We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect - I can't recommend WFOA highly enough”

Way Far Out Adventures, LLC.
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Way Far Out Adventures specializes in adventure tourism at the Grand Canyon. We offer overnight backpacking, day hikes, and scenic driving tours.When you book an adventure with us everything is customizable. We only book a trip for your individual group; you won’t share a trip with people you don’t know. From the trail we use to the food we serve, let us know what you want and we will do our best to provide it.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - I can't recommend WFOA highly enough”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was on my own visiting the Grand Canyon for the first time, for a few days in late October.
The whole trip was made perfect by WFOA.
Without them I could not have hiked so far, would not have got off the beaten track, would not have learnt so much about every aspect of the Canyon. My guide was very relaxed and fun to be with. We just got on well – but he was working all the time, and packing our conversation with info about the rocks, the birds, the flowers, the history, the people. Seems there’s nothing he doesn’t know about. A very friendly guy. With a very responsible attitude to looking after the unique environment as well as looking after the visitors. Fully trained in tracking and trecking, in first aid - and in preparing great lunches.
Good luck to you, WFOA.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A+ Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We took a guided tour of the Grand Canyon with a large group of family. We had a disparate mix of experience with kids and adults. The guides were thoughtful and prepared with all kinds of drinks, snacks and equipment. The tour was great and the guides very knowledgable. A healthy lunch was available after. This is not a white glove tour guide but a real hiking experience. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Whipple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Day Trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We recently took a day trip at the Grand Canyon. Our guide (Shane) was very knowledgeable and made the trip very informative and fun. He had many anecdotes about the area that made the trip much more than just a sightseeing trip. Even though I have been to the Canyon before, I visited places I have never been to before. We hope to hike down into the Canyon with WFOA in the Fall. We really enjoyed it!~

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice afternoon at Grand Canyon with a guide from Way Far Out Adventures”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The afternoon started with being picked up in Williams, AZ and driving to Grand Canyon National Park, it was my daughter, 8, and me with the guide, Shane. We were first taken to Yavapai Point to observe the canyon. We spent at lest half an hour just observing the canyon. Shane brought a spotter scope so he could point out details all the way down at river level, such as the black bridge, which he gave the story behind how it came to be. We then went into the Geology Museum located at the point to learn about the layers of rock and how they were deposited in that order, then how they were cut down and exposed.
Next we drove the Hermit Road and saw many good sights from there as we made our way to Hermits Rest. At Hermits Rest we had a snack and set up for a short hike part way down the Hermit Trail. along the trail we were shown many fossils embedded in the rock shelves right next to the trail. it was amazing how many fossils are in that rock. We hiked about half a mile and stopped for a quick rest and a little more snacks. we took a few minutes for pictures then headed back up to the top of the trail.
once back at the top, it was near sunset and Shane started dinner preparations. we had a nice meal of tortellini pasta in an alfredo sauce with rolls and a side of strawberries, at my daughter request. meanwhile we had a spectacular sunset to keep us occupied while dinner was being cooked. after we finished, we packed up and headed back to the village to get a souvenir or two from the shop at the Bright Angel Lodge. following that, we were taken back to Williams.
Never on this trip did we feel pressured to move on to the next thing, or feel like we missed something. it was very relaxed and Shane took care of our every need asking us which we would like to do first of our chosen spots to visit. we both had and extremely good time, and Shane was excellent with my daughter. he was fun and entertaining for both of us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyWallnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayFarOutAdventures, Owner at Way Far Out Adventures, LLC., responded to this review, 21 May 2013
We really enjoyed taking you and your daughter out on an adventure! We would like to thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Way Far Out Adventures, LLC. also viewed

Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 
Grand Canyon National Park, AZ
 

Been to Way Far Out Adventures, LLC.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing