We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat ... room is average”
Review of Kachina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kachina Lodge
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Grand Canyon - 1 in the Kachina and 2 in the Thunderbird. They were essentially the same. A partial canyon view is exactly that ... in the Kachina we were on the first story that seemed almost below ground level. In the Thunderbird we on the second story but there was a big tree exactly blocking our view. The rooms in both were average / fine, but being 50-100 feet from the rim was exactly what we were looking for. We didn't go to the Grand Canyon to stay in our rooms! The biggest negative was that parking was very difficult - several times we had to circle for 15 minutes before finding a space, and this was before Memorial Day!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is right on the south rim & just in a perfect spot. It is in desperate need of a remodel & updates. It is very dated from the beds & bedding, to the decor, just everything. It is not comfortable. The only reason to stay here is of course the location & knowing you won't be in your room anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed in other places on the south rim and this and the one next door are the most modern that overlook the canyon. Bathrooms are modern and there is a flat screen TV (we didn't use it). The beds were very comfortable. No elevators to the upper floors. Everything was clean and we didn't hear anyone in the rooms next door. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BellsOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location, location, location!! The hotel is directly on the rim, and half of the rooms have a canyon view. May sure you book one of these. With awe inspiring vistas, you can overlook the drawbacks of the room.

If this lodge were anywhere else, I would have rated it 1.5 stars. The paint is chipping, accommodations are very basic, and windows need a cleaning. It is badly in need of a renovation. But the beds are comfortable and the room is acceptably clean. And you can't beat the view!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My first experince to The Grand Canyon National Park was amazing. Being able to stay so close made the encounter even better. We rose at 5:15 AM to see the sunrise- actually in our pajamas and jacket! The stunning colors were worth the effort. Meals at El Tovar were also fabulous and the Hopi House Gift store is right there with quality items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peekogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A beautiful view of the Grand Canyon from our room. We were just steps away from the rim trail. The rooms are not fancy but very functional and clean. An added touch was the keurig maker in our room. Parking is a challenge. Book your room as far in advance as possible to secure a canyon room view. Definitely worth the extra money for the view. You can ride the shuttle everywhere in the park.

Room Tip: Book your room far in advance to secure a room with a canyon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryGal5759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Lodge is adequate, but the location is what you pay for. Go outside and walk to the South Rim which is close outside. It is clean and has access to 3 restaurants. Dress warmly as it was in the 50's and windy in May.

Room Tip: Try to get on the Grand Canyon side even though the windows are high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.1 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kachina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Lodge

Address: 10 Albright Avenue, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: £144 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kachina Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Kachina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kachina Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Kachina Lodge Grand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing