We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute cabin”
Review of Bright Angel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bright Angel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cute cabin”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We tried to book a cabin as close to the rim as we could but ended up with one near the large car park. The cabin exceed our expectations . The room was large with coffee making facilities and a fridge, both appreciated. The toiletries in the bathroom were generous and better than in many more expensive locations. Lovely to be able to wander to the rim before breakfast and we felt that privilige was worth paying for. The only down side, accommodation wise was the lack of parking. Why spaces cant be reserved for overnight guests mystifies me, we had quite a trek with our luggage even though we didn't unpack everything from our vehicle. Would recommend these cabins.

Room Tip: Book early, I did a year in advance and still couldn't get a Rim view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roonie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    1,052
    324
    81
    39
See reviews for
512
1,417
93
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We managed to get a cabin close to the rim of the canyon, and location makes a big difference as some of the cabins are on what seems to be an island in the car park.
Our cabin was excellent with a partial view of the the canyon, it had a well appointed en-suite and a comfortable bed with enough room for 2 people. The room also had coffee making facilities and a fridge. Wifi was available in our room although it was a bit slow.
I like the layout of the cabins as there are 4 in a block with each entrance door facing a different direction.
Being so close to the canyon I was able to go for a short walk down the Bright Angel track before breakfast. Speaking of breakfast this is available in the lodge, likewise is lunch and diner, although we did find the El Tovar offered almost a silver service dinner for a reasonable price.
Being a little bit away from the bigger buildings we found wildlife close to our door including squirrels and deer.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin close to the rim if available and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJTravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at bright angel lodge for two nights last week. Location is excellent, just a short stroll to the bright angel trail on the south rim of GC. Accommodation is basic, but clean, showers were on a shared basis, but we had our own loo and wash basin which was handy. We ate in the on site restaurants a couple of times, both of which were good, and considering the isolated nature of the location were quite reasonably priced. Only down side was breakfast on the morning we were leaving. Quite poor service on this occasion, and a very long wait for a cold 'hot' breakfast. Waiter got the order wrong too, but still managed to overcharge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were staying in Powell Lodge - we had a room with WC and sink, but shared shower/bath facilities. The rooms were a good sized and spotlessly kept. We even had free wifi, which was new since our last visit. The staff on the desk when we arrived couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. We were within a stone's throw of the rim. What more could anyone want???

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in Bucky and Powell lodge at Bright Angel Lodge. The staff was wonderful and the rim of the Grand Canyon was just steps away. The room was clean and well taken care of. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay at the Grand Canyon for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Opt for the little more expensive room with the private bath. Its well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bree K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you plan to visit the Grand Canyon be sure to make your reservations early and stay at the Bright Angel Lodge Cabins. Great rooms at a reasonable price. While there be sure to take a hike at least part way down either the Bright Angel Trail or the South Kaibob Trail. Drink plenty of water and wear appropriate shoes.

Room Tip: Get a cabin near the south rim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We took a chance and were able to book a rim cabin on very short notice (2 days)! As stated our cabin was located on the rim trail, though the view was mostly blocked by trees and shrubs. Nonetheless this was a great little cabin that was nicely furnished and close to everything. Lodge staff was very competent and amiable. We were able to check in early. My wife and I loved this cabin and will return in the fall.
The bed was firm, room had a desk and wifi. Bathroom was updated with tile at some point. Some might call it a bit rustic, but quaint and historic is closer. It met my expectations and the Xanterra description. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddogxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.3 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,896 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,815 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Angel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Angel Lodge

Property: Bright Angel Lodge
Address: Highway 64, South Rim, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bright Angel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bright Angel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Angel Lodge And Cabins Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Bright Angel Lodge Grand Canyon
Grand Canyon Cabins
Grand Canyon Bright Angel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing