We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time”
Review of Maswik Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maswik Lodge
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour with the Grand Canyon Railway. Rooms were unpretentious, casual, but just what we needed. Great scenery and location - to be expected. Centrally located. Had a little bit of noise from other rooms, but didn't really care - I was at the Grand Canyon. The rooms were sparsely appointed, but clean. Again, I wasn't there to stay in my room. If you want all the bells and whistles, there are other hotels in the park. It is close to the rim, close to food, clean and safe. Will return when I do a Rim to Rim hike.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 3,013 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

It's old and well used but you are in the national park a short walk from the rim and the price is reasonable so it met our needs. We only stayed one night to see a sunset and sunrise. The sunrise was spectacular. We ate dinner at the cafeteria which was ok, again reasonably priced. Several mule deer grazing near our room upon arrival.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Yes it's an older, motel style accomodation but it's steps away from the rim and the area is lovely. Our family of 5 had two queen beds and a rollaway so it was snug but we were comfortable. Check in was easy and we arrived two hours early and were able to get our room right away. It was quick a walk to the cafeteria for food and free wifi so we didn't need our car as we either walked or took the shuttle buses everywhere. Yes, the food at the cafeteria is mediocre and a bit pricey but if you're looking for a bargain have oatmeal and coffee for breakfast (about three bucks total) which was very satisfying. I also had the grilled cheese with bacon and tomato (about four bucks) which was delicious. We didn't try the pizza pub or the other restaurants as we only stayed two nights. We had a great time though. The rooms could use some updaing but it was clean, warm and comfortable so we were content. If you want luxury then you need to stay elsewhere. If you want someplace to lay your head and enjoy the outdoors then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3littlebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Whatcha gonna do? It's old... The floors are really creaky etc. They keep it up the best they can. If you want to stay on the south rim and don't want to spend hundreds, you don't have many options. But you shouldn't be in your room very much anyway. It's the Grand Canyon! All in all, not bad for the one night we were there. The food at the lodge was ok. If you can afford it, I would suggest making a reservation for dinner at the main lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

It was our second stay in Grand Canyon National Park and we have decided to go for the cheapest option and it proved great. The room was very decent and you are really just a step from the rim - and the nature is all around you. The rooms on the first floor have much higher ceilings, which is definitely a plus; our room was spacious and clean. Perfect place to stay if you are not too fancy:-) Anyhow - you are in Grand Canyon and this is what matters.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently visited the Grand Canyon and stayed at Maswik Lodge. The accommodations weren't overly fancy, but they were comfortable and clean. After all, when you are at the Grand Canyon, it's not about the room you are sleeping in! Our room had two queen beds and provided more than enough space for the three of us. Everything in the room was in good working order. The room also had a small refrigerator, which was a nice added feature. The rates were very reasonable, and you can't beat the fact that we were just a short walk from the rim of the Canyon! Maswik Lodge also offered a gift shop and cafeteria style dining. However, the other park lodges were also in walking distance for additional dining options. We ate at Maswik and Bright Angel, and found the food, the portion sizes, and the staff to be great at both locations. Overall, this was a great way to experience the Grand Canyon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is certainly a place to consider if you are thinking of staying within the National Park. The rooms are clean and size is also good considering it is a "lodge". It is a serviced lodge and we were provided with almost all amenities we could think of. The rooms are tidied and amenities re-filled everyday. I recommend staying here if you are thinking of watching sunrise at the Canyon. There is shuttle pickup right at the lodge office which is really useful as not all routes inside the canyon are allowed via car and not to mention the economic food court present here which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Overall I certainly recommend this place for your Grand Canyon experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JuneC_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Canyon National Park
1.4 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,730 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,084 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.7 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maswik Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maswik Lodge

Address: 202 South Village Loop Drive, Grand Canyon National Park, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Grand Canyon National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Grand Canyon National Park
Price Range: £46 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maswik Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maswik Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maswik Hotel Grand Canyon National Park
Maswik Lodge Grand Canyon
Maswik Lodge Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park Maswik Lodge
Lodge Maswik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing