We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maswik Lodge Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maswik Lodge
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Maswik Lodge Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

If you are on a budget and would still like to be on the Grand Canyon Village for your whole stay then this is the hotel you are looking for. Located just a few minutes from the rim. Stayed on the White Fir Building, room was comfortable and clean. Make sure you are on the ground floor if you have lots of luggages or bag to unload, as there are no elevators in here. Before you check in, Make sure that you have all the food, utensils and other stuff (flashlight/battery/firstaid) that you need, as everything closes at night and there are not too many options either for food within the Village itself. If you want a decent restaurant, you have to go out of the Village. Also, you might want to book early as rooms within the Grand Canyon Village seems to ran out quite easily. Would still stay here if ever given a chance to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mbkulafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    1,146
    851
    221
    87
See reviews for
1,102
911
87
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I visited the Grand Canyon over Christmas and had a pleasant stay at Maswik Lodge.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and a decent size. It's a lodge like hotel and your at the Grand Canyon so what can you expect? It's not the Four Season's. I didn't eat at the cafeteria so I can't speak for the food there. It's close to El Tovar if you choose to go there (don't miss eating at the restaurant). There's not internet in the rooms, so be aware of that. Cell service is okay in the area with slow data service on AT&T.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WSG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

It is reasonable that this hotel is expensive but there is no wifi and the room is pretty small in the Great Canyon area. However, the room is still clean and warm. In addition, it is convenient to go to the Canyon from the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank trochanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed one night at the Maswik while visiting the Grand Canyon as part of a package though the Grand Canyon Railroad. The hotel is spreadout with buildings in a large complex but, the rooms were clean and simple. It is walking distance to the Village but not on the rim. The pizza restaurant in the lodge was very very slow. It took over an hour to stand in line and order and wait for our pizza. Then the order came out incorrectly and we had to wait to get it fixed again.It seems there has to be a better way to manage that business. They were nice about it but in retrospect we should have just gone though the buffet line.

Room Tip: We were in the Juniper building which was closest to the Rim/Village but, furthest from the lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disappointedindisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed so most do to admire the Canyon Also had the bonus of seeing a herd of mule deer from the "cabin" we were in number 6928 which had the advantage of being away from the reception / restaurant hub for being peaceful and seeing wildlife but this is also a disadvantage in inclement weather because a goodly exposed walk to eat etc. rooms are functional rather than luxurious and the air cond heater keeps them warm but it is noisy going on and off at night and bedcovers are thin with no extra available,e ( in room) to be able to turn it off at night.
Main disadvantage for me with Armd is that the energy saving light bulbs even when on for a Tim give very poor light,

Room Tip: Block Willow is away from reception and most traffic - faces North. we stayed in this block and fort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here in december, when there was a giant snowstorm. Despite the cold and weather, the room was snug and comfortable. Once the storm cleared, we were a 5minute walk from the canyon in one direction and a 5minute walk from the front desk/cafeteria in the other direction. At the front desk building you can catch one of the busses that will take you to other parts of the park for free. The room was clean, had a small porch to sit outside. We were on the first floor and in the morning there was a deer right outside the room. The room did have a 70's feel to it, but everything was in good condition.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYtravelers_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Less than 5 Mins walk to free bus service that goes out to Hermits Rest past a great number of lookout points over the Canyon. Less than 10 Minutes walk to Bright Angel lodge which has a reasonable restaurant certainly far better than the cafe at Maswik. Licencing rules stupid at both properties - in the cafe single serve wines could only be purchased 1 at a time and opened for you (no takeaways back to your room!). At Bright Angel we purchased a bottle of sparkling wine but did not finish it during our meal so asked to take it back to our room. They had to re-insert the cork first! There is a very decent supermarket and bottle shop in the South Rim town area with good snacks and coffee! Rooms were dark but warm but the heater right next to the bed was rather noisy. This is one of those properties that you go to NOT to stay in your room but they certainly could do with brightening the rooms and smartening up the dining options.

Room Tip: Recommend the Ground Floor rooms especially if travelling as a family and by car with more than just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Othafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Property: Maswik Lodge
Address: 1 Main St, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing