We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected, will not return.”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This lodge was part of our Railway package. If I had been given the opportunity to upgrade I certainly would have. The room was quite far from the main lodge and it was outdated and dark. The noise was ridiculous from the people upstairs and the ice machine in front of our room. My biggest complaint was the bed, it was HORRIBLE! Sloped, uncomfortable, gross bedding, hard pillows, needless to say we did not get a good night's sleep. The only positive thing I have to say was the room backed up to the trees with no building behind us, so the view was nice and it was not a bad walk to the rim. I would NEVER return to this particular lodge, we will stay at El Tovar, the extra money would be totally worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

The location is fantastic- in the park very close to the rim. Our room was average, basic and could have been cleaner but it did the job. The room was outdated and a little dark too. The location was the best thing about staying here. It's lovely to be able to enjoy sunset and sunrise in the park and to have time to wander around.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This lodge was part of our Grand Canyon Railway package. Had the description been more accurate, I would have paid extra to stay at El Tovar. The Maswik is very rustic, outdated and rooms are located in various out buildings scattered throughout the property. It was quite a walk from the main "lobby" to the lodge our room was in. I would not recommend this location for elderly guests. The staff was rude and dining options are very limited.
I did notify the company via email about my concerns and received a prompt response and sincere apology.

Room Tip: If you must stay here , ask got a room closest to the main building where the lobby and cafeteria ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was way better than expected from the photos! The hotel is made up of lodges spaced over quite an area. We were lucky and were in the one nearest the rim, just a hop and a skip. Whilst not luxurious, the room was spacious and comfortable, with an efficient heating/cooling unit (nights were chilly!). The downside of Maswik is the dining, which is rather canteen-style both in arrangement and the actual food, just either side of average (but really tasty pizza). Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Juniper lodge and the 2 closest (cant recall the names)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The arrangement of the hotel with various buildings of 2 floors apartments are interesting, but the rooms are old,
not very clean and poorly planned . In my room, the air conditioning unit was located right next to the headboard, which is absurd . I had to improvise a barrier against the flow of air.
The balcony overlooking a beautiful wooded area was good, but had no privacy as it was on the ground floor. Upstairs would be more beautiful and private, but the luggage had to be dragged up the stairs .
I found good the distance - some half a mile - to the edge of the Canyon .
The reception is good, but comfort for guests is nonexistent in this environment because there are barely four individual seats. The restaurant, stuck in this makeshift lobby, which serves the general public , is somewhat chaotic and noisy.
Breakfast not included.
No internet in the rooms . In the "pseudo" lobby the connection is bad and you have to almost always stand leaning on a desk or wall .
Conclusion : This hotel was our only option within the Grand Canyon Village, a reservation made five months before, but I would never stay there again.
Booking is required several months in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bartok_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

First of all, the location is wonderful because it is in the park, but the property itself is quite spread out. So depending on which building you are in, you may have a longer walk than expected to the bus stops. I was in building 6 in the main complex, which was not as accessible when you are lugging all your camera gear, water, etc. Second, other than location, this would be a 1.5 to 2 star property at best, at least the room that I had. As I mentioned, the property is spread out and there may be better room types in the lodge. Having said all that, GCNP is such an awesome experience that it is definitely worth staying in the park. Catching the sunrise and sunset were the highlights of the trip, and staying at the lodge facilitated it greatly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The room was clean but old. A little rundown, but close to the bus. The staff was very helpful and very nice. The food at the lodge was average. I would come back just because of the location on the rim and very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,685 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,060 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 202 South Village Loop Drive, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: £47 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing