We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright Angel Lodge Splendid”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bright Angel Lodge Splendid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Bright Angel Lodge is a splendid lodging place in the Grand Canyon. The cabin was clean with hot showers. It was ideally located, near the Rim Trail and the Bright Angel Lodge. The only negatives are that the bathroom was on the small side and the television did not have excellent reception.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    1,034
    316
    80
    37
See reviews for
502
1,388
91
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Quaint, updated & comfortable, our cabin (#6158) had a stone fireplace, exposed beams & a nicely appointed bathroom. Small & cozy, we had an amazing view of the canyon from our window. We saw the Milky Way & shooting stars each night along with more constellations than you can name. Mule deer fed right outside at night, the rim trail passes right by & the Bright Angel trailhead is 50 yards away. Great dining options are along the rim trail within 2-5 minutes walk: Bright Angel Lodge & El Tovar included. I've always dreamed of seeing the canyon this week, but this is absolutely the way to go!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tx10sGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Bright Angel Cabins. Our room was one with only 2 units which was to our advantage since there is no sound buffering between rooms. We were also fortunate that the 3 couples that stayed on successive nights were considerate and very quiet after 9:00. The rooms were clean and well cared for if tight on hanging storage space. The bathrooms are very small but everything worked. My husband who is 6 feet and slender found manuvering in the narrow shower challenging. The linens were of decent quality. The best part was location. Just a short distance to the rim, the Kolb brothers studio, and the bus stops.

The restaurants were a different story. If you thought the worst day in your school cafeteria was fine dining, you will like the restaurant. I thought it was impossible to ruin eggs but I was mistaken. We tried a dinner and a breakfast at the restaurant. The vegetable was both undercooked and over cooked in the same serving. Some items were totally inedible. We also tried the Arizona Room. This was worse. Service in both places was totally inadequate.

We also tried El Tovar. The food here was a different story. Somebody in the kitchen knows how to prepare food and lead a staff. The service was another story. We had two lunches and a dinner at El Tovar. The service ranged from excellent at one lunch to indifferent and inadequate the other times.

Once you get a parking space, don't move your vehicle until you are ready to leave the park.

Room Tip: If you stay in cabins, try to get one with only two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seni0rTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at our Bright Angel Lodge.
We strive to provide a quality customer service experience at all of our operations in the park. I am glad you found your room to be clean and in good condition, and the location can't be beat.
I am disappointed to read your dining experiences at the Bright Angel. Your comments are not the norm, and I apologize for the disappointing meals. I recently dined in both and while the Bright Angel restaurant is family oriented, I found the food to be very good. The Arizona Room is usually a very good experience. I can't explain what happened with your meals, but I will forward to the F&B Manager for follow-up. I hope you brought the inadequacies to the manager's attention at the time so they could adjust your bill and work to resolve the issues, and identify potential sources of the problems. I am glad you enjoyed the El Tovar dining experience, and hope you will return to give us another chance at the Bright Angel.
Thank you for sharing the advise on leaving your car while in the park, this reduced congestion, and eases the parking challenges for other guests. The shuttles are very efficient and work very well. Guests can also walk to most spots within the Historic Village.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in cabin 6146. It is a good size, clean & comfortable. In October the temperature can drop to below freezing at night, the heating in the cabin was more than adequate & the bathroom has a very efficient heater that works on a timer - so you can't accidentally leave it on.
The only downside to the accommodation was that the wall to one of the adjoining cabins is paper thin, you can hear everything that is being said & done in the next cabin. However, the compensation for this is the fact that you are right on the rim, only the footpath between your cabin & the canyon, the view from this cabin is second to none.
When staying in the Grand Canyon Village you are not likely to be in your accommodation much during daylight hours. You want to be out enjoying the various places along the rim where you can soak up the experience of being in such an amazing place, taking in the wonderful scenery & generally just "being" in the moment. Most visitors are up & out before sunrise & out until after sunset. But on the rare occasions when you are inside when it's still light outside, you a able to look out & still feel a part of it.
We booked the accommodation 10 months in advance & at the time of booking were not able to secure any particular cabin. We definitely struck lucky when the allocation was made upon our arrival.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am glad you were able to get a reservation at our Bright Angel Lodge. This historic lodge is very popular for its value, and location. Having been built in 1935, the walls are probably thinner than newer hotels. I hope that this did not detract from the overall experience of staying on the South Rim in a historic lodge. Thanks for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wow what a great place in a spectacular location. We stayed for one night in a very rustic cozy cabin. Had the best night sleep here of the entire trip. Had no problem with noise at all, and the bed was very comfortable and warm. I wish we had planned more time here, but were very thankful we were able to enjoy this wonderful Lodge for at least one night. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Just a note, you can get coffee in the bar in the mornings early and they serve breakfast as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philcentraltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our Bright Angel Lodge. This has been a popular lodge since it was built in 1935, and a tribute to the skills of Mary Colter. I am glad you enjoyed this historic lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Location is everything for the Bright Angel Lodge. We stayed in one of the cabins for two nights which worked well since we shared the adjoining cabin with my parents. The sound insulation between the cabin rooms was basically nonexistent so it would have been a little strange to be able to hear strangers going about their business. The rooms were basic and fairly small but clean. Nothing surprising for cabins that were originally built in the 30's. We didn't find the beds all that comfortable as they are basic mattresses with two pillows on the flat side. With all that said the location in the village is hard to beat. The hotel has several dining options which we tried and we're pleased with. The red and blue shuttle bus route stops are right there at the hotel so getting around is convenient. I would recommend the Bright Angel for a more affordable option compared to the El Tovar.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mubbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I will not review the Grand Canyon since any attempt to do so would fail to capture the sheer magnificence and scale of this natural wonder. However, I, my husband and one of our best friends all agreed that the Bright Angel Lodge was one of the best National Park Lodges we’ve stayed at. We were in room 6128 in the “Powell Lodge.” Our room was spotless, simply but comfortably appointed and much more spacious than we expected; there was plenty of storage space for our clothes and gear. There also was a small refrigerator for storing drinks and snacks. The bathroom appeared to be very newly renovated and there was abundant hot water and good water pressure for showering. Perhaps because our visit was in mid-late November we did not experience any significant noise related to cars or people. There was no TV or phone in the room (NOT a problem!) but there was a strong free wi-fi signal. My husband is a realtor who was in the middle of executing three contracts during our visit so having strong wi-fi service was critical since he had to do some work while we were there. Also, we had excellent cell service throughout the Bright Angel Lodge grounds. “Powell Lodge” sits about 75 feet from the rim of the canyon and our particular room faced away from the canyon; this was NOT a concern since we were not spending much time in our room. For those who want to rent a less expensive room with shared shower and bathroom, the Powell Lodge is shaped like a “T” and there were 3 shower rooms and 1 bathtub room, along with men’s and women’s restrooms, at the center of the T – pretty convenient. I looked in the shared shower and tub rooms and saw that they were pretty nice; however, there was no sink in these rooms so it appears that men must shave in the men’s restroom. On the grounds is the Lookout Studio and the Kolb Studio, both of which were built decades ago to serve the photographic needs of early tourists. The former is now a nice gift shop with both a balcony and a terrace for even more spectacular views of the canyon. The Kolb Studio included an exhibit of truly beautiful pleinn air artwork which was a must see. The Kolb Studio and Lookout Studio gift shops carry Grand Canyon Association items which are different from the items carried at the standard “Fred Harvey” gift shops on the Bright Angel Lodge grounds and throughout the park. It is an easy 10 minute walk to El Tovar from the Bright Angel Lodge and its offerings. The Marketplace is nearby as well. I have reviewed the Arizona Room at the Bright Angel Lodge, the Bright Angel Lodge Restaurant and the El Tovar restaurant (and the lounge) elsewhere on Trip Advisor. I would recommend having a car for only one reason: making the trip to Desert View Point and the Watchtower which was a highlight of our trip. Otherwise, the Grand Canyon bus system was remarkably well run and convenient for making the Hermit’s Rest run with hop-off hop-on stops at multiple viewpoints. I could go on and on with different details of our trip having to do with the awe-inspiring views, the jaw-dropping expansiveness and the sheer majesty of the Grand Canyon, but words could never do it justice. Suffice it to say that the Bright Angel Lodge is a truly memorable place to stay and enjoy one of America’s most inspiring national parks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanterraCorporate, Director of Sales at Bright Angel Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the rtime to write such a thorough review of your recent trip to Grand Canyon. Reviews such as yours surely help people plan their trip to Grand Canyon. I am glad you ejoyed your stay at our Bright Angel Lodge. The lodge was built in 1935, and its design with many different room types and the various restrooms and showers is a bit of a mystery. Mary Colter took a very different view with her designs, and they were always unique and have withstood the test of time. The lodges and rooms at Bright Angel have been renovated many times but the design remains the same. The Kolb Studio rotates art exhibits, so guests might find a different one on their next trip, but the plein air paintings in the current exhibit are spectacular. And you can purchase them! The Watchtower is my favorite of the Mary Colter building in the park, and I am glad you were able to visit.
Thanks again for sharing your experience and knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing