We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, but perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rustic, but perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

What a terrific place to stay in the Canyon. We were shut out of the El Tovar and the Bright Angel because of our spontaneous plans but it worked out perfectly for us. We just spent two nights at the Maswik Lodge in the Grand Canyon. It is not right on the rim or overlooking it, but a very quick 5 minute walk to the rim. We were in rooms 6764 and 6765. I can't speak for all the accommodations at the Maswik, but these rooms were perfect. They were connected as one floor but detached from a main building. They had a front entry door and large sliders out the back onto a small patio and grass. This was a nice surprise as we were able to sit out there and have a snack and a drink as if it were a back yard. Room was a basic 2 bed room. There was a fridge and a coffeepot complete with coffee, tea and sugar. It was very clean with new carpets. The cafeteria was OK. They had a decent selection but pretty much a cafeteria food. Burgers, salads (at the Mexican station the build your own salad was good), chicken, deli sandwiches etc. If you want a "nice" restaurant nearby try the El Tovar or Bright Angel. I would certainly recommend this hotel as it was less expensive than the El Tovar and Bright Angel but was pretty much as close to the rim as you could get without being ON it. Save your money, stay here and go out to a nice dinner with the money you have saved. AND of course the Grand Canyon is beyond magnificent. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Just check to see if you can have one of the more newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    1,168
    867
    223
    90
See reviews for
1,131
921
89
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This lodge was part of our Railway package. If I had been given the opportunity to upgrade I certainly would have. The room was quite far from the main lodge and it was outdated and dark. The noise was ridiculous from the people upstairs and the ice machine in front of our room. My biggest complaint was the bed, it was HORRIBLE! Sloped, uncomfortable, gross bedding, hard pillows, needless to say we did not get a good night's sleep. The only positive thing I have to say was the room backed up to the trees with no building behind us, so the view was nice and it was not a bad walk to the rim. I would NEVER return to this particular lodge, we will stay at El Tovar, the extra money would be totally worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grand Canyon National Park hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,169 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The location is fantastic- in the park very close to the rim. Our room was average, basic and could have been cleaner but it did the job. The room was outdated and a little dark too. The location was the best thing about staying here. It's lovely to be able to enjoy sunset and sunrise in the park and to have time to wander around.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This lodge was part of our Grand Canyon Railway package. Had the description been more accurate, I would have paid extra to stay at El Tovar. The Maswik is very rustic, outdated and rooms are located in various out buildings scattered throughout the property. It was quite a walk from the main "lobby" to the lodge our room was in. I would not recommend this location for elderly guests. The staff was rude and dining options are very limited.
I did notify the company via email about my concerns and received a prompt response and sincere apology.

Room Tip: If you must stay here , ask got a room closest to the main building where the lobby and cafeteria ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was way better than expected from the photos! The hotel is made up of lodges spaced over quite an area. We were lucky and were in the one nearest the rim, just a hop and a skip. Whilst not luxurious, the room was spacious and comfortable, with an efficient heating/cooling unit (nights were chilly!). The downside of Maswik is the dining, which is rather canteen-style both in arrangement and the actual food, just either side of average (but really tasty pizza). Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Juniper lodge and the 2 closest (cant recall the names)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Vicente, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The arrangement of the hotel with various buildings of 2 floors apartments are interesting, but the rooms are old,
not very clean and poorly planned . In my room, the air conditioning unit was located right next to the headboard, which is absurd . I had to improvise a barrier against the flow of air.
The balcony overlooking a beautiful wooded area was good, but had no privacy as it was on the ground floor. Upstairs would be more beautiful and private, but the luggage had to be dragged up the stairs .
I found good the distance - some half a mile - to the edge of the Canyon .
The reception is good, but comfort for guests is nonexistent in this environment because there are barely four individual seats. The restaurant, stuck in this makeshift lobby, which serves the general public , is somewhat chaotic and noisy.
Breakfast not included.
No internet in the rooms . In the "pseudo" lobby the connection is bad and you have to almost always stand leaning on a desk or wall .
Conclusion : This hotel was our only option within the Grand Canyon Village, a reservation made five months before, but I would never stay there again.
Booking is required several months in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bartok_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

First of all, the location is wonderful because it is in the park, but the property itself is quite spread out. So depending on which building you are in, you may have a longer walk than expected to the bus stops. I was in building 6 in the main complex, which was not as accessible when you are lugging all your camera gear, water, etc. Second, other than location, this would be a 1.5 to 2 star property at best, at least the room that I had. As I mentioned, the property is spread out and there may be better room types in the lodge. Having said all that, GCNP is such an awesome experience that it is definitely worth staying in the park. Catching the sunrise and sunset were the highlights of the trip, and staying at the lodge facilitated it greatly.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JNelsonRedSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing