so enjoyable. A real gem of a place to spend some quality time.

Stayed: August 2003
9  Thank Kbecjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

We stayed 1 night in a pioneer cabin. The location of the lodge is great - and the views from the restaurant and both terraces spectacular!

If you stay in the national park you are able to catch the sunset and sunrise with ease! - there is a short and incredibly scenic short hike from the lodge to the edge viewpoints.

The cabin was basic (furnishings a bit tired) but all you need for a night and great fun.

The lodge bar is a bit hidden out of the way (no views) but has a good atmosphere and the special cocktail definitely worth trying! - even twice!!

The restaurant food was good - but wished at supper the main course hadn't arrived before we had finished our appetizer.

We have also been fortunate enough to have seen the canyon from the south rim but the higher view from the north rim over the distant plateau was amazing. Go if you can.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank fbusa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

I usually backpack so I'm not used to the "civilization" of a campground but it was great...quiet, clean, easy access to bathrooms and the general store. Very nice campsites with decent spacing and easy, walkable access to trailheads and the Canyon edge - nice place to sit and have morning coffee. I also stayed at the campgrounds inside Zion and Bryce and those were great as well. The only thing I would caution you on...I'm an Easterner and thought the West would be warm if not hot by then. My trip was in late May but it snowed and sleeted one day at the North Rim and got down into the 20's at Bryce at night...80's during the day though. Come prepared for any type of weather.

Stayed: May 2006
19  Thank HikerShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2006

This campground rates high in my book because it is located in a forest at the rim of the canyon. Campsites are widely spaced and many have some view of the canyon through the trees. Paved pull throughs are handy for bigger RVs and 5th wheels. The big pines give plenty of shade for chilling out during the heat of the day.

On the downside, it's a bit of a hike from some locations up to the one cleaning site for dishes. Also, my site was a premium one, #15, which like #16 is located at the start of the trail along the rim to the lodge. A lot of foot traffic between these two sites, so I would avoid those two next time.

Good general store immediately outside the campground entrance. Showers and laundry, both $1.50, are another 150 yards or so up the road.

Grand Canyon Lodge and the Visitor Center are only 1.5 miles away, and a good place to hang out and dine.

Stayed: May 2006
31  Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JSHannover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
11.2 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,664 reviews
16.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,751 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
11.3 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,048 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Rim Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Rim Campground

Address: Arizona State Route 67, 1 mile north of Grand Canyon Lodge, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86022
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
North Rim Campground Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
North Rim Grand Canyon
North Rim Hotel Az

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing