We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view anywhere near the South Rim of the Canyon”
Review of Yaki Point

Yaki Point
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The best view anywhere near the South Rim of the Canyon”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had two days at the Grand Canyon last week. On the second day we rented bikes and covered the entire bike-able area of the south rim and Yaki point was definitely the most incredible view.

Defffffinitely worth either biking/walking or driving to it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sianspheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    37
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunrise”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We went to the desert view for sunrise since we went to the other end the day before and heard it was less crowded. The point may not be most popular in the park, but still with a few good rocks to stand for photoshooting. Cold but fantastic, the experience was priceless.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for Sunset”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Arrive 30 minutes before sunset if you wish to photograph. Times are printed in the guide. The return shuttle will be very crowded and you may have to wait 30 minutes. It can be VERY cold and windy so dress in layers, with a warm hat and coat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank arenamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Favorite Spot”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This area is closed to private vehicles and shuttles pick up passengers up to an hour after sunset.

During those days where sunset and moonrise are within one hour of each other, it is wonderful to watch both from this location.

After sunset, it is great to just enjoy the stillness and watch the brilliant bands of color appear along the western horizon in the deepening twilight.

It is also a great place to watch a sunrise.

I've visited Grand Canyon National Park three times over the last nine months, and Yaki Point is my favorite spot to just sit, watch and listen.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cjs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Raptor Presentation”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very interesting. Saw a Condor, so when we saw one later in our trip, we were able to identify it ourselves

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank womans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaki Point also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Yaki Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing