We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The rooms are just metres away from the edge of canyon so you have a great view on a morning. There are heaters in the room so they're quite cosy. The bathroom is good and there is free wifi in the rooms. The restaurant serves good food at a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    1,058
    325
    81
    40
See reviews for
517
1,424
93
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We rented a room that had a view of the Canyon as well as a room without a Canyon view (there were no rooms to fit my husband and I as well as three kids -- this is the biggest downfall and made the trip more expensive). Both rooms were neat, clean and nice to stay in. The fireplace in the room with the Canyon view was nice given that we were there when it was very cold. The rooms are not large but we did not spend much time in the rooms given that there was tons to do outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sansnowmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for one night for our honeymoon.
I picked it because of it's location, since we were only spending one night at the Grand canyon, I wanted it to be on the rim of the Grand Canyon.
We arrived around 1pm, and check in was not until 4pm.
We went hiking and came back about 3:30pm and it was ready.
We chose one of the cheaper options, so the room did not have a shower in it, just a sink and toilet, there was a shared shower area in our building.
We did not feel the need to spend the extra for a shower considering it was only a night,
however if we were spending more than a night I would opt for a room with a shower, and also a room facing the Canyon with a canyon view and spend a little more money.
Our room did not have a canyon view, but it was only about a minute walk from our room to the rim.
The location is perfect, we were able to watch the sunset and sunrise, sunrise was better for that area of the rim.
You can start walking the rim trail from there and the Bright angel trail head is a 2 minute walk from the room.
Okay as far as the room goes, it's very small, the sink was tiny and there was not much space to move around or for your luggage.
The worst part about the room was how uncomfortable the bed was, only one pillow for each of us and that pillow was flat, so we took our coats balled them up and used them for pillows, the mattress was very hard too.
The other part we didn't like was how thin the walls were, one side was a man snoring that sounded like he was in our room it was so loud, and the other side of us was a lady hacking and coughing the whole night through, we weren't sure she was going to make it, it sounded so bad.
I do have to say the room was clean , no problems with that.
Check out was quick and easy, most employees were very friendly.
There is a restaurant, bar and gift shop at hotel.
The Food is pretty good at the restaurant, We had great service for breakfast, but encountered couple rude employees on the dinner shift.
Overall the Positives for Bright angel lodge is its location to the Grand canyon, and really only that.
The negatives were small room, uncomfortable bed and thin walls.
I have a family member staying here May next year, and I told them that since they are only staying a night to keep the reservation because the location is wonderful, any longer than that I would have advised to see what their other options were.

Room Tip: Get a separate cabin so as to avoid your neighbors noises in the night. Get a room with a view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed one night before taking the mule ride down to Phantom Ranch .It was chilly and windy the night we stayed but we were warm and safe in our cabin. We parked relatively close to the cabin. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great, and I like the body wash and shampoo in the large containers. We had a small refrigerator and coffee pot. The ice machine was in a building relatively close. The room was really clean. The wifi worked and no charge. The towels were large and soft and enough of them. I had no complaints. The front desk was excellent both checking in and out.

Room Tip: The rooms on the rim are an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokedogaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was a beautiful place. The rooms are a little dated but who cares. You dont see it when you are staring at the inside of your eyelids. LOL. Due to the location this place is very busy. Be prepaired to share it with all the other tourists visiting. Bed, bathrooms and room all comfortable and clean. The entire place had that rustic feel which my wife and I like. Restartuants were great also

Room Tip: Room with own bathroom is worth the extra tariff. No need to get a cabin with a view when the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked about 6 months in advance for 2 cabins on the south rim at Bright Angel. We really wanted our relatives visiting from Sweden for the first time to have a wonderful experience and we were not disappointed! One of the cabins had a nice gas kiva type fireplace that warmed up the room very nicely. The rates are very reasonable. We've stayed at the El Tovar in the past which is lovely, but they have no rooms with views of the canyon and their rates are higher. Much better value at Bright Angel cabins. The cabins are old, but clean and quite well kept with great charm and atmosphere! We were only steps to the edge of the canyon with fantastic views from our nice big window. The cabins sit up a bit higher than the walk way along the canyon, so you do have privacy, besides why would anyone not be looking at the Grand Canyon?! An easy walk to restaurants in Bright Angel and El Tovar. The only negative thing I can think of is the pillows - rather thin and hard. Hopefully they've replaced them by now.

Room Tip: Book as far in advance as you can and ask for cabin with canyon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedenamerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I loved our stay at the Bright Angel cabins. If possible try to get a cabin close to the edge of the canyon. The cabins are very clean. Since our last stay here they have added television to the rooms. The views are spectacular! The only downside was the service at the front desk. I found the people who greeted you very rude. However I absolutely love the people who work in the Bright Angel Restaurant and store. These people new hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,683 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing