We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing rustic retreat not far from the Grand...”
other travellers have booked this property
View from the kitchen!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view. Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
View from the kitchen!
Surrounded by elk grass and open space and facing a glorious mountain view.
Unsurpassed views!  (Backside of The Mountain Star is at right)
Early Winter
Spacious 2nd story, wrap-around viewing deck
Living Room ceiling, operable skylight and the music and exercize loft
Fully equipped kitchen with hand made, wrap-around maple bar with bar stools.
The kitchen bar
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
The Mountain Master
Large soaking tub with forest view in Mountain Master
The Sunset Master
Sunset Master
Sunset Master desk
The cozy Peak Room
Let your inner drummer and quitarist loose! Note: the congas are no longer available.
Elliptical x-trainer in the exercise/music loft
The craft corner
Firepit with a view!
Picnic table on front deck
Bistro with a view!
Beautiful skies are common
Life on this elevated deck is nothing short of wonderful!
The Milky Way and The Mountain Star - shot taken by visiting guest
The Milky Way from the front deck - shot taken by visting guest
The San Francisco Peaks with star trails taken from the deck by visiting guest
Library, sound system and board games
The main living area facing east
Enjoy a campfire in front of the mountain!  Wood is provided!
Main living Area
Main living area
The west deck
An Elk bull visiting the front yard
A great day to ski out and ski in
Bull Elk grazing out front
Panoramic views and wide-open spaces
The Mountain Star Shipwheel to help you set your course to adventure! :)
Late summer evening
A light snow cover day
A great day to ski out and ski in
Wintery Skies
Birds love the deck feeder.
A mountain bluebird graces the deck railing
Moonset over Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck
Moonrise over Saddle Mountain taken from east deck
The incredible night sky.  A 3-second exposure at 1am taken from south deck.
Lots of open land around the Mountain Star
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets are common - taken from south deck
Panstarrs Comet and Crescent Moonset - taken from west deck!
Panstarss Comet setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
Crescent moon setting over northern ridge of Kendrick Mountain taken from west deck!
X-country skiing at your front door
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Nearby aspen forest in winter
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
Winter Mountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
baileyjo8...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing rustic retreat not far from the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My mom,dad, brother, sister and husband stayed at the cabin for three nights just after the New Year! Wow! We were blown away by the absolute beauty of the cabin and all of its scenic views. The cabin is fully equipped (full kitchen, two full bathrooms, one half bathroom, large couch and TV with tons of DVDs, board games, elliptical work out machine, etc.). We spent two days just hanging out at the cabin and doing some hiking around the area.

Rob reccomended some amazing trails near the cabin- including Red Mountain- which was stunning! My family and I loved how cozy the cabin was, how beautiful the stars were at night, and how we could all sit around the fire outside together!

What is also great is some of Rob's tips about exploring the Grand Canyon- we enjoyed a fantastic day at the Canyon thanks to Rob's tips and were so glad that we had some "insider" information.

Thanks Rob for the amazing tirp! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cozyness of the house and the scenic views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“A Special Place for All Ages”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

[Stayed with my wife, our eldest son and his family (daughter-in-law, 2 grandsons,1 grand-dog). Our intent was to tour the Grand Canyon.] Mountain Star is on a high plateau at the foot of even higher, surrounding mountains, resulting in fantastic sunsets in all directions. The night sky is littered with stars. At these times, Mountain Star is as impressive as the sights we came to see. In the evenings, one can simply stay at home surrounded by nature. The home is well equipped, organized, and has all the amenities of home, including board games, huge deck for fires (and cooking Smores), and a secure fenced acre for dogs to run. The owner is personable, and involved (almost like a B & B host, albeit he was absent during our stay), we kept in touch, and all meaningful questions were anticipated with written directions clearly posted.. It is apparent that he loves his beautifully situated property as much as we did. This reflects as well in the the interior decor, and comforts that Mountain Star provides, albeit they are dwarfed that provided by Mother Nature: from the BIG sky (+mountains) above to the friendly rabbits who will help dispose of any edible compost below, We cooked there several nights, on the Weber and /or in the well equipped kitchen. My son played the guitar, while a grandson enjoyed the X-box at night and I worked out on a elliptical in the loft. We had some elderly (in our 70's), children (12 and 8), the latter handicapped, and a younger couple (our son and wife). All had a fine time and would come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: lots of stairs (3-stories, including the loft)
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful home”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We greatly enjoyed our stay!! Rob met us at the house to give us a little orientation. The kids loved the loft and we spent a lot of time using the fire pit for S'Mores! I hope we will get to visit again in the winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carteret4...
Beaufort, North Carolina
1 review
“This is a Spectacular Mountain Retreat”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family had such a good time at the Mountain Star. Located along a scenic drive between Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon,there could not be better views of the snow covered San Fransisco Peaks, especially Humphreys Peak (tallest mountain in Arizona.)
The wrap around deck allows for beautiful vistas on every side. There is a huge fenced in area for the dog's enjoyment and even dog doors. We enjoyed sighting mountain bluebirds in the bird box, and bunny rabbits below the deck foraging for greens.
Rob certainly has thought of everything for the comfort of his guests. Thanks to Rob for being so gracious and informative with suggestions for hikes, sightseeing, and restaurants. He even greeted our family with flowers, champagne, and a welcome note.
The house is furnished with an abundance of books, DVDs, games and has piped in satellite music throughout. There are also drums, a guitar, bongos, and exercise equipment in the loft! Food staples are furnished with a fully stocked pantry.
I would highly recommend the Mountain Star to anyone, especially families. It is THE BEST!!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vthompson...
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looking Forward to Future Stays and Telling Everyone I Know!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Some may say coincidence, while others might say destined to be.
It is no exaggeration when I say that this is one of our all time favorite places to stay. When my husband and I walked into this amazing place, we both got a little teary seeing the breathtaking view from the huge windows. There was snow still on the mountain peaks. After admiring the view, we noticed an ice bucket with a cold bottle of Diet Dr Pepper, two crystal glasses, a beautiful arrangement of fresh flowers and a handwritten welcome note. There was also music playing all through the house (it is wired for sound!). At the top of the stairs was a chalkboard with a Welcome to our family.
The view is beautiful, but the Mountain Star is a thing of beauty as well. Windows everywhere so you don't miss anything and it seems as if you just think of something and ... there it is. Rob must be an organizational genius. Everything right where you need it to be. Forgot your reading glasses? Don't worry, I saw two pair in a pretty wooden box that also held many remotes.
This "cabin" has two full Master Suites and a loft bedroom. Three bathrooms. A full kitchen complete with dishes, pans, silverware and even food!! S'mores anyone? Everything you need to make the treats is in the pantry. No, do not make the s'mores in the pantry. Of course, I saw mustard, ketchup, spaghetti, mac-n-cheese, oatmeal, soup, etc. I think that past guests leave goodies for the next group.
The Mountain Star has a garage to park your car in, which is great for loading and unloading.
We brought our furry little son, Cooper and he was very much welcomed.
The furniture was super comfortable and our bed was just right.
Loved the huge soaker tub with the rainfall shower.
So sorry for jumping from one subject to another, but there is just so much to tell you! :)
There was a large deck that seemed to go almost all the way around on the second level and that it the place to be at sunset, sunrise, after dark, anytime.
Don't forget to watch for the bunny rabbits that are waiting for you to toss something compostable and green off the side. You don't see the rabbits? Just give it a minute as they blend in very well with the grasses.
Can you tell yet that we love this place?
It is not too far from the Grand Canyon and close enough to make Sedona a day trip.
We did not see everything that was on our list, but it gives us a good excuse to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cws19
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house & serene setting”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great house with all the amenities - both those necessary and those above & beyond what you might expect at a rental house. It was comfortable - lots of throw blankets, a perfectly cozy wood pellet stove, and great showers and beds, etc.

The house was about half way between Flagstaff & the Grand Canyon which was nice since that's where we were splitting time. Rob had great stuff for making the Grand Canyon even more enjoyable - extra gloves & hats (it was cold!), tour books, maps of hikes, etc. This would be a perfect jumping off point to explore all the wonder of the National Park.

Lastly, a plug for Rob who made sure we had everything we needed and plowed us out to the main road on the last day when we woke up to many inches of fresh snow!

We were only here two nights and I wish it had been at least a full week - fingers crossed I'll make it back - and soon!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alycia W
California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looking for bliss? You'll find it here.”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I was looking for a quiet place to get away from the hustle and noise of the city. A place with nature all around me to rejuvenate me. Found that here. It's so quiet, gorgeous and perfect.

One day we headed over to the Grand Canyon, the next day we took the drive to Sedona (which was even more beautiful than I could have ever imagined).

We picked up food in town and came back to play some drums, listen to music and watch movies.

I would stay here again and again. Rob was so helpful and this place was just the type of rest and relaxation that you won't find in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the peace and quiet.
Liked least: I missed Satellite TV.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing